We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Plaza Hotel
116 E Park Street, Thermopolis, WY 82443   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Thermopolis
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great historic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This place is q cute historic hotel that is totally renovated and really nice. The room we had was large with a king bed and a nice bathroom. The courtyard with a nice heated pool and hot springs spa was great for relaxing in the evening. It is located inside Hot Springs State Park, so you can walk to the other attractions. The town itself is quiet with not much else going on, but we enjoyed our night at this Best Western.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    104
    20
    13
    17
See reviews for
111
129
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We were really impressed with this Best Western Plus hotel. The architecture and history of the building is very interesting and the location is beautiful. The room was a very good size and very clean. Restaurant across the street was good too.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, MI, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great service, food and location. Clean. Pool was great. The best hotel we stayed at on our vacation. Great for family. We loved how the hotel is different than your standard floorplan but actually a historic renovation and next to park. Front dest was extremely helpful. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent, the architecture/historic significance was interesting. Had a great mineral hot tub area. Now for the negatives, we stayed in Room 216 which was in a hallway with two other rooms. The outside door to the hall was very noisy, so when any guests came into the hallway the door slammed shut. The only rooms available had a full/double bed. Didn't know any hotels used this size bed in this day and age, but we did know this ahead of time. More significant was our lack of sleep due to the air conditioning fan making noise every time it shut off during the night as it cycled. Nothing worse than not getting a good night's sleep. When reporting to the front desk clerk upon check out, he said he'd report it to maintenance. Hmmm! Not quite enough to satisfy a disgruntled guest. We've stayed in Thermopolis on other occasions, but probably won't stay at The Plaza again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review!
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Loved this hotel. Great location in Hot Springs State Park and good sized room.. Has own spa tapped from the natural hot spring and a fresh water pool. Good breakfast buffet included but no dining room for lunch or dinner (there is a good restaurant in the hotel opposite). Only negative is walls and floors are thin so you do hear when people above/below/next door use their bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is an old, historic hotel that has recently been renovated and taken over by Best Western. It is not a standard BW motel, so you should not expect that if you come here. The renovation was thoughtfully done, and the suites are cute and functional. The pool is heated and nice and the hot tub is an actual mineral spring, so you can "take the waters" without leaving the property! Breakfast is decent and they use actual plates and metal cutlery (no plastic). Two negatives during our stay: 1) the teenager working the front desk was pretty un communicative and hid out in the back office and 2) there was a group of people associated with the hotel who were "partying" until 3 AM! I am not sure where they were, but I could hear them loud and clear in my room. I finally called the cops at 3 AM, but I wish the hotel management had taken care of this so I didn't have too. Great place overall though.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked the room, with kingsize bed, 3 months ago.
But because we arrived a bit late, 7pm, we got the last room available.
Meaning a tiny room (208) with a single bed in it, Even smaller then a regular queen bed.(130cmx180cm)
How can 2 adults sleep comfortable in it? My husband is 183cm!!
A room that small gives also no space for luggage to store.
At the front desk the receptioner told us this was normal!
(???????how could this be normal, after the experience we had with 4,other Best western hotels, they were all just perfect)
We asked for another room, because this wasn't what we booked.
But Because of the holiday's there wasn't anything available.
The room that we got, was suitable for 1 person only.
The receptioner was not willing to help at All.
We decided to find another hotel.
And we found Days Inn, just across the street. Go there people, you Will have a good and comfortable stay there.
Avoid this best western, it isn't worthy of the name Best Western.
We will file a complaint...because being fully charged for a room we didn't book and could not stay in....
Just a huge dissapointment!!!!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Plaza Hotel

Address: 116 E Park Street, Thermopolis, WY 82443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Thermopolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Thermopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Thermopolis
Thermopolis Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.