We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Amazing Pheasant Soup” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gamefish

Gamefish
7710 Granite Loop Road, Snake River Lodge and Spa, Teton Village, WY 83025
307-732-6040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 20 Restaurants in Teton Village
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Teton Village Road
Transit: Our local charter system stops in front of the Snake River Lodge & Spa. For times of pickup or to request additional information contact the "Concierge team" at the Snake River Lodge & Spa.
Description: Savor our local wild game and seafood entrees with a glass of wine from our award winning wine list. Let our friendly staff enhance your dining experience with knowledge of Jackson Hole and an assortment of food pairing and wine pairing suggestions. Our team of chefs will make sure you have an enjoyable experience and cater to all your requests as needed. We use a variety of organic and sustainable ingredients to prepare our dishes. On and off site catering is available.
Alameda, California, United States
1 review
“Most Amazing Pheasant Soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

best of all, bar none, was the amazing Pheasant Soup at the Snake River Lodge. I think that the Snake River Lodge hired away the chef (Scott Rutter) who used to be at the Wort Hotel in downtown Jackson, because if you look on the Internet you'll find all sorts of people raving about his pheasant soup at the Wort (and at the Aspen Meadows Resort before that).

But now he's at the Snake River Lodge, and let me tell you: it's almost worth making a trip just for that soup! Here are (some of) the ingredients:

smoked pheasant
fire roasted sweet corn,
pumpkin seed oil,
and sweet potato hay

It was styled as a creamy soup, sort of a bisque, and boy was it good!

We went back to the restaurant at least 3 separate times, drawn just by the soup. Apparently, not only did Chef Rutter win a number of awards for this soup, but he's also been a judge on the Bravo channel Top Chef competitive cooking show, so it was certainly a treat to meet him in person at the Snake River Lodge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“More of a rating for breakfast and bar dinners.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We never ate dinner in the Gamefish proper, but the meals in the bar were from the same kitchen and were so bad I feel I need to comment. We had trout which was totally over cooked. The first time wasn't so bad that we didn't want to go back but the second time it was dried out and crunchy on the edges. The quinoa with goat cheese was really good the first time which made us want to try the dish again. That was a huge mistake as it tasted watery and was almost totally missing the cheese. It had no flavor. My daughter had the buffalo meatball pasta and she thought it was pretty good the first night but that second night wasn't quite right. I guess that second night was train the chef night!
The one time we had the breakfast buffet the eggs were stone cold and tasteless and the oatmeal was just warm. The bacon was pretty good but the French toast was cold as well. The best thing on the bar was the fresh fruit. It was definitely NOT. Worth the $20 per person!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Expensive and not that tasty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had some plain pasty with pesto and a dessert and my bill was high. Too high and not any taste. My friend was disappointed with her meal also. Needless to say we never went back there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Panko Prawns and risotto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at the Snake River Lodge, so it was perfect to eat right in our hotel. The service was excellent, and our dinners were delicious. Some of the very tastiest food we ate from WA to OH!!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, Missouri
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lodge was great-food too expensive and not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We had driven all day so we decided to eat in. Bad choice!! Very expensive and not worth the money! Should have gone elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gamefish also viewed

Teton Village, Jackson Hole
Teton Village, Jackson Hole
 
Teton Village, Jackson Hole
Teton Village, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Gamefish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gamefish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.