We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferris Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ferris Mansion Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ferris Mansion Bed and Breakfast
607 West Maple, Rawlins, WY 82301   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Rawlins B&B and Inns
Colorado Springs, CO
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“What fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is an amazing B&B. It is a beautifully restored Victorian house, with period furnishings and details. It is also obviously a family home (in the family for 40 years). Kaye Marie is a born innkeeper. There is not a single detail that is overlooked, including a night-light in the bathroom. While the house is very formal, in keeping with the period, there are touches of whimsy, like the rubber duck in the tub. The bed was amazinglly comfortable with sumptuous linens.

Kaye Marie provided a wonderful breakfast. There was fruit and yogurt and homemade granola. Then we discovered that that was just the beginning! Pancakes followed with homemade syrup. There was also an egg casserole and homemade English Muffin bread and homemade jam. I loved learning to use her antique toaster!

Room Tip: We had the blue room, which was huge, with a great shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmwilder, Owner at Ferris Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Fun is a rule in my life, thanks for staying at my house and following the rules.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
67
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed 1 night at The Ferris Mansion Bed and Breakfast on our way home for visiting beautiful Yellowstone National Park. What a great find in Rawlins Wy., Kaye-Marie greeted us at the front door and instantly made us feel out home. And what a home it is , beautifully resorted and cared for with much love. The room was more than we had hoped for and sooooo soooo comfortable. We didn't think it could get any better, but then came breakfast--excellent and so tasty. In closing let me just say if your ever in the Rawlins area do yourself a favor and spend a wonderful night or two at the Ferris Mansion Bed and Breakfast---Greg P.S. We stayed in the BLUE ROOM

Room Tip: the pictures don't really do the rooms justice----they are all beautiful and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmwilder, Owner at Ferris Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
My goal is for my guests to feel welcomed and comfortable. You are only a stranger until you set foot on my first step onto the porch and then you are a new friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I looked at the other reviews and don't really know what to add. Beautiful old home, meticulously maintained, we had the red room. Kay Marie a delight. Gave us real glasses and ice for the cocktail hour on the porch. Met her youngest daughter who had just started high school. She works hard to keep it as it should be. Inherited it from her parents, who with her Aunt did the initial work on the house. An added bonus was the Aspen house restaurant, walking distance, enjoyed a delicious dinner there

Room Tip: All are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmwilder, Owner at Ferris Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Always love a review with word meticulous in it! That's what I named my mom and aunt, "The Meticulous Sisters." Subsequently I was groomed in meticulousness, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, it is so appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Wow! Even the doilies have doilies, and I mean that in the best possible way. Passing through Rawlins on the way to Yellowstone you don't expect much, but this mansion really lives up to the name. Meticulously maintained, adorable on the outside, it's even more authentically tricked out on the inside. Parlor, breakfast nook, grand piano and all. Our room was the blue room. It was gigantic and squeaky clean, with wonderful decorative touches like antique wooden furniture and a brass bedstead and clawfoot tub. Bed was comfy with very nice sheets! Our hostess Kaye Marie was warm and friendly, and served up a phenomenonal gourmet breakfast. And I think we only paid like $120! Totally great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmwilder, Owner at Ferris Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
I didn't realize how much I love doilies until this review, made me laugh because I do love doilies. My grandmother crocheted many of them but even the new ones I love. I should count my doilies just for reference. Love this review, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We spent a night at the mansion in the blue room. It was like spending a night with my princes in a palace. Blue accent was tastefully incorporated in the entire room including blue satin sheets. Kaye-Marie welcomed us with great enthusiasm and gave us a tour of the mension and its history. Be sure to look at the photos in the album located in the living room. The breakfast was a highlight and showed Kaye-Maries special talent as a cook. Homemade granola was excellent and so were the pastries and eggs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmwilder, Owner at Ferris Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Oh thank you so much for the addition of your pictures. I think your camera is a bit more advanced that mine. Perhaps a wide angle lens is my future......nope don't need one, your pictures are amazing. Your time spent on writing this review is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Ferris Mansion is absolutely beautiful inside and outside. The renovation that has taken place is sympathetic to the age and style of the house and it was a complete pleasure to spend the night there.

We stayed in the Blue Room, which was spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable, with a wonderful bathroom. It really felt that we had the comfort of home after 10 days of motels (albeit nice ones) and driving.

Kaye-Marie, the owner, was charming and helpful, advising us on a place for dinner (the Aspen House, which was fantastic) and a bar to have a few drinks to end the night.

Breakfast was a real treat, and it's a shame that we'd eaten so much the night before at the restaurant so we couldn't take full advantage of the home made bread, granola and jam as well as scrambled eggs and meat patties, fresh fruit and great coffee.

We were only using Rawlins as a stop off on our way to Denver Airport from Jackson, and had probably one of the most memorable nights of our holiday due to the beautiful accommodation at the Ferris Mansion and the fantastic meal at the Aspen House.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The owner was so friendly and accomadating. We stayed in the rose room and also rented the maids room. Which is adjacent to, not connected to the rose room.
I really felt unsafe about them sleeping over there. The other guests have easy access to their door way its only separated with a folding changing blind thing. And we had to sleep with one of our doors open for them to be able to get us of they needed. The door does lock but they have to come out into the common hallway to use the bathroom. It might be better for older children. Breakfast was great although she didn't serve any meat. Everything was very fancy. And my children enjoyed the yard and the dogs. It was a welcome break from the string of hotels we stayed at on our roadtrip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ferris Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferris Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Address: 607 West Maple, Rawlins, WY 82301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Rawlins
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rawlins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic Queen Anne style victorian mansion that was registered on the National Historic Register in 1982. It has been fully restored to it's original grandeur. There are four spacious, comfortable guest rooms. Each room has a private bath, 32 in flat screen tv, a/c and free wifi. The reception room and the parlors are open to our guests and the front porch has a swing. Full yummy breakfast included. Check in 4pm-8pm, call for later check in. Check out time 11am. Closed daily for upkeep and errands 11am-4pm. Open all year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Ferris Mansion Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferris Mansion Hotel Rawlins
Ferris Mansion b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferris Mansion Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.