We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting amazing rides.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hideout Lodge & Guest Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hideout Lodge & Guest Ranch
3170 Road 40 1/2, Shell, WY 82441   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting amazing rides.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had a wonderful 6 nights with excellent company. The cabins are well equipped, meals good, healthy food, staff very helpful and friendly. My husband really enjoyed the riding, learning much more than at ranches where we have previously stayed. The horses all seemed well cared for and were mostly responsive. Staff open to concerns about any difficulties and willing to ensure horse and rider well suited.

Room Tip: These are allocated on arrival, all seemed pleasant from what guests said.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    0
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
28
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We just spent 4 days at the Hideout in August, late 30's couple (serious, high end frequent travelers) with my mother in law. The atmosphere, environment, horsemanship, food, staff/managers/owners are all fantastic.
The ranch is about horseback riding, fly fishing, hiking, and other activities this beautiful Wyoming region has to offer. The small capacity (+/- 25 guests) makes for an informal and eclectic gathering at the Bar in the evening and at the communal tables for dinner. The food was a very good surprise with a tasteful modern family style cuisine. The rooms are casual western style, very clean and with plenty of amenities (blow dryer, iron/board, coffee machine, wifi, water bottles). We stayed in a cabin which had a bit of a charming motel look with a living room, bedroom, laundry area and kitchen with everything (supplies and equipment) and a outdoor space with incredible views.
The horsemanship is serious, reassuring and accomplished. The riding team seemingly creates small groups of 5 to 8 riders according to the activity you wish to practice and your level. They adapt very well to all riders and handle scenic, relaxed and secure rides on well taken care of horses. If you are a beginner, it is a great place to learn about horses and good basics of western riding with pleasant professionals in a beautiful environment. If you are an advanced rider, you may feel a little "babysitted" on some basic horse handling duties (totally understandable in regards to the security of all the riders) but will also have plenty of time to trot and lope with a solid independent horse. The settings are breathtaking.
In short, they do a really good job on all levels, hard working independent hoteliers with thoughtful attention to details and a wonderful, family style lodge. A trip back to camp, but an adult version of the camp, just as you'd like it now. The Hideout at Flitner Ranch is definitely one of these magic places you wish to find more often.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I, non-riders, accompanied our daughter on our first western trip, as she wanted to ride and experience a week at a working ranch. The Hideout Ranch far exceeded our expectations and provided us with First Class riding, adventure, and complete relaxation. The wranglers were superb and always engaging, allowing all levels of riders to feel comfortable and safe. Our daughter, an advanced rider, found the daily rides magnificent as she experienced breath-taking terrains from the heated desert to the snow capped mountains. The food and accommodations were impeccable, reflecting a western flare, which added to the genuine ambiance. The entire Hideout team treated all guests as one big family, and no request went unmet. The chef was kind enough to prepare a special cake for our daughter as she celebrated her 20th birthday at the Hideout.

We enjoyed taking relaxing bike rides, touring a dinosaur fossil dig, and mountain driving while exploring the nearby towns of Cody and Sheridan. The highlight of our trip was a personal guided tour with Peter as we off-roaded into the high elevations of the Big Horn Mountains. Enjoying a picnic lunch and cowboy coffee as we huddled by a fire, alongside a waterfall as snow flurries fell, was an experience to treasure forever. Our week at The Hideout was truly spectacular and one that we would recommend for those who yearn to experience the highest quality lodge and guest ranch in the most beautiful setting, with the kindest staff. The exceptional personal care to details provided by the Hideout “family” ensures an awesome experience for all guests. The Hideout provides peaceful bliss with high adventure in top quality style. …..a perfect vacation. We will return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Second time at the hideout (worried it would not live up to the first time)I need not have worried, again a fantastic time had by all. The wranglers spend endless time explaining over and over again how to do things (especially that blinking knot!!) horses all lovely and the accomodation, food,lodge staff fantastic. We especially loved the branding afternoon. To our fellow guests hope you had a good time too (keep improving the pool skills Will!), coming back again hopefully. Thanks again it was great. If you are thinking of a ranch holiday believe us don't bother looking anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

If u love horses, horse riding, nature, great food, have an appreciation for warm, worldly, high quality customer experience, this place and the whole ranch and riding experience will not disappoint.

The wranglers are superb, the cabins and rooms will give top hotels a run for their money, service is equivalent to 5 star quality hotels in certain parts of the caribbean or even hawaii. host and owners are warm, genuine, and incredibly people centric. all the meals are prepared with Michelin Star care, attentiveness and high end ingredients. if u went On an all day riding
or cattle drive trip, u will be pampered with high quality gourmet sandwiches that will beat top end sandwich caterers like dean and deluca.


Horses are well groomed and taken care of. In other word, the horses are well trained, and matched to your needs with an emphasis on safety.

cattle drives are fantastic, the real deal,with real cowboys and cowgirls. on my trip we drove 500 cows 15 miles down bullhorn mountains thru shell to the base of the mountains in the first wk of oct.

Room Tip: 22 is good close to main lodge where meals are served, and closest to barn and road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

My wife chose this holiday as she wanted to refresh her childhood riding skills. I had never ridden before so it was a whole new experience. There were 25 people from all around the world and we all met together the first afternoon for a theoretical orientation. For a non rider this explained most do's and dont's of riding. The next morning we had a couple of hours in the arena to understand how we were to ride these horses. Then off into the trucks each day to a different part of the 250,000 acres to ride. One day herding 600 cattle, another day on a countryside tour riding to a peak about 9,000ft above sea level for lunch. Riding through pine forests, rivers, marshes, desert you name it we did it. The Wranglers were fantastic at helping you at every turn. Thanks to Ramon, Sean, Tom for their positive help and especially to John for a day lost in the mountains.
Every night you all meet for drinks and a great dinner. The owners David and Peter and their wives met with us for dinner most nights. The accommodation is excellent, the experience is awesome, make sure you visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We have just returned from The Hideout - an absolutely brilliant holiday! The scenery is fabulous, the ranch grounds are immaculate, the log cabins extremely comfortable and well-appointed, the food delicious. Most importantly, the horses are well-trained and cared for and the wranglers are charming, patient, helpful and great fun. The riding was fantastic - real cattle work (the best!!), stunning trail rides and optional clinics with the chief wrangler who was inspiring, a real privilege to watch. This wasn't the cheapest ranch holiday but I doubt that there are any better - the philosophy here isn't 'this is our programme, we hope you like it', but 'tell us what you want and that will be our programme'. How refreshing to find such a totally client-orientated place, all the staff here will go that extra mile to ensure guests have a wonderful time. Would recommend unhesitatingly to both riders and non-riders. Brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hideout Lodge & Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideout Lodge & Guest Ranch

Address: 3170 Road 40 1/2, Shell, WY 82441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Shell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Shell
Also Known As:
The Hideout Lodge & Guest Ranch Hotel Shell
The Hideout Lodge And Guest Ranch
The Hideout Lodge & Guest Ranch Shell, Wyoming

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hideout Lodge & Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Hideout Lodge & Guest Ranch to your Saves list