We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great except for wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Springs Holiday Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rock Springs Holiday Inn to your Saves list
Rock Springs Holiday Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1675 Sunset Drive, Rock Springs, WY 82901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Rock Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great except for wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I thought this hotel was very nice. I was given a king suite on the first floor-back o the hotel. It was great because it had an outside door also which allowed me to go outside more easily with my dog. There wasn't a ton of room to walk him but it wasn't impossible. I was greeted very kindly by staff - particularly by an older gentlemen whose name I didn't catch (I believe he had just driven a woman in on the van). He was exceedingly warm towards my dog and myself and I really appreciated his kindness.

The room was very good sized (king) and was pretty quiet but the restaurant Wingers is on that side, so I imagine it may be louder at times. I did order room service from Wingers. Had a burger and onion rings - they were very good!

The only thing that could've been better - the shower had some spots on the ceiling that should be cleaned and/or painted over. Oh and I really couldn't access the wifi - worked very little and had to keep logging back in. There were a lot of plug-ins for tech...just wished they would've worked!

Room Tip: Room 104 had little access to wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WisconsinGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liisa A, Manager at Rock Springs Holiday Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We are excited to report that we have completed running fiber optic cable lines to our 2 Holiday Inn properties to increase our bandwidth over that which is otherwise available in Rock Springs to other hotels. Thanks for staying with us and we were glad to hear that everything else was great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

A nice property with a fun restaurant and bar. Staff were friendly and helpful. This would rate an excellent except the internet service was nearly unusable. I finally got on after midnight. Even then it was slow. The night auditor's response was that lots of people were trying to get on. Not sure how that was my problem.

Room Tip: I would try and get away from the restaurant/bar if you want to go to sleep early. Only open until 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HummerBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liisa A, General Manager at Rock Springs Holiday Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hotel was nice, clean, and the lobby area was welcoming. Restaurant/bar area was pretty nice as well. Casual dining and nice bar.

Staff set us up in the ballroom to have our meeting, and it worked out great. Private breakfast was brought in for our meeting, and it was very good. Staff was very accomodating, and the prices for meeting room rental and breakfast were very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liisa A, Manager at Rock Springs Holiday Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very proud of our welcoming lobby, comfortable rooms and helpful staff. I will let the banquet staff know that your meeting worked out well and that you found our prices reasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We pulled in without a reservation and were given one of their last rooms on the top floor which happened to have a separate whirlpool tub.

I was very pleased with the surprise - I had wrenched my back earlier in the day escaping a swarm of bees at Flaming Gorge and the jetted tub was just the ticket. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the amenities nice.

We would stay here again if in the area. We found the hotel staff to be professional, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liisa A, Manager at Rock Springs Holiday Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for letting us know that you had an excellent stay at our hotel and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. In addition, I am glad to hear that you were able to use the jetted tub for your back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We found the hotel to be unbearably dirty, and the staff to be just so so. If this was a redone hotel, then either we got a room that had not been, or the cleaning staff is completely inadequate as to maintain a room that is supposedly brand new. The first room they gave us was on the first floor, and the carpet was totally stained with big black stains...as if someone in work boots repeatedly stayed and wiped their boots on the carpet. It looked like it had never been cleaned. The furniture was totally scarred and beat up...like it had been severely abused and no one had bothered to fix or change it. We asked for another room, and were moved to the second floor. This room was better by comparison, but as the evening wore on, it lost points. There was one red wall, which was disgusting, dusty and stained by spills that had never been cleaned. It made us wonder why the wall was painted red (and a bad paint job at that) and we decided we did not really want to know. The furniture in this room was also very beat up. If the lifespan of renovation at this hotel is only 6 months or so, is it not the failure of the staff's ability to properly maintain the property? If I owned this property, heads would roll. This was the 5th Holiday Inn property we stayed in on our trip across the US, and by far the dirtiest, and least cared for. Wish we had stayed across the street. Oh, and the restaurant?? Just as bad as the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjjlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liisa A, General Manager at Rock Springs Holiday Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
I am sorry that your stay was not to your satisfaction. Please contact me at liisa@sweetwaterhsa.com so I can review your rooms and check their condition. Liisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

New or recently redone hotel. Nicely appointed, the room was a comfortable size and very clean.

We also got a $20 coupon for breakfast at the hotel restaurant, and it covered a pretty good size breakfast for two of us.

I would definitely recommend the hotel, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pandemicsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liisa A, General Manager at Rock Springs Holiday Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are happy that you found your room clean and comfortable and enjoyed the Best for Breakfast coupon you purchased with your stay. Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Not only is Miranda beautiful she is a valuable asset to the holiday inn corporate and local management team. Checking in was fast, Miranda was very professional, and after a long day on the road - check in was a seemless process that will make me select this particular holiday inn again.

Well done Miranda! My first point of contact with this Holiday Inn was significant enough that I took the time to write this.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scall6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rock Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
My Place Hotel - Rock Springs, WY
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Rock Springs
Hampton Inn Rock Springs
#2 of 16 in Rock Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Outlaw Inn
BEST WESTERN Outlaw Inn
#5 of 16 in Rock Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rock Springs Green River
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rock Springs
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Rock Springs
La Quinta Inn Rock Springs
#8 of 16 in Rock Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Springs Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Springs Holiday Inn

Address: 1675 Sunset Drive, Rock Springs, WY 82901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Sweetwater County > Rock Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rock Springs
#5 Family Hotel in Rock Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Rock Springs Holiday Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to Rock Springs hotels, we can't be beat. We're proud to offer award-level service, free Wi-Fi access, a 24-hour pool & whirlpool, 37-inch flat-screen TVs and earth-friendly practices. Fridge and microwaves in every room for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Rock Springs Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Springs Holiday Hotel Rock Springs
Holiday Inn Rock Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing