We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt Right at Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenhof Lodge

Save Saved
You added Alpenhof Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpenhof Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3255 West Village Drive, Teton Village, WY 83025   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Teton Village
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Felt Right at Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

From the moment we arrived at the Alpenhof, we felt right at home. The gentleman at the front desk was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed talking to him during our stay. The view outside the lodge is amazing, and can be enjoyed from the balconies. We also enjoyed an amazing fondue at the Alpenrose Restaurant in the hotel. The rooms were cozy, spacious and charming. The lodge's two golden retrievers were very friendly and enjoyable during our stay. Would definitely tell others about the Alpenhof.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    66
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
50
77
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

I stayed at the Alpenhof for 7 nights in June, along with a friend, and we had a great time. The rooms were cheaper than the other local hotels and the facility was cozy and clean. The staff and innkeepers were all very gracious and helpful and helped to make our stay that much better.

Besides the nice rooms, the Alpenrose restaurant was fantastic. We ate there every morning for breakfast (included in the room price...a great deal!) and six of the seven nights for dinner. We didn't have a bad meal once, though the service was a bit slow at times (due to the lack of on-duty staff). While this may be a turnoff for some, we enjoyed the slow pace of the meals and took the time to enjoy our food and drink in a way we may not have done otherwise.

Finally, the location puts you literally steps away from the Teton Village tram, which is a nice way to see Jackson Hole from an aerial view. Teton Village has a number of summer activities and provides a nice counterpoint to the hustle and bustle (and expense) of downtown Jackson.

Thanks, Alpenhof, and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Excellent location, friendly (and slow) staff and a charming bavarian bar/restaurant to grab breakfast or a beer. The room decor is old. Actually, the whole hotel is old. But clean and with decent bathrooms. We did not spend any time in our rooms save sleeping so .. we would probably stay here again based on value. If you are coming to relax, order room service and have a spa, then consider upgrading to the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

We have traveled to Teton Village many times over the past thirty years, and the Alpenhof is our favorite place to stay. It's also a fine choice if you want to enjoy a quiet, delicious meal. Our trip to the Alpenhof this past June exceeded our expectations. We stayed for five days, and each day was pleasant and memorable. The staff were helpful and informative from our first phone and email contacts in February till the day of our departure in June. The atmosphere was relaxed and the breakfast tasty and satisfying. The summer staff are mostly college students whose friendliness and energy generally make up for whatever professional crispness they may lack, if that's what you're looking for in Wyoming. If you want to spend your days hiking or climbing in the Tetons or rafting or fishing on the Snake, but then enjoying the amenities of a cozy, friendly hotel in the evenings, you're bound to like the Alpenhof.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

Seemed like all the other hotels in Teton Village, with the exception of the Hostel-X, were just corporate hotels (Hilton, Vail, FourSeason, etc.). We were looking for a place whose character matched the character of the area. This hotel is what I think of when I think of a ski trip to the mountains. I don't want to pay high prices for a tuxedo dressed parking valet, nor do I want an Aspen style piano lounge with Martinis where everyone is sitting around reading Wall Street Journals and dressed up in fancy clothes. I wanted a cozy, charming place to warm my tired feet by the fire after a long day of skiing with a local newspaper, and didn't want to worry about if I looked good in my casual clothes and hot chocolate. This is the hotel for normal folks who can be themselves and have a good time without having spent-all-my-money-on-my-vacation-on-the-first-two-days hangover. Not to mention, its the closest hotel to the new Aerial Tram, and yet the least expensive too. How could you go wrong with that combo? We didn't. Going back in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

The Alpenhof Lodge has a perfect blend of new amenities, and Old World Charm. My room was immaculate, and very comfortable. The view on the deck from the room was simply perfect. Alpenhof Lodge had the best location for getting up the mountain too ski. I was able to get very good advice and directions on how best to attack the mountan from (Mark Johnson) the manger. I highly suggest seeking his knowledge of the mountain, being the sun affects the slopes so much throughout the day. Jackson Hole was the best skiing experience I have had to date. (Blew Aspen away!) I ate lunch at the Alpenhof's bar (Philly Steak) very high quality steak and generous portions. Dinner in there dinning room was excellent. I ordered the buffalo tenderloin (Very Tender). The Fire place and view created a very relaxing atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and professional. The only mistake I made in going to the Alpenhof was not staying to 2 weeks!

  • Liked — The Deck excellent view
  • Disliked — no fridge
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

My wife and I have just returned from the best holiday of our married lives - 27 years! We have just spent a terrific week at the Alpenhof Hotel in Teton Village, Wyoming. The experience started before our arrival with an especially helpful front-desk staff – Reggi, Alex & Betty - organised an airport transfer and giving us excellent advice on where to hire our ski equipment. Our room was extremely comfortable and cosy with a balcony to enjoy the beautiful views of the mountain. The Tram & Gondola were a short walk from the main door and you were at the top of the mountain within minutes. The locals were not totally happy with the small amount of snow as there was only 87 inches at mid-mountain!! That said, Ann enjoyed cruising the groomers and I had a huge adrenalin rush skiing through the trees in fresh powder – what an experience and many thanks to our outstanding mountain hosts. We ate in the Alpenrose restaurant every evening and each night we tried a different dish from the comprehensive menu - I especially liked the Fondues while Ann enjoyed the authentic Austrian Wiener Schnitzel. The dining experience was enhanced by the wonderfully attentive service of the staff especially Trevor who always made good recommendations of food & wine. We also attended a fabulous Burn's Supper on our last night. We met some wonderful people and we now have only 51 weeks before we have our next ‘best’ holiday! Sid Brown, Scotland

  • Liked — Clean, Cosy
  • Disliked — I only stayed 6 nights!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpenhof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Lodge

Address: 3255 West Village Drive, Teton Village, WY 83025
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Teton Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Teton Village
#4 Spa Hotel in Teton Village
#5 Business Hotel in Teton Village
#5 Romantic Hotel in Teton Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhof Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Alpenhof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Teton Village
Alpenhof Teton Village
Alpenhof Lodge Jackson Hole/Teton Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenhof Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.