We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average lodging in a very average town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN CottonTree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN CottonTree Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN CottonTree Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2221 W. Spruce, Rawlins, WY 82301-5149   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Rawlins
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Average lodging in a very average town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The first thing that happened was that I got stuck trying to get into my room, and the lady at the front desk retorted to me when I called for help, "What do you want me to do about it? I'm at the front desk alone." They did not have my reservation for my dogs even though I notified them, and the lady at the front desk warned me that if I got caught with them in my room, that I would be fined. She did, however, added the surcharge to my bill for the pet fee.

The food in the restaurant that evening rated just plain 'ole bad. But the town doesn't even have a Dominoes to order pizza delivery. AND it's one of the most expensive Best Westerns I've stayed at.

I'd stay somewhere else if I had a choice. I had just driven as far as I could go that night.

Room Tip: Inside facing room unless you want to deal with smokers standing out on the balcony smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawlinsgm, Manager at BEST WESTERN CottonTree Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear TallPoppy81,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, we would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.

We would like to begin by apologizing for the trouble that you had when you initially tried to enter your room. Unfortunately it appears that the door handle failed to properly engage when you tried to enter your room. Following your departure, our maintenance department was notified of the malfunction and has since replaced the handle. Now the response our front desk agent gave you is by far below the standard of service we strive to provide our guests with, and we have taken your feedback and shared it with our staff so we can improve our customer service.

Now the pet fee is our property policy. Rooms that have had pets require additional cleaning and laundry in order to prepare it for the next guest. We do apologize that when you booked your room that your pet was not reserved with you and you were not informed of our pet policy.
While Rawlins is a small western town it does offer many a wide variety of restaurant options including Pizza Hut, Dominos, and a Chinese restaurant which all deliver. In fact if you find yourself in our area again, we would recommend trying Anong’s which offers an amazing Thai cuisine.

Thank you so much for your time and we hope you will come back and see us again soon so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us directly at 307-324-2737.

Sincerely,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    64
    32
    16
    7
See reviews for
61
73
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The resturant was good alng with the food.
Te room looked as if some one had a knifed the wall and covered it up with little wall paper patchs. The sleep was limited to the room being on the outside facing the freeway and tracks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night while traveling from SD to Utah. I thought the room was a bit pricey for the location. The hotel was full of some type of utility workers while we were there. Our room was on the second floor with exterior entrance, and our door had obviously been kicked in because the slide security lock was broken off. Our room appeared to be recently remodeled and was comfortable. I heard people complaining that their room which was on the front side of the hotel was noisy. We ate diner at the bar on location and food was tasty, and service attentive. Complimentary breakfast was good, but service downright obnoxious with one waitress ignoring all customers except for a table of young men, other waitresses sat together in the back of the restaurant at a table, giggling, talking loudly while patrons waited for service. Would skip Rawlins and this Best Western next time..........

Room Tip: Get a room on a top floor on the back side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We actually had booked a room at a hotel down the street, but upon arrival we found that many of their exterior lights were out. This prompted us to look for other accommodations. The Best Western was well lit, and the lobby inviting. Our room was located around back on the ground level, with an outside entrance, which was ok with us. The newly renovated room was comfortable and clean, and the bed made me want to stay there longer. We were tired from travelling so the new big screen HD TV was appreciated but wasted on us. The breakfast was tasty. And except for a toaster with limited range, everything was great. The eggs and sausages were well-stocked and and the staff offered pancakes from the kitchen, which I gladly accepted. We enjoyed milk and juice with our coffee, and after breakfast a sweet waitress took our picture by the elk in the lobby.
This is definitely an older hotel that has been refurbished, so as far as the mechanics of the building, I can not speak to that. We were fortunate to be travelling on an exceptionally good weather day, not too hot, and not too cold. We did not use the air or the heat in the room, but the fan worked great. My husband likes to open a window, but this was not possible.
The comfortable bed, and the good breakfast made us feel like we were well pampered.

Room Tip: I read that there is no elevator, if this is a problem, you can get a room on the ground floor in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison GA
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

After checking two higher rated & less expensive hotels, we were told we were getting the last available room at this property. The only positive things about this stay were wrapped disposable cups and the shower head. There is no elevator and we weren't told that at check-in. I encountered an unleashed dog in the hallway. The hotel is filled with refinery workers; we found one closely looking into our vehicle until he realized we were there. Had to call the front desk twice around 12:15 a.m. We could hear a verbal altercation on our floor. After the first call, someone, who had to already be on our floor, could immediately be heard crudely telling them to take it outside where three males continued to verbally berate a female outside our window prompting the second call that did end the noise. There was an earlier event directly across the hall entailing comments that made me feel like we were in an hourly hotel but at least they were quieter, not as crude and not upsetting. Other than the main entrance, the entrances say they are locked at all times for guest security. At least two of them were found to be propped open with rocks. Management said that one lock was broken, the maintenance man had to come from out of town and if they shut the door, they can't get it open. The bed didn't sag but wasn't up the Best Western standards and squeaked when you moved at all. The noisy HVAC wasn't even on when we arrived and never felt like the set temperature; it woke us when it came on. Overnight, we also heard the trucks on the expressway and trains. Fortunately, the hospital right behind the property didn't have any ambulance arrivals. Went in for the complimentary breakfast at 9 a.m. Staff was standing in the room but didn't come to us; we went to them and asked what we were to do. They asked if we stayed in the hotel. She said there was a buffet breakfast; there was nothing left but some eggs, yogurt, cold cereal, apples & oranges that we couldn't eat. She went and got some meat and brought a brief list of things they would prepare like oatmeal; we waited 30 minutes before receiving soupy oatmeal, milk & brown sugar; it wasn't edible either. Other staff took up the cold breakfast at 9:30 and put out a salad bar; breakfast was supposed to last until 10. We checked out and responded to how was our stay. They assured us that it wasn't the norm, apologized and took $50 off of the bill. I'm thankful for it but I really don't feel it was nearly enough. I don't know what the other issue of their morning had been but the clerk asked if she was to handle it the same way she did the previous issue. Apparently, this area sells out nightly making the prices ridiculous for a very raw, uncomfortable area. I don't think we'll be staying in anymore basic Best Westerns; they've definitely lost the edge they used to have.

Room Tip: Run elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Clean, nicely furnished room. Nice lounge. But little things added up to a lot of frustration. Only coffee in our room was decaf & regular couldn't be supplied bec. "of the holiday" (our stay was the day after Labor Day). No coffee in lobby on Wed. a.m. Food in restaurant awful, service awful. As to the complimentary bkfst., we left after waiting 10 mins. for a waitress, one who spent this time busing a table in a nearly empty place, & the other one
who was sitting at a table talking with 3 guys. A big BW disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
886 helpful votes 886 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our trip around Wyoming. The staff are very friendly and it has a good bar. The evening meal was a real let down, but to be fair I think we might have just caught a bad night, because the breakfast was great.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN CottonTree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN CottonTree Inn

Address: 2221 W. Spruce, Rawlins, WY 82301-5149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Rawlins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Rawlins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN CottonTree Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Rawlins hotel is a clean, comfortable hotel off I-80 in Wyoming and located close to North Platte River, a favorite for fishermen. We're located near Sinclair with easy access to the town and the top destinations in that region. We're right off I-80 and one of only three full-service hotels in Rawlins, Wyoming. Halfway between Salt Lake City, Utah and Denver, Colorado, just four hours each way, we provide guests with a truly convenient location. Located near Sinclair Refinery, business and leisure travelers alike enjoy the amenities at our Rawlins hotel. An onsite lounge with a dinner menu makes it easy to enjoy delectable meals without traveling far. The indoor pool and hot tub is an idyllic place to kick back after a long day. Pets are welcome here. We understand that you want to feel right at home while traveling. The local Rochelle Ranch Golf Course is a must for guests who want to work on their swing. Music in the Park is an exciting event happening weekly during the summer months and is fun for the whole family. The Carbon County Fair is an exciting event that brings guests to our Rawlins hotel from around the region. However, many guests prefer spending the days at Saratoga Hot Springs which is free and open year-round. At our Rawlins hotel, cleanliness, comfort and service is our foundation. Each staff member is dedicated to ensuring guests are well cared for. Enjoy luxury bedding, spacious rooms and great decor. The comfort of our guests always comes first, and we'll do our best to accommodate you if there's anything that might make your trip even better. Just ask, and staff members will go above and beyond to ensure your satisfaction. Book your stay at BEST WESTERN CottonTree Inn to take advantage of the best service in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN CottonTree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rawlins
Rawlins Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN CottonTree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.