We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiet Place in the Off-Season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenhof Lodge

Save Saved
You added Alpenhof Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpenhof Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3255 West Village Drive, Teton Village, WY 83025   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Teton Village
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Quiet Place in the Off-Season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at this lodge as our base to explore the Grand Tetons National Park and the southern part of Yellowstone National Park. It served us well as a strategic point. It is a charming property with a European ski lodge feel. The breakfast included in our room rate was very good, and the staff helped make our stay problem-free. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    67
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
54
79
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mideast U.S.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

You can't beat the location and the rooms were cozy and well maintained. For two people we got the Tyrolia room based on tripadvisor suggestions regarding small room size. This was perfect for two people. A friend stayed in a single room which was very small, but for one person was not an issue.

The breakfast is as great as everyone says. There is not a lot of variety day to day, but there is plenty there and they also have a couple make-to-order things in the kitchen every day. Service was very friendly and accommodating. Bacon is epic.

Hot tub was well sized and clean. Outdoor pool was warm as well. Sauna also was close by.

Beds were very comfortable.

The only complaint I'd have would be the heating units in the room. It was impossible to get the room to be the right temperature if you wanted a constant fan blowing. For instance, with "Fan only" on the unit it'd get pretty cold in there by morning. If you had it on "Low or High heat" you'd cook. If you adjusted the thermostat to a comfortable temperature, the unit would turn on/off all night with great frequency and keep you awake. They need a unit that can turn the heating elements on/off but keep the fan on...or something.

A friend used the massage services and was very pleased.

The restaurant on the 2nd floor (Bistro) is great for drinks and apres ski appetizers, but not good for dinner unless you go in with low expectations. Service was awful. Bar is fine. Just keep it as a casual fun place to get some good beer and wings and you'll be happy! There is a finer dining place downstairs that we did not try.

I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't worry if your room is close to an elevator or stairs. It is a pretty quiet hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I had had a most wonderful stay and dinner at this beautiful lodge. We enjoyed a fire in our Alpine Room. Peter and other staff were most helpful. Our stay here was a highlight of our two week trip to the US northwest and Western Canada.

Room Tip: Book an Alpine room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Night 11 and 12 of our 2012 road trip.
After a lot of deliberation I chose the Alpenhof against anything on offer in Jackson despite reading some negative comments and after weighing them up against other hotel reviews and the price on offer. I am gad that I did - a very warming experience. Friendly and helpful staff got us off to a good start, we had a Tyrolean king room with a balcony towards the back of the hotel, which was a of good size, well fitted, spotlessly clean and very typically Austrian/Swiss in decor. The bed was very comfortable, crisp and clean linen. The breakfast room was also very welcoming with attentive staff, real crockery and cutlery, a very varied choice and everything on offer was of a good quality. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant having booked the Jackson Hole Playhouse (a return visit - another great experience, the cast were superb) on our first night and we ate at the Teton Thai the second (another super meal- freshly cooked, delicately spiced) night.
There was complimentary parking in the square outside the hotel. Only a short hop into Jackson if you are considering Teton Village as an alternative to the high prices in Jackson. We have a lot more of the US to see so doubt we will be making a third trip but if we were to then the Alpenhof would be the place we would check out first. .

Room Tip: Balcony rooms seemed to be larger but that is a view based on what others have written and we experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

From the lobby to the staircases to the rooms the Alpenhof reminds me of a hotel I stayed at in Austra. Our room (two quenn beds) was at the front of the hotel on the third floor. We shared a balcony with two other rooms. The room was comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was not so spacious - think Europe. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel two nights, the first and last nights of a road trip that started and ended in Jackson Hole. Walking into the hotel we were immediately transported to the alps; Lots of detailed woodwork; stenciled walls and ceilings, and small, cosy rooms (which are common in Europe). The staff was friendly and helpful without being overly familiar. Three dogs were lounging unobtrusively in the lobby but they didn't move until I approached one of them, then of course all 3 wanted to be loved. Our first night we had a moderately sized room with 2 queen beds; the second night we had a tiny room with a single queen bed. Both rooms were clean and meticulously detailed with frilly lamps and nice quality wholecloth quilts. Our first room was across from the elevator but we never heard a thing; I've never been in a hotel that was this quiet. Both our beds were very comfortable. Both bathrooms were small but they were very clean with a decent size countertop for our necessities and all the right equipment in good working order. We had the breakfast buffet both mornings and that room was also carefully detailed and even though the room is a decent size, ceiling beams and partial walls provide a feeling of intimacy perfect for a romantic getaway and further enhancing the feeling we were in a small hotel in the alps. The breakfast buffet included a nice selection of bread /pastries, cold meats and cheeses, hot eggs and bacon and waffles (pancakes on day). Several varieties of juice and yogurt were also available. Breakfast servers were quiet, friendly and efficient.

We were there during Art Week in Jackson and this hotel had the best price available. And best of all, even though the hotel was full, the atmosphere was as if there were only a handful of rooms being used. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: This hotel feels like an older European place, so be sure you understand that European hotels tend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Nothing is cheap in Jackson Hole but the Alpenhof is a great value for the money. This was our second stay along with our four year old son. We all love the area and you can not beat the location. The staff is very friendly and helpful from directions to recommendations for dinner. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. We have paid more for a lot less in the area and will be back here again. After a week in CCC cabins this place was an oasis for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpenhof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Lodge

Address: 3255 West Village Drive, Teton Village, WY 83025
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Teton Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Teton Village
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Teton Village
#4 Romantic Hotel in Teton Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhof Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Alpenhof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Teton Village
Alpenhof Teton Village
Alpenhof Lodge Jackson Hole/Teton Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenhof Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.