We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Piney Creek Inn Bed and Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Story
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piney Creek Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Piney Creek Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
11 Skylark Lane, Story, WY 82842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Story B&B and Inns
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

We recently went on a 2 week road trip from NY to Wyoming. We were hoping to stay in unique places along the way. We had some great "hits" but unfortunately for us, this one was a "MISS"

When we drove up to the place we were excited to meet the owners - (we had just had a FABULOUS weekend in Sundance, WY & were looking forward to meeting another friendly couple). I hopped out of the car and came face to face with one of the owners...only I wasn't sure that it was an owner as she didn't introduce herself and just glared at me like I was trespassing. After an awkward pause I asked, um...we have reservations? to stay here? And she just looked at me and grunted a "yeah". Since she still didn't identify herself or let any look of recognition cross her face, I had to go on to ask, "and, um, are you the person I should be talking to?" She still just looked at me like I was crazy and then said "yeahhh" I kept trying to be friendly to her, but even when she let us into our "lodge" she made a nasty comment about the fact that one of us brought mud in on our shoes (it had just been raining) and after another awkward pause then pointed the mud out to us (indistinguishable from the rest of the dirty carpet). There was dog food all over the porch (that we had imagined ourselves sitting on - the porch, not the dog food), the kids beds were covered in plastic tarps - and we could "make them ourselves" if we wanted to. Under the plastic was a sleeping bag though so we decided to have our son use his own CLEAN sleeping bag that we had in the car.

Although in the Moon Handbook (that highly recommended this place and that is how I found them) it says that a hearty breakfast is included, we found out upon arrival, that breakfast costs an additional $5 per Person if you aren't in their Main House! We decided we would rather give our $20 to Perkins. We would have cooked there as there was a rustic kitchenette, but everything was covered in towels like they were hiding it from us! And we were unable to locate any pans.

We did use the refrigerator which was mostly filled up with someone else's food - half drunk oj bottles, 8 mustard jars, tons of big tupperware bowls from a wedding (that we were told "oh these people might come back to collect their stuff tonight" - did not leave us feeling at ease about our privacy - or about leaving our things there!) etc. And through the night all of the food that we bought was ruined as it all froze IN the refrigerator. Frozen carrots, cheese and apples, anyone?

At checkout my husband tried to talk to them about some of our "disappointments" and he was called (in an unflattering way) a "LIBERAL" because we are from New York State. The wife also lied to my husband and said she told me that she would have refunded our money completely if we wanted to stay somewhere else prior to our coming (we had to make a sudden change to our reservation due to an illness - we had to cut our trip short to accomodate dr appts) b/c she had recently had a death in her family and didn't really want us there. That was NOT true - we kept part of our reservation b/c I felt badly cancelling on her completely since this is their source of income. Had she encouraged us to stay somewhere else, we would have in an instant!

I would not recommend this place - although the accomodations were reasonable They should definitely be advertised as a RUSTIC lodge - the furniture was ripped up and everything was a bit dirty - but if that is what you are EXPECTING that is fine. However, the owners obviously did not WANT us there although they were happy to take our money. The setting was pretty, but not neatly cared for. The dogs were aggressive and said to be part of their "security system" -- but they also kept us from enjoying the outside as they scared our 5 year old and our 18 month old.

I will not return to this place.

  • Disliked — No hospitality!!! For a Bed & Breakfast! -- No breakfast included!!!! Crazy
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west chester pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

We stayed at the Piney Creek Inn in May 2007 as it was in the middle of the two areas we were visiting in WY & MT. My husband and I both travel extensively for work, often staying at 4 & 5 star hotels. So, we are always a bit skeptical of B&B's but thought it was worth a shot.

The setting of the Piney Creek Inn was beautiful, and very relaxing. We arrived before dusk, and the owner gave us a directions to a nice path where we could take a quick hike before settling in for the night. We stayed in the main house, not one of the cabins. We were there for only one night in the middle of the week, so we were the only guests in the main house. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the entire inn. Again, due to my frequent travel the cleanliness is a big deal for me! So, from the aspect we couldn't have been happier. We spent the evening in the common room and had a great night's sleep. The only time we ever heard or saw the dogs was when we had driven up the driveway. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and got us off to a good start. We left that morning to continue our trip, but it was very nice to have such a beautiful, homey spot to stay for a night.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Not a lot to do in Story if you're looking for things to do
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay Springs NE
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

If you absolutely love living with mice, Piney Creek Inn is the place for you. Oh....and don't worry about the toilet-- it will flush as long as you don't use it very much -- Not to worry there is always the porta-potty that you can use during the dark of night. Don't forget your flashlight because there is very limited lighting available. Wanting to use the Pavillion for a wedding -- sure thing, just don't drink or eat anything because there are NO bathroom facilities available. If they quote you a price, make sure you have them fax a confirmation to you because there are apparently two different prices -- the one they quote you on the phone and then the one they actually charge you which is considerably higher. This place should be turned in to the Better Business Bureau. What a dump!

  • Liked — Story is a nice small town
  • Disliked — All accomodations at the Piney Creek were substandard.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2004

I absolutely love the Piney Creek Inn! We stayed in the Hideaway, and loved seeing deer walk through the woods as we soaked in the jacuzzi in our bathroom. The owners are incredibly friendly, as are thier dogs. This Inn is not, however, for those who don't enjoy the outdoors, or staying in a cabin setting. Who wouldn't love staying the beautiful BIghorn Mountains?

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2003

Minimally acceptable accomodations and minimal service. The entire property is junky, flower beds are overgrown with grass, large dogs bark all night long in close dog runs.

Just couldn't hardly be worse.

Stay someplace else!

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, manager at Piney Creek Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 10, 2004
We are sorry that this guest was not happy with his stay but believe his dissatisfaction is due more to unmet expectations rather than the service. His father made this reservation for his entire family (including children & grandchildren) and we believe that this guest would have been happier staying at an establishment which provided a swimming pool, arcade, activities, etc which would have entertained his children. Piney Creek Inn is located in the mountains in a rural area. The complaint about barking dogs is exaggerated. Our dogs only bark when someone drives into the yard; they are part of our security system which provides protection for all our guests. Also, because of the natural beauty that surrounds us, we strive to maintain the natural surroundings and what was referred to as overgrown grass is in reality a variety of wildflowers that bloom at different times during the summer. We our in our 11th year of business and strive to provide the best possible service to all our guests; we know by the many returning guests that this goal is being accomplished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Piney Creek Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piney Creek Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 Skylark Lane, Story, WY 82842
Location: United States > Wyoming > Story
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Story
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piney Creek Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.