We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Piece of History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Phil Kearny State Historic Site

Fort Phil Kearny State Historic Site
Sheridan, WY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 14 Attractions in Sheridan
Type: Historic Sites, Museums, Cultural
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic battlefield.
Lingle, Wyoming, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Piece of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wonderful historic place to stop! Be sure to stop at the various battlefields nearby as well! Beautiful setting and serene place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love The History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I enjoyed being able to walk the areas of history that I've only read about. I would suggest going to Ft Phil Kearney first to get an overall view of the areas around it. My grand daughter and I walked the Fetterman Battlefield site and then went to the fort with my wife and grandson.
The museum is nice; good video presentation; good people staffing the place. Hopefully I get a chance to go back and spend some more time....

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A walk through history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have stopped at Fort Phil Kearny a couple of times. Not only is it set in one of the most beautiful places I've been, but the area is mostly undeveloped so you can picture what it was like when the fort was still there. The museum is full of educational exhibits that help transport you back in time. If you plan on going to Little Bighorn, this is a nice stop along the way.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Remains of a Fort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This sight is very interesting if you are into history of settling the West. However, there is not much left of the fort and there is little reconstruction. This is not an attraction children would enjoy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great attraction for history buffs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Not much to see of the fort itself, but a very informative visitor center. Stop here before visiting the Fetterman Massacre site or the Wagon Box Battlefield site or the Rosebud Battlefield or any of the battlefields for that matter. The videos and exhibits help to tie all events together into a coherent part of history.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Phil Kearny State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Fort Phil Kearny State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Phil Kearny State Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.