We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ACCHHOOOO!!! Don't stay if you have pet allergies” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Powell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Powell to your Saves list
Super 8 Powell
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   845 East Coulter Avenue, Alt 14, 3blks from center town, Powell, WY 82435-0136   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Powell
maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“ACCHHOOOO!!! Don't stay if you have pet allergies”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

For a price of over a hundred bucks a night, I expected a lot more than this, and got a lot less than most Motel 6 stays. The motif appears to attempt "rustic west" with pine wood fixture trim and lobby with western motif. Breakfast was okay for a Super 8....but that was about it. Rooms...okay sized, but aged poorly. Both rooms had funky smells...and as it turned out, from previous pet stays...we found hairs from dogs of all sorts on the floor on closer inspection. Everybody in both rooms got a headache from the smell. The pool was tiny and floor exceedingly slippery. The bathroom in the pool area didn't have toilet paper for two days and the floor was constantly soaking wet. There are electric heaters in the pool area...strapped to the walls...but with plugs plugged in. WTF??? SHOCK HAZARD!!!! i will be reporting this to Super 8 corporate and OSHA. This is seriously messed up. The pool was also super cloudy. Overall....pay more and go elsewhere....unless you love dog hair. You don't get what you pay for here.

Room Tip: Best room is the one you don't get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfwilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I mean, it's a motel, right? Now that we've gotten that out of the way, this is a very well-maintained motel. I was legitimately impressed with the cleanliness of the bathrooms (and unfortunately quite well-acquainted with it, as I arrived in the midst of a bout of altitude sickness).

Yes, the furnishings and finishes in the room are dated, but they are clearly cleaned very frequently and thoroughly! Even the coffeemaker in the room was clean enough that when I used it to make a pot of tea it didn't taste at all of residual coffee.

Breakfast in the morning was standard fare- though again, an unexpectedly large number of options on the small things; types of oatmeal, types of creamer (Almond Joy? Chocolate Caramel? Of COURSE I'm ready to make bizarre decisions like this first thing in the morning and thank you for the option!).

The furniture in their lobby, reading and breakfast rooms is real, honest-to-god furniture. Not cheap, bulk hotel stuff, but tufted leather, carved wood, brass studs. All of this of course contributes to the rustic atmosphere...Super 8 Powell, cudos. Perhaps my view of you is retroactively boosted by the mental comparison to all of the other disgusting motels wherein I've previously had the displeasure to stay, but you are doing it well. I would actually return, if I were ever to find myself in Powell again, which is a statistical impossibility.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KaVictoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed Here For The Tour De Wyoming. The Rooms Were Clean And The Beds Were Very Comfortable. The Front Desk Person Was Very Helpful. We Had A Little Bit Of A Delay Getting Into Our Room Because They Were Short Some Staff. The Breakfast Was Ok For A Continental Breakfast. The Pool And Jacuzzi Were Clean. Overall A Good Value For The Money During Tourist Season.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quigley82072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Lodge-themed super 8 with generally comfortable rooms. PoolNO ELEVATOR for 2nd floor access. is small. Fridge & microwave in room was nice. We stayed 2 nights- returned after 4 PM to a room that had not been cleaned. Laundry room with a washer that required the desk staff to mess with it to start it. Breakfast was "why bother" with few choices and what there was had not been kept stocked-we went out for breakfast.

Room Tip: No elevator- if you have issues with stairs, ask for a first floor room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msspode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

hallways and stairwells worn and somewhat dirty. There was a dog in the room next to me that barked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Powell
22.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Inn & Suites
18.1 mi away
Western Motel
Western Motel
#2 of 3 in Lovell
3.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Cody Cowboy Village
18.3 mi away
No photo provided
Cattlemen Motel
#1 of 1 in Lovell
4.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
23.1 mi away
Super 8 Cody
Super 8 Cody
#11 of 25 in Cody
4.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Powell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Powell

Address: 845 East Coulter Avenue, Alt 14, 3blks from center town, Powell, WY 82435-0136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Powell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Powell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Powell 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Powell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Powell Hotel Powell
Super Eight Powell
Powell Super 8
Powell Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing