We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weighing my options in Rock Springs...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1670 Sunset Drive, Rock Springs, WY 82901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Rock Springs
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Weighing my options in Rock Springs...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I'm a motorcyclist, an avid motorcyclist. But when you pull into a town like Rock Springs at 9:30 at night without reservations and the town is hopping with field laborers occupying nearly every room your perspective of a hotel changes.
Hotels.com hooked me up with the only room available in their directory. I had been to three hotels along Bluff street and they were turning away other weary travelers.
$84.00 - Quality Inn. Headed to exit 104 and voila, right across the street from the exit ramp. (Convenient).
The front desk clerk already had my name on his register (and I had booked the room less than 10 minutes prior with Hotels.com.) Nice!
I got to the room, opened the door to a stale room aroma. Leaving the door open while I unpacked my things helped. The fridge and microwave were new. The bathroom had been renovated with new fixtures (shower and toilet). Not bad!
I pulled back the bedding to look for anything amiss - clean sheets, pillows, though the bedspread was worn. The mattress was firm and comfortable.
So, if you want a decent room, no frills, don't mind being sent to the farthest corner room away from traffic (another nice touch - no traffic noise) then this is a viable option.
Lesson learned: book ahead if you are spending the night in Rock Springs, WY.

Room Tip: Take the rear corner away from the exit ramp and the adjacent bar. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreenWyoming, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We appreciate your comments but we feel there is a possibility you may be talking about another hotel.. We are off exit 102 and not far from the on ramp, but not right across from it. We agree with you that reservations are definitely a plus when staying in Rock Springs! Hope you enjoyed your trip!
Sincerely,
Trish Green, GM- Quality Inn Rock Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    42
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
23
35
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This motel worked for our family of five. You can tell it is a little older but it was clean and has a nice outdoor pool, indoor hot tub, lobby and courtyard. We were only in the room to sleep but all the amenities were in order. They also had a manager's reception with free drinks but we didn't get to go so I don't know how it is. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreenWyoming, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your room and the pool and hot tub. We are sorry you missed the Social hour. It is from 5 pm to 7 pm daily and would love to have you join us again next time you are in the area!
Thanks
Trish Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton CO
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at this location because of a free room night with Choice Privileges so upon arrival, we were placed in a room that was close to all the noise on the busy street even though I could see that other rooms were available. The carpet in the room was kind of worn, not particularly clean, and the sanitizer smell in the room was nauseating. There was hair stuck to the bathroom shower walls, dirt in the corners of the bathroom, and the bed had useless uncomfortable pillow squares although the bed itself was comfortable. The rooms need updating and they don't look anything like other Quality Inns we have stayed in. We were looking forward to taking a dip in the pool. What we found was that it was floating full of wind blown debris and someone was rolling up a hose on the deck (could be a contractor or employee). I told this person that the pool needed cleaned but his comment was that the wind did it and he didn't offer to grab a net to remove the debris or notify someone else. I am a former pool technician so the problem here was easily observed. The gardeners have been trimming the bushes around the pool for a long time without ever picking up after themselves, then this pool has missing skimmer gates so whatever flows into the baskets, can not stay there and there is no way this pool could ever be clear of the debris that float in it but then the pool was too cold anyway. This location does have a free happy hour in the evenings and that was nice but it doesn't make up for the room or the pool. The breakfast was very mediocre and not a lot to choose from. The people that run this place are very nice and from the outside everything looks good, but when you can't use the pool or enjoy your room, it is disappointing. We could see that everyone loved the happy hour and they were having a great time so if this meets your expectations, you will be happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreenWyoming, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are sorry that you did not have a good stay. We have shared your comments with our staff. We wish we could have had the opportunity to rectify these problems when you were here on property. Our rooms are usually very clean and we have staff that usually checks and cleans the pool throughout the day. Again we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Sincerely,
Trish Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Older style motel completely renovated, reasonably priced and a very pleasant staff. On top of all that - free happy hour 5-7!! Very nice place to stop. I recommend this motel to anyone travelling in the area and I intend to stay again should I be near.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreenWyoming, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our motel and were able to enjoy the free social hour. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Rock Springs.
Sincerely,
Trish Green, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem,NC
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Pre-booked on-line for a GREAT price and when we pulled in and saw the old-school-ish motor court type of set up I 'got scared.' Outside of place looked a bit old and shabby.....Once in the lobby I started to relax.....was greeted warmly and advised we were in time for Happy Hour = 3 FREE DRINKS PER GUEST - Nice touch!
24 hour coffee, pool, great workout room.....all well appointed.
The room - immaculate- updated from lighting to A/C to bathroom- bed was great - FREE WIFI, refrig/micro, cable- can't say enough.
Breakfast was embellished ...eggs and biscuits plus waffles,etc.
Ask for an inner court room - quieter.
Whomever is managing/the owner is doing a great job here.

Room Tip: Ask for an inner court room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreenWyoming, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that you were able to enjoy the amenities we offer including breakfast and happy hour. They are 2 of our guest favorites. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and others! Hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Sincerely,
Trish Green, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This motel offered everything we needed. Room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the shower was very good. Fridge, microwave and an iron were all in good working order. An adequate breakfast with a reasonable choice. Staff were fine so no issues with the service. Only a couple niggles, the door was very stiff (rm 139) and the safe was locked. These were reported so I hope they get fixed. Overall a pleasant visit and we would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreenWyoming, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review of our property. We are very glad that you had a good stay and we were able to provide everything you needed. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again next time you are in the area.
Sincerely,
Trish Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmville, Virginia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Everything was fine at this location except the price. It was too high. We paid $100 for a pretty basic room in what used to be a motel court that has been reincarnated as a Quality Inn. Yes, the price is competitive with other more upscale hotels in the area, but still too high for this kind of property.

For the record, the room was clean and comfortable; there was an afternoon happy hour featuring free drinks for guests, and an adequate continental breakfast served in the morning.

I might stay here again, but only if the rates are lower. We have stayed in much nicer hotels in Wyoming while driving through, and have paid $20-$25 less per stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgreenWyoming, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were slightly disappointed during your stay. We appreciate you completing a survey for us. We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary cocktails and the breakfast. Hope to see you again if you are in the area.
Sincerely,
Trish Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1670 Sunset Drive, Rock Springs, WY 82901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Sweetwater County > Rock Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Rock Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn Rock Springs features 103 ground floor rooms. We offer a deluxe complimentary breakfast daily from 6am to 9am featuring waffles, cereal, juice, coffee, toast, bagels, English muffins, yogurt, and a variety of hot items rotated on a daily basis including bacon, sausage patties, sausage links, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs or omelets. We also offer complimentary cocktails in the evening from 5pm to 7pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Rock Springs
Rock Springs Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.