We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy about this place!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Log Cabin Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Log Cabin Motel to your Saves list
The Log Cabin Motel
49 E Magnolia Street, P.O. Box 217, Pinedale, WY 82941   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct for discount
Ranked #2 of 9 Pinedale B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Sturgis, South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Crazy about this place!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the lovely log cabin motel while we were hunting in the pinedale area. The first night i locked myself out of my awesome cabin at 3 am . I thought the manager was gonna really let me have it ringing her bell at that time , but i had no choice but to wake her up . In less then 2 or 3 minutes alma answered the door with a very nice smile telling me it was no problem at all ! Never worry about ringing the bell at night . Thats why shes there is to make sure we have the best service possible here at the log cabin motel. Our room was cleaned everyday and the heat was turned up with a light on in our cabin as we arrived that first night. Alma is always there with a very welcoming smile. Thanks for making our trip this year the best in ten years , even though we struck out hunting. Dont pass up the chance to stay here unless you like paying too much for a chain motel room with rude staff then this is not a place for you. See you again alma for sure! Thank you ! Steve A.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia W, Owner at The Log Cabin Motel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hi Steve, we are so happy to have found Alma, our manager-in-residence. She is on-site to be of service - even in the middle of the night when someone needs assistance like you. We love to hear about it- thanks for taking the time and giving some praise to our manager. Its great to know that our customer's experience is great when staying with us in our small gem out West. We hope to seeing you soon again! Sofia, Forest and Alma - your staff at the Log Cabin Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    21
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
55
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riverton, Wyoming
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times already. Clean, comforable, private, quite and the perfect get away. The owners and employees are always nice, and will do special request as needed. Sometimes wildlife will call around the cabins. Can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia W, Owner at The Log Cabin Motel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Linda, it was great seeing you again with all your family members. How great to share some hunting experiences, and then coming back to cozy and warm cabins for the evening. One of these days you will get your elk. We are sure to seeing you soon again! Sofia and Forest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to stay somewhere connected to the area and The Log Cabin Motel has a lot of history. The full kitchen helped keep our trip on budget. The hospitality was great, we always felt welcomed.

Nicole & Jordan

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia W, Owner at The Log Cabin Motel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Nicole, these historic cabins are true gems of feeling connected to history and Western hospitality. With full kitchens in all larger cabins, guests can enjoy a meal "at home" while taking time with kids and relatives. We look forward welcoming you again when coming to Pinedale and visiting with your son. Sofia and Forest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Found this place whilst on a road trip through the Colorado, Utah and Wyoming and still can't believe our luck.
Very friendly staff and very helpful who were always checking on how we were getting on and if there was anything they could do for us.
Great little cabins that were very well kept and the perfect place for a BBQ which was kindly provided. It's a shame we won't be able to get back there any time soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia W, Owner at The Log Cabin Motel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear friends from the UK, it delights us when Europeans find our western outpost - lovingly cared for since almost 85 years, and with utmost attention to service. Spread the word: Western Wyoming is worth a trip! Kindly, Sofia and Forest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, CO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I spent a lovely one-night stay at the motel earlier this week. We had cabin #1 and it was perfect for us! The bed was comfortable and having the kitchenette was convenient. We walked to both dinner and breakfast and really enjoyed our stay. We look forward to coming back again and will most certainly stay here again. Thanks to Alma for a great welcome and her recommendations for dinner and breakfast.

Room Tip: Cabin #1 is great for a couple or two singles as there is a twin bed as well as a queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia W, Owner at The Log Cabin Motel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Roxie, Our property is the oldest lodging facility in Pinedale, and always has been that since 84 years! To connect to the true Old West while enjoying all modern amenities is allowing our guests to rest, enjoy and experience history right in this moment. Thank you for staying with us - we hope to see you in the near future! Sofia and Forest with Alma, our manager-in-residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemus Point, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

On our way from Bozeman, MT to Denver we chose to stop in Pinedale, WY for the night. We took a chance on the Log Cabin Motel, choosing it rather than the typical chain motel. What a wise decision! We had made the reservation on-line, and were surprised when Alma called us on our cell phone during the day to check on how we were proceeding and to ask if we needed anything once we arrived. When we got there, she cheerfully checked us in and said she'd upgrade us to a larger cabin for no extra cost. After escorting us to the cabin, she let us know she was available 24/7 if we needed anything. Wow! Talk about going above and beyond! The cabin was perfect - nostalgic, clean, quaint, simple, very adequate with two great TVs. Free WiFi was great. All in all, a great experience. We'd definitely recommend the Log Cabin to anyone who doesn't consider themselves motel snobs. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Cabin #3 has a bedroom with attached bath, a queen bed and a single bed. The other room combines a...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling is stressed and requested. GreenLevel gold star practices are evident.
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia W, Owner at The Log Cabin Motel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Dave, It is our policy to personally bring you to your cabin, and, if we have available, to upgrade you into a bigger and more deluxe cabin. We love to wow you, and we are delighted you both enjoyed your stay at the Historic Log Cabin Motel. Thanks for giving Alma a "thumbs up". Be our guest again in the near future. Sofia and Forest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, WY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I live less than 100 miles from Pinedale and had business in town for a couple days. Starting with my call to make reservations Sofia was entirely professional and attentive on the phone. The entire staff is the same. Eager to fulfill most any need someone could want.. For the price it was a bargain My room was PERFECT for one person and even a couple. They have room choices for multiple guests including families. My room had a great bed, bathroom, kitchenette, cable TV and WiFi. Everything I needed for less than you would spend on a room anywhere else in town for the same needs. Plus the whole property including my room and its amenities had the rustic atmosphere that was a very pleasing value to anyone wanting somewhere to stay with a great location. Pinedale is a town that is located in a beautiful region that is striking distance from a wide range of the activities people come here for. A library and a variety of restaurants are within walking distance. Anyone that would complain about something here should maybe be staying somewhere that charges more than double. The Log Cabin has
Value and location. Isn't that what we all want?

Room Tip: The way to get the best room for your needs is to speak with the staff about your requests. They ca...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Log Cabin respects our environment while maintaining their resources by recycling, using biodegradable products, and conservation practices. They preserve this historical property while using and sharing habits that do not compromise the beautiful region that I live in and care for.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia W, Owner at The Log Cabin Motel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Steve, Thank you very much for sharing your experience while staying with us. As all cabins are different in the number of beds and layouts, we do our very best to assign a cabin that meets your needs. We hope to see you again when 'coming up" to Pinedale from neighboring Jackson. Sofia and Forest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Log Cabin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Log Cabin Motel

Address: 49 E Magnolia Street, P.O. Box 217, Pinedale, WY 82941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Pinedale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pinedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Log Cabin Motel is a National Historic Place established in 1929 in downtown Pinedale. With your own private porch and kitchens, these cabins are the perfect place from which to explore lakes, trails, and any outdoor activity, as well as our nice western town. In the off-season, it is a comfortable place for extended stays as the cabin ambience affords our guests the feeling of a home-away-from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Log Cabin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Log Cabin Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.