We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean room and convenient location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hatchet Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hatchet Resort to your Saves list
Hatchet Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   19980 East Highway 287, Moran, WY 83013   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moran
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, clean room and convenient location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at the Hatchet Resort for a week and will stay there again. Staff could not have been more pleasant. Room was rustic and basic but clean and comfortable. Hatchet has a restaurant, small store and gas pumps along with a trail behind the resort that goes for miles.
Location is close to the National Park entrance. We would highly recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    51
    22
    29
    42
See reviews for
61
67
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We checked into room 4. The decor was quaint but the room was dark and several bugs in our room were unwelcome. The staff was friendly especially at the restaurants (BBQ brisket was outstanding). There was also a convenient store and gas station. It's a no frills resort and although lodging at the parks south entrance is limited, I would consider all options before booking again.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We recently stayed at The Hatchet Resort for one night. It was a very pleasant and comfortable stay. The scenery and location is superb. I would much rather stay outside of Jackson than right in Jackson, and this location lends itself well to access the National Park. We loved the playground for the little ones. We stayed in the stand alone cabin, which was perfect for our infant. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We ate dinner and breakfast at the resort restaurant and were impressed with both meals. I would definitely recommend the smoked brisket when it is available! Overall we wouldn't hesitate for a second to refer our friends and family for a stay at the Hatchet Resort!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in early June. Traveled with wife and 2 dogs.
The hotel: Was just remodeled this year (2014). Stayed in room 3. Room and property were well taken care of and very cutely done. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel at all. Staff, food, room were all great. Only complaint was with the specific room 3 (budget room). This room is the "corner of the bend" room in the building, and ends up with about 2/3 the room of a smaller motel room. With two dogs, two humans, and 5 days worth of stuff, stuffed is the word to describe it. If it were a normal room, it would have been much better, just to have the additional floor space for the dogs and bags. We made this trip on a last minute whim, so we were thrilled just to be able to get anything at all. Bed was comfy, noise was limited to crickets and wildlife (didn't hear any traffic or either neighbor the whole stay).
The property and what's close by: Property has two restaurants (one for break/lunch, one for dinner), a gas station with minimal inside stock (no bags of ice even). There is a couple of larger looking suites there as well as a small cabin that you can rent daily. Nice grass area for some touch football, or to get the dogs out. We did not visit the restaurant for break/lunch ever, as we were up and off to the parks every day, but we did visit the dinner restaurant twice, and the food was outstanding! Pricing is high, similar to resort pricing, but they have a captive audience and the quality makes you forget all about that. If it is nice out, you can sit outside on the deck and have a beautiful view of the Tetons (and maybe horses and some wildlife) while you eat. The dinner restaurant looks like it was remodeled with the hotel as well, and has a stocked bar. The Forestry Visitors office is right next door, as well as a very small campground. Nice grass area for some touch football, or to get the dogs out. There is a dirt road between the campground and the hotel that goes back about 8 miles. We took a short trip out it, and weren't disappointed. Saw our first moose of the trip not even a mile back from the hotel! Fairly large river back there as well. There is an RV park about 3 miles down the road and a few other ranch properties, and nothing else but beauty! An easy 10 minute commute to the Teton Gate Entrance in Moran. Moran is a convenience store and post office... that's it. There is more in the park than in Moran for amenities. It took us at least a half hour to get through Teton Park to get to Yellowstone. This is the nicest property around, looking at some of the other comparables. We took our ice cooler with us each day for drinks and to reload ice.
I know it's Wyoming in the middle of no where, and the season was just barely starting, but we were really (pleasantly) amazed about the lack of people and traffic except for in the main sites of the parks. City living makes you forget that there is places left this remote and scenic.
We wanted to get away from it all on a whim, and this fit that need perfectly! As limited places were available we booked this, then started looking at what's around it. I got nervous about this place being in the middle of no where, with little to do, but ended up being absolutely perfect, as we went in to it knowing this, and were overly pleased with the place!
Looks like there is no A/C in hotel (heater yes), and no fan, so be prepared for that. We were gone all day, and it was cool in the evenings, so, we had zero issues with this.
I would stay here again, and would recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: Avoid room 3 as it is 2/3's size due to bend in building (still very nice, comfy, and clean). P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our family (of six adult children with spouses and 11 grandkids) had a wonderful experience at Hatchet Resort. The rooms were comfortable, authentic, and the food was excellent. Our family loved the surroundings, amenities, abundant activities available (especially hiking, lake and river floats, horseback riding and fishing) and close proximity to the Grand Daddy of Nat'l Parks. We are planning a 3-4 day stay at Hatchet Resort as our Yellowstone/Teton "Hub" as an annual family vacation/retreat that will become a tradition. It's that good. We travel extensively throughout the world. This place is perfect for connecting with earth's beauty where nature and wildlife entertain you rather than media and thrill rides at amusement parks. Come prepared to relax and slow down, or you'll miss the significance of this place to "resort to".

Room Tip: For parents with 2 -3 children, choose a suite. For two or more adults, choose a room with two quee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had breakfast and lunch at the Grill and dinner at the Whetstone. The service was outstanding and the meals were exceptional. We stayed in one of the suites and found it to be clean and comfortable. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hatchet Resort during the last week of May. We also did a scenic float on the Snake River. We stayed in one of the suites, which had plenty of room, was well docorated and was very comfortable. The food was excellent and the staff was very friendly, even offering some local tips on good fishing in the area. I am planning a return visit in September

Room Tip: The suites are very nice. Ours had a large jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hatchet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatchet Resort

Address: 19980 East Highway 287, Moran, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hatchet Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hatchet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatchet Resort Moran
Hatchet Hotel Moran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatchet Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.