We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terra was good but not quite great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Terra Jackson Hole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Terra Jackson Hole to your Saves list
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3335 West Village Drive, Teton Village, WY 83025   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Powderhound - 20% Savings
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Teton Village
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Terra was good but not quite great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Terra in Teton Village for 4 nights / 3 days over the last weekend in march 2008. We paid about $210 per night for late season and the hotel seemed about half full.

When we arrived they put us in a room with 2 queen beds. We had reserved a King, so I asked to be moved. This was a mistake! The regular king rooms are really small, so it would have been better to keep the room with the queens.

The only other bad thing was that was no underground parking, but they charged you $18 per day to leave the car out front where I had parked it!

Otherwise, it was a good stay. The Osteria restaurant was really good and so was the morning cafe. The skiing was awesome, even late season. The bed was very comfy and we didn't have the problems with the TV that other reviewers seem to have had.

The decor was hip and modern. They give you a big lecture on the eco-angle when you get there, but other than not getting new towels daily , it didn't make an impact on our stay.

All in all I wouldn't pay the $500 per night others paid in peak season but for $210 per night late season seems like a pretty good deal and I was happy with it.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Too small
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    122
    47
    16
    6
See reviews for
156
312
17
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

Went for a March 2008 spring break with my 2 college kids to Teton Village, WY. I had arranged a condo for three with Hotwire which matched to Hotel Terra--new trendy supposedly environmentally sensitive ski in/ski out condo hotel in Teton Village, Jackson, WY. Upon arrival my name was assigned to a wrong address (not even close--across the country). We were given a tight double queen bed hotel type room. I was so tired checking in the first evening that I did not insist on rectifying the situation the first night. (Also, the manager was not there upon check in and the young/pleasant desk person did not know what to do). All week I tried to get the room situation straight, yet the manager could only offer a condo for 3 at a substantial increase in price. The television/pay movie was not operative, until an IT fellow could set it straight (even he was challenged). The concierge/maid service/ski valet/porters were all excellent motivated young people. The brand new shower/faucet/drain were malfunctioning. The casement window when opened would not shut (frame off track). The cramped space for 3 adults, the distance from the ski lift (for a "ski in/ski out" a stretch), the overly complicated high tech TV/clock operation (new hotel opening jitters still at play), and especially the manager's lack of honoring the Hotwire contract (had Hotwire call and try to iron this out while there) have lost my business. Unfortunately my family/work/social circle will not get a positive recommendation for Hotel Terra. Deceit and not honoring contract is poor business. By the Way, Teton Village/Jackson Hole was GREAT! If you can afford it, stay at the Four Seasons--that is where I will stay next time!

  • Liked — helpful staff
  • Disliked — management did not honor Hotwire contract
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

For the few folks that have complaints about their stay at the Terra, your obviously visiting Jackson Hole for all the wrong reasons, you should be there for the mountains and the powder...not looking for another elevator! (try the stairs!)

Great hotel, we loved our Urban Studio room, what a treat having a full living room, full kitchen and dining room table and the entertainment system was fantastic with flat screen tv and surround sound system...getting off the slopes and kicking back to that system was fantastic!

The Murphy bed was super cozy and super convenient being able to push it up and out of the way to get ready for the slopes in the a.m.

The hot tub on the roof was fantastic, great views of the mountains and lots of fun folks to chat with about their day. Great spa services too, make sure and hit the steam room and get a massage after a day of skiing, they are excellent!

The Osteria was very good, great menu and super yummy pizza's...take advantage of ordering to go and taking it up/or having it delivered to your room to avoid the wait for a table.

Ski storage was great, was nice not to have to drag your skis up to the room after a full day on the slopes...the Jackson Tree House can set you up with rentals for your stay super affordable to and super friendly and helpful...they have a great selection of the newest gear too if your ski outfit needs some updating!

All in all we spent 10 days at the Terra for 6 fabulous days of skiing at JHMR, and fully enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Terra, it is a beautiful hotel and really compliments the fantastic skiing at Jackson Hole!

  • Liked — Lot's of extra's, great entertainment system
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

We just returned from a five night stay at Hotel Terra. Our experience was a delight, though not perfection. The staff was friendly and helpful at every turn. The room we were first given was overlooking a construction site. We were immediately and cheerfully given another upgraded room. It was a corner third floor room overlooking the Mangy Moose, and we enjoyed being able to look out over the apres ski scene there every afternoon. Our satellite tv performed quite well, though we did need instruction on playing a DVD. The kitchenette was fully equipped, and we prepared an evening meal there--fresh sushi-grade tuna from the local market overlooking the snowy slopes in front of the fireplace--exquisite! Otherwise, we dined out, and our best meal by far was at the hotel's restaurant Osteria...delicious selections with great service and ambience. The only real issue that we see for the long term is the single elevator serving both staff and guests. Overall, we had a great time.

  • Liked — Staff, restaurant, decor
  • Disliked — Poor elevator service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

Great value hotel. Fantastic service (everyone was going out of there way to make us feel comfortable), rooms were great (styish with flat screen tv-bose sound system) great decor, comfortable beds, excellent restaurants for dinner, lunch and breakfast, perfectly located to the village and chair lifts. Amazing place that is also totally green (materials, use of nature light, etc)- rare find. Must check it out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

Just returned from a three-day ski weekend in Jackson Hole and stayed at Hotel Terra. I don't know too much about "eco-hotels." I consider myself to be learning about them. It was interesting to see all the measures this hotel takes to be green. But if you want to know how it ranks as a straight up hotel? What more can you ask for? For starters, Hotel Terra is right at the base of the mountain. Walk out in your boots and you're on the gondola in under five minutes. And when the new tram is built? It's right there! We could see them building the tram from our room. Sorry, rooms. We were in a two bedroom suite that were separated by a huge living room with a kitchen. It was really comfortable and spacious... and the big screen tv with hi-def made my naps on the couch just right. But the best part? End of the day, sore from skiing, I would get out of my boots and walk a matter of feet out the back door to the Mangy Moose for apres ski. I have been going to Jackson Hole for twenty years and find Hotel Terra to be a very welcome addition.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Terra Jackson Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terra Jackson Hole

Address: 3335 West Village Drive, Teton Village, WY 83025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Teton Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Teton Village
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Teton Village
#2 Spa Hotel in Teton Village
#3 Luxury Hotel in Teton Village
#3 Romantic Hotel in Teton Village
#3 Family Hotel in Teton Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Terra Jackson Hole 4.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole is an eco-boutique hotel that emphasizes modern design as well as environmental responsibility. This luxury green hotel is one of just five LEED certified hotels in the US. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Terra Jackson Hole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terra Jackson Hole Hotel
Terra Jackson Hole Teton Village
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole Teton Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.