We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cabin, convenient location to Grand Teton National Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hatchet Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hatchet Resort to your Saves list
Hatchet Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   19980 East Highway 287, Moran, WY 83013   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moran
San Salvador, El Salvador
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice cabin, convenient location to Grand Teton National Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Well furnished cabin with a huge bathroom close to the Grand Tetons. It felt a little far from Yellowstone, but that may be because we were tired, hungry, and it was late and therefore completely deserted and dark outside. A minor complaint is that the management didn't leave the password for the internet, so I knocked on a neighbor's door and got it that way. Our cabin was much more expensive than what we paid just outside the northeastern entrance to Yellowstone in Cooke City, but still much cheaper than anything comparable within the parks.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 28 -- separate bedroom, couch with a trundle bed, mini fridge, and a huge bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    51
    22
    29
    42
See reviews for
61
67
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Reserved two nights, stayed one and they refused to refund anything for the second night, we didn't use. No breakfast included-the prices at the restaurants we out of sight!
9.50 for two eggs. And the waitress from the whetstone added her own 10.00 tip.
Not a good value for the money and poor customer service

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I chose this because it was close to the Grand Tetons and not in a crowded area. The room was nice and clean. The bed was comfortable and there was free WiFi available in the room. No fridge or microwave in the standard room. Limited cable stations. I was tired so I slept like a log. My friend said that the kids in the next room kept her awake all night. Decent for a one-night stay. I felt it was a bit pricey, but probably no more so than any other motel in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

First, resort is a rather grand term when applied to this stop along the side of the road. While there is a certain amount of charm to the place, we found employees generally didn't care about anything. This led to an unsatisfactory experience overall. To be fair one gal who served breakfast was great. The norm was "Yea we know wifi doesn't really work well in the rooms. You can sit out on a bench by the office". Really? Be eaten by mosquitoes and have no place to write? Oh, and the phones don't work in the room either, so you have to walk to the office to communicate the information that will be promptly ignored.

There is a claim by management in a response to a prior review that they installed new mattresses. Giving them the benefit of the doubt, maybe they did. However, the mattresses are 4 inches thick and it seems like the box springs have not been replaced. The beds are not comfortable at all.

A plus is that you are closer to the (Grand Teton) park than if staying in Jackson and its less crowded - since there is nothing within 10 miles of the "resort".

All in all I cannot recommend the facility due to the poor quality of service. If I return to the area, I will be looking for other lodging. I suggest you do the same.

Room Tip: Suites are roomy, but there is no comfortable furniture. Most have a view of the Teton range from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at the Hatchet Resort for a week and will stay there again. Staff could not have been more pleasant. Room was rustic and basic but clean and comfortable. Hatchet has a restaurant, small store and gas pumps along with a trail behind the resort that goes for miles.
Location is close to the National Park entrance. We would highly recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We checked into room 4. The decor was quaint but the room was dark and several bugs in our room were unwelcome. The staff was friendly especially at the restaurants (BBQ brisket was outstanding). There was also a convenient store and gas station. It's a no frills resort and although lodging at the parks south entrance is limited, I would consider all options before booking again.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We recently stayed at The Hatchet Resort for one night. It was a very pleasant and comfortable stay. The scenery and location is superb. I would much rather stay outside of Jackson than right in Jackson, and this location lends itself well to access the National Park. We loved the playground for the little ones. We stayed in the stand alone cabin, which was perfect for our infant. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We ate dinner and breakfast at the resort restaurant and were impressed with both meals. I would definitely recommend the smoked brisket when it is available! Overall we wouldn't hesitate for a second to refer our friends and family for a stay at the Hatchet Resort!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hatchet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatchet Resort

Address: 19980 East Highway 287, Moran, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hatchet Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hatchet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatchet Resort Moran
Hatchet Hotel Moran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatchet Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.