We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch Historical Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heart Mountain Interpretive Center

Heart Mountain Interpretive Center
1539 Road 19, Powell, WY 82435
307-754-8000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Powell
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Heart Mountain Interpretive Center is located at the site of a former World War II Japanese American Relocation Camp. Shortly after the bombing of Pearl Harbor on Dec. 7, 1941, Japanese Americans on the West Coast were rounded up and confined in 10 camps around the country. One of these was located at Heart Mountain, and approximately 14,000 Japanese Americans were wrongly incarcerated here. The camp today features a museum, gallery, walking tour, original Relocation Camp structures and a World War II Memorial. The museum features interactive exhibits for visitors of all ages showing how Japanese Americans coped with unjust confinement and how the story of Japanese American imprisonment affects our lives today. A 14-minute introductory film plays several times each hour.
Laramie
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top-notch Historical Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

A really well done set of exhibits with video, sound recordings and displays give you a feel for what the Heart Mountain experience was like for the families who were interned there. While it is enlightening and somewhat disturbing to find out about this controversial bit of history, it is also a testament to those Japanese-Americans to learn of the amazing things that the internees did with very few resources, and the friendships that were forged there, particularly between former Sen. Al Simpson and Rep. Norm Mineta.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billings MT
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not pretty, but Necessary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A wonderful, educational, interactive museum that tells the story of a very negative event in our WWII history. The DVD shown in the theater is well worth viewing as it gives the background and other info to assist in understanding the exhibits. The before and after display of a room given to a family shows how inventive and resourceful the Japanese detainees were. Provocative, reflective questions, sprinkled through the displays, cause one to mentally revisit often and reprocess the information. One such question reads, 'Could this happen again'? Definitely worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enlightening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Beautiful center! Very well done educational experience.Worthwhile addition to my trip. The outdoor walking part of the genteel is also very informative.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Learn History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were able to stop at the Heart Mountain Interpretive Center on our trip to Yellowstone and Grand Teton. It is a great stop and a nice place to learn about the history at Heart Mountain.

The buildings give a great suggestions as to what the camp looked like during it's use. The tour starts with a short movie and then you can roam through the museum. The museums covers all the different aspects of life in the camp and tells the story of Japanese-American internment. It is a great stop for families and history buffs.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“First Rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I went to the center and were blown away with the museum, the film, the exhibits and just walking around and going over some of our sordid history. I encourage us all to do this, go to the Buffalo Bill Historical center, then go to the interpretive center and get the full circle of our countries history, both good and bad. This is a first rate operation and hope many will spend the time to support this facility , I would give it 10 stars if I could, Kudos to the museum.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heart Mountain Interpretive Center also viewed

 

Been to Heart Mountain Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heart Mountain Interpretive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.