We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing: expensive and too fancy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Il Villaggio Osteria

Il Villaggio Osteria
3335 West Village Dr., In the Hotel Terra Teton Village, Teton Village, WY 83001
(307) 739-4100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Villaggio Osteria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Moose Wilson Road
Transit: Jackson Hole Mountain Resort Start Bus Stop
Description: In February 2008, Fine Dining Restaurant Group, of Rendezvous Bistro & Q Roadhouse fame, brought a taste of Italy to Jackson Hole with the opening of Il Villaggio Osteria. Located inside the Hotel Terra which is the state’s first LEED certified property and only the fifth in the United States. Highlights of the intimate restaurant are Il Villagio Osteria’s 12-seat wine bar and eight seat salami bar, where guests can watch as imported meats and cheeses, sourced from the country’s finest purveyors, are hand-sliced to order. House made pastas, sausage stuffed olives, beautiful wines and entrees round out the exquisite multi course menu.
New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing: expensive and too fancy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We ate here based on a recommendation from the adjoining Terra hotel. Like some recent reviewers, we were very disappointed. The atmosphere was good, service friendly and location rather pleasant, tucked in a corner of the main village. But the food was over-elaborate, very expensive and underwhelming. Starters ($10-12) were minute; main course tuna came cold; main course pasta was too spicy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finediningllc, Public Relations Manager at Il Villaggio Osteria, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Sorry to hear the food didn't live up to expectations, including price point. No matter the dish, we take great pride in using only the highest quality ingredients, which are often a bit higher in price; however, it's important to us to provide the very best to our guests. While some dishes are more elaborate than others, we do have several more traditional, simple Italian dishes on the menu including the Lasagna, Gnocchi and Pizza. Regardless of the dish you order, please do always feel free to let us know if your dishes are not prepared to your liking. We are here to make sure you are satisfied with the temperature and spiciness. I hope you'll give us another try next time you find yourself in Jackson Hole!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    108
    28
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, IL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good food, but seems to try too hard to be "different" in re. to menu choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We dined here as a family, and our food was very good. However, given that this is still essentially Jackson, which is very much a family vacation destination, would not be a bad idea to have a few menu choices which will appeal to those 'safer' eaters. As my husband said, the restaurant seems to try a bit too hard to be 'different,' which is great for some, but there are those in our party who still enjoy a more 'traditional' italian meal or at least one or two more of those options. That being said, the meal we had was very good, albeit somewhat pricey. Our server disappeared after the meal was served and had to track him down eventually...the staff that helped the servers was great and always there to pour water, etc, clear dishes, etc.
We sat inside and were glad that we did, as there is a play park outside part of the outdoor seating that became loud.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finediningllc, Public Relations Manager at Il Villaggio Osteria, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for sharing your feedback about your dining experience at Osteria. So glad to hear your family joined us for dinner while in Jackson Hole. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the food! We strive to present our guests with an inspired menu that maintains Italian comfort roots while also incorporating unique elements into the dishes. We do, however, understand that many people are looking for a more traditional Italian dish. In that case, I would recommend the Salumi Pizza, Lasagna, Grilled Ahi Tuna or the Pappardelle with Wild Board Ragu - they are all great staple dishes! We'd love to have you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not too impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was our first time at Osteria and it was ok. After looking up the menu online and reading reviews, I was excited to try it, but was disappointed. Our party of 8 all ordered different dishes and none were great. We did have a reservation and were seated right away. The service was pretty average. We had to get our waitresses's attention several times to get drink refills. When our main courses were served, the staff brought out 6 dishes, while 2 people (including me) had to wait for theirs for another 10 minutes. One of our family members ordered pizza and it was good, the rest of the dishes were ok. As much as I love deserts, I actually didn't finish mine. It was some kind of chocolate torte and tasted like it was pre-made and frozen. I'd probably give Osteria another try and get the pizza, but it's not very high on my list...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finediningllc, Public Relations Manager at Il Villaggio Osteria, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for dining with us and sharing your review. Sorry to hear the food didn't live up to our usual high standards, but glad to hear you enjoyed the pizza. We take great pride in the quality of our food - including using the highest quality of ingredients from homemade doughs and mozzarella to locally grown meats and vegetables. We hope you'll give us another try in the future and let us show you a dining experience more indicative of the Osteria quality for which we have become known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

had reservations, and still waited 30 minutes, but it was well worth it. Great bar and great food. Don't be deterred by the out of the way location in Teton Village. Its worth the $3 bus ride from Jackson Hole.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finediningllc, Public Relations Manager at Il Villaggio Osteria, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for your feedback and for sharing this helpful tip about transportation to Teton Village! Taking the bus is one of the most convenient and affordable ways to travel from town to the Village and elsewhere around the area. Glad to hear you found the food worth the wait. We try our hardest to schedule reservations so a wait doesn't occur, but find it occasionally does when existing tables are having a great time together and their dinner carries a bit longer. Thanks for dining with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona Del Mar, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Too much fusion wrecked Italian dishes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a party of 8 and everyone selected different entrees. The only one we really liked was the pizza. The Brussel sprouts appetizer was awful despite our waiter recommending it. Lasagna was so so at best. Drinks we weak. Very crowded and noisy. Really an overpriced disappointment.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finediningllc, Public Relations Manager at Il Villaggio Osteria, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for your review. With pomegranate seeds in the dish, the brussel sprouts are certainly a unique dish and one we hear very positive reviews about from our guests. Sorry to hear your group didn't enjoy these as much. With all the dishes we create, our chefs put a great deal of thought into their creation of different flavor profiles. If you are looking for a more traditional Italian dish, I would recommend one of our homemade pasta (or pizza!) dishes. Happy to hear you tried and enjoyed the pizza! We make the dough, mozzarella and many of the meats in house. I hope you'll give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Villaggio Osteria also viewed

Teton Village, Jackson Hole
Teton Village, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Il Villaggio Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Villaggio Osteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.