We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, but an acceptable stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Outlaw Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Outlaw Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Outlaw Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1630 Elk Street, PO Box 1570, Rock Springs, WY 82901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Rock Springs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but an acceptable stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel lobby was smelly and in the middle of renovations (I hope). The whole building looked run down and old. However, the room was fine. Our room was facing the pool courtyard. (Other rooms are accessible from the outside.) It was a little noisy, I think the walls were thin. Or it could have been because our room was connected to another room with a door.

The only redeeming qualities were the shallow non-freezing pool that my kids loved and the restaurant that you eat breakfast at. It was still normal continental breakfast food, but it was nice that it was served in a nice restaurant by a super friendly waitress.

Overall, I don't think I'd stay there again for the price, but it was good enough. I'm glad we stopped in Rock Springs instead of Wamsutter. Rock Springs didn't have many hotel/restaurant options and Wamsutter had even less.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    108
    36
    20
    6
See reviews for
63
101
29
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Conakry, Guinea
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I must have hit town at the wrong time. Paid too much for this quality of hotel. Not that there was anything wrong with reception or the room. After driving through a snow storm wanted a quiet room with a good bed and found it here. Staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoutlaw, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Outlaw Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our property. We understand that your time is very valuable. The Best Western Outlaw Inn is known to have superior customer service and added amenities like our hot breakfast that guests visiting the Rock Springs area have come to enjoy and expect. We have recently gone through a renovation and are very proud of our new rooms. The Best Western Outlaw Inn tries to be a great choice for guests coming into Rock Springs and we ensure that our price reflects our quality and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Let's face it, you're not staying here for your family vacation. It's Rock Spings WY. Honeslty, it is a fantastic little hotel with convienient access. Great comfortable and very clean rooms and AMAZING staff. Well worth the reasonable rates they charge. The breakfast is a real sit down hot meal served by great service staff at your pace. The dinner in the same resturaunt is VERY good and reasonably priced. Inside it is actually pretty cool, rustic and cozy. The outside isn't as bad as it appears in some photos from hotel websites, they have spent some money on a face lift. I can't see why any business traveler would't stay here. I will be back for sure!!

Room Tip: I think some rooms may have better WiFi coverage than others. My first room had a weak signal so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoutlaw, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Outlaw Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Jon J

I appreciate your flattering review. I must agree with you, my staff is AMAZING! I am glad you enjoyed the restaurant. It has been a local favorite for over 47 years.

Again, thank you for your kind words.
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

On are way to Salt Lake City when we needed a stop over . This was the first hotel we came to . Are room was clean and tidy , the pool was in the middle of the hotel and the rooms overlooked the pool area. Dropped are cases of and made are way to the hotel bar. Very friendly staff (Peggy) she makes a mean strawberry margrarita . After a few drinks and friendly chat with other guests we went to bed. Breakfast was included in the price and it was very good . It was buffet style and the food was always hot and tasty with loads of choices. Would recommend this hotel..

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoutlaw, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Outlaw Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our complimentary cooked to order breakfast has been extremely popular with all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I always now if I call I will get a nice clean comfortable room. The reception people are more than helpful always going out of there way to help. Recently I lost the invoice for the night before and need for exspence reembursment. I made a quick call to Kelly that same morning and was emailed the copy within minutes. I stay there nearly every week and appreciate all the help. Its a great place to stay and will always recomend to coworkers, family and friends.
Thanks for always making my stay there as comfortable as possible
Neal KEC

Room Tip: Rooms in rear are great for the business traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoutlaw, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Outlaw Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Neal W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear you are satisfied with your stays.
The tip regarding the exterior rooms is great. These rooms are smaller, but have great access. It is a very popular room type for the guests that are working in town or travelling with motorcycles.
We appreciate your business and referrals. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Outlaw doesn't get highly rated on TripAdvisor and having had it allocated to me on Priceline I was a bit apprehensive.
As others have commented, it is not an especially attractive property stuck between gas stations and truck lots but it is just off the freeway (with no noise from that) and as a late arrival we found it very easy to find, the staff pleasant and helpful - and an almost empty property but a large warm room.
It's a strange design for sure with a lot of 'function' space to hold large parties and the rooms facing into a large covered pool area - I was sorry not to have come equipped to use the attractive and empty pool.
Breakfast was just as specified - choice of 3 items - and pretty good really.
It's not and does not pretend to be a 5 star hotel - just a staging point on the I-80.
The deal breaker - would I use it again?
Yes and recommended.

Room Tip: There are outside rooms (drive up and park near) but the inside rooms are comfortable and not too di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoutlaw, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Outlaw Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear David82605,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am thrilled our hotel exceeded your expectations. Thank you for recognizing our staff as pleasant and helpful.

Next time you are in Rock Springs, don't forget to bring your swimsuit, you will find the pool as warm as it is attractive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

frist time been there and very clean and pretty can't not belive it it's that good!! if I have chance I will beeen there again!! and room are very comfortable just like at home!! and room are big and very clean!! I'm love it~we just stay for one night and that day very cold,but room are very very comfortable and the bed are so cozy too!! very good!!因為是第一次住,覺得好棒!!房間太舒適,房間的燈光也很溫馨,我很喜歡!! 外觀不像是很起眼的,可是一進房間內就大吃一驚!!簡直是外觀跟市內有好大的差別!! 當晚因為很晚了,櫃檯的小姐有點部耐煩!! 態度也ok而已!!! 不過旅館內真的很棒!當中有個很大的室內游泳池!!好棒的!!

Room Tip: every room are good!! we have two queen bed room!! it's very good!! like at home!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Outlaw Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Outlaw Inn

Address: 1630 Elk Street, PO Box 1570, Rock Springs, WY 82901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Sweetwater County > Rock Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rock Springs
#4 Family Hotel in Rock Springs
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rock Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Outlaw Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Outlaw Inn is Southwest Wyoming's finest full-service hotel (locally owned and managed) with an AAA-3 Diamond rating. The award winning Open Range Restaurant (where hotel guests are served a free, hot breakfast) is popular with travelers and locals alike. The entire staff of the Outlaw Inn prides itself in offering the best in service and assistance to travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Outlaw Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Outlaw Hotel Rock Springs
Best Western Rock Springs
Rock Springs Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Outlaw Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.