We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wolf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Wolf to your Saves list
Hotel Wolf
101 E. Bridge St., Saratoga, WY 82331   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saratoga
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This old hotel has so much charm. The rooms are large and very reasonable. Their dining room is cozy, the wait staff are friendly, and the food is great. We had the chef special of trout and it was done perfectly. Salad bar and soup came with the meal, not to mention great potatoes and vegetables.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    28
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
31
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our group of 12 stayed at the Hotel Wolf on July 6th. It is a quaint brick hotel with alot of character. Saratoga is a quiet town, cute with neighborhoods to walk through and deer wandering through people's yards. We liked the Wolf alot. It had a bar to purchase beverages, or you could buy beer and wine to take to your room. The rooms were decorated in period style with adequate bathrooms and some had sitting areas. The bar was busy and a bit hard to get attended to, and we were not allowed to take chairs from the game room onto the front porch. They did point us to some plastic chairs on the side of the building that we made use of. There are fans but no central air conditioning. Some of our party thought that the street noise was a bit loud, but all in all it was the best stay for the money if you are looking for a unique and interesting experience. We would do it again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Yes, the only way to get to our 3rd floor room was to climb the steep steps and yes, there were fans instead of AC and no shower--a bathtub with a hand-held sprayer. Still, we had a parlor in addition to a bedroom, the breeze blew through the lace curtains and the bed and bedclothes were really comfortable. Everything was clean and the building has been refurbished with a lot of love. If there had been horses instead of motorcycles on the street, it probably would have felt just about like 1890.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We only stayed one night and it was perfectly ok. The guy in the bar/reception didn't seem to bothered when we arrived and just ignored us for a while, talking to a friend in the back room. When he did greet us, he seemed nice, but busy. After checking in, we realized the toilet was out of order, however it was quickly taken care of. The room was small (but it was the cheapest one, so maybe others were bigger), but the atmosphere was really nice. We liked the location right on the main street.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We pulled in to the Wolf at 9 pm, no reservations, no problem because there's a bar on the first level, and the hotelier was operating it. The bar was rockin and smoky. Our lovely, old-timey feeling suite held two very comfortable queens at the back of the hotel section upstairs. Unfortunately it was about zero outside and, not expecting us, the proprietors had not turned up the radiators. The room reminded chilly till morning but we had thick comforters and were fine. I'm a light sleeper and had to put on some white noise to block the bar sounds and sleep. I'd stay again. not a corporate place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My daughter and I travelled from Laramie to Saratoga to visit the hot springs on a cold day this month. I had looked on-line for prices the night before and saw $65 rooms available along with higher priced ones. We arrived late in the afternoon and wandered into the bar to check in. The bartender approached us immediately and showed us what rooms were available and the only 2 left were #19 and 20 - both $90 rooms! I voiced my disappointment and he immediately dropped the price to 80 and gave us the keys to both rooms to see which we preferred. We chose #20, in the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor. True, it was positioned on the side facing the major thoroughfare and we could hear every car and truck that passed under our 19th century windows. But the beds were the most comfortable I have slept in in years! Very warm blankets, 2 queen beds, an extra sitting room with a tv and couch and a small but quite adequate bathroom. The corner "closet" is delightful and offers padded, feminine hangers. The room was clean and in beautiful condition.

When you visit Saratoga, if you are looking for first class lodgings with soundproofed rooms - keep driving. It is a wonderful little town with lovely people. The Wolf was comfortable and welcoming. I will stay there again if I pass through.

Dinner was at the Wolf restaurant. There are very few choices in town which probably explains the high prices. It was a bit disappointing but the quality of the food was VERY good. A salad bar was pretty extensive and very fresh. The shrimp scampi was very tasty but was not served with any pasta or rice - just a few veggies on the side. But since the only other options are bars, just go expecting to pay a bit more for the lovely atmosphere and great service. Friendly staff. Enjoyable meal. Again - I would eat there again.

Room Tip: Be prepared that you may not get a "soundproof" night's sleep, but enjoy the historic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

For our anniversary, we decided to visit Saratoga & the awesome hot springs. We shared the Apartment Suite with my brother & his fiancee & we all loved the "step back in time" feeling of this wonderful old building. The rustic charm & coziness of the suite suited us perfectly. The staff, especially Judd, were friendly, helpful & amazing! Our light dinner in the lounge the night of our arrival was delicious & our anniversary dinner the following night in the restaurant was even better! I will definately recommend the Wolf to anyone & everyone I know & we will definately stay there again! (we would like to 'explore' some of the other rooms!)

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing stairs, the apartment suite is cozy & very charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf

Address: 101 E. Bridge St., Saratoga, WY 82331
Location: United States > Wyoming > Saratoga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saratoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel Wolf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Hotel Saratoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wolf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.