We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hatchet Resort

Save Saved
You added Hatchet Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hatchet Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   19980 East Highway 287, Moran, WY 83013   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Moran
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location & staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We needed a "Dog" friendly place, plus we wanted to be close the Parks. What a find!! Cozy with a mountain feel. The perfect place to sit outside your door and have a glass a wine and chill. Nothing fancy - but hey, you are in Wyoming. I wanted a cabin and got it. Rooms are clean and the place is peaceful. Short drive to the entrance of Grand Teton National Park, then you can drive into Yellowstone Park. Much better then staying in Jackson where it is so busy and a lot of people. The food was very tasty. You need to order to the Pork Chop glazed with wild Huckleberry and great ribs too! Now for the staff: I must say to Sydney .... Thanks so much for your sweet smile everyday! Then there is Gretta, Ron, Josh and the rest of the crew (sorry I don't remember all the names). They would do anything for you. They treat you like family. Thank you to all at The Hatchet Resort for a great time. A home away from home! It would be nice to have a little refrigerator and coffee pot in the rooms but otherwise what a perfect place for a getaway. Have a great summer to everyone at the Hatchet Resort!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    44
    19
    27
    41
See reviews for
51
53
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you are looking for a cozy resort experience, in Teton National Park, consider the Hatchet Resort. A standard room is affordable and decorated like a log cabin with stone tile shower. The Resort includes the usual gift shop and 2 dining rooms for breakfast, lunch and dinner. However the dining areas are decorated with such attention to mountain detail, from the furniture, to the wall hangings, to the fixtures in the bathrooms. I you are expecting the usual "park cuisine" you wil be pleasantly surprised. Josh, the cook, does a great job with the red trout and the Hatchet burger. Everything is seasoned well and includes fresh vegatables that are not overcooked. Many of the the staff are transplants from Mississippi. Ron, Gretta, Josh and Sydney were so warm and welcoming. Josh and Sydney offerred to take us on a hike behind the resort. We stomped around in the mud, in the rain. but had the best time with these happy young people. It's great to be around folks who love their jobs and are so apprciative of the park's magnificent attractions. Thanks, Hatchet, for making our stay a great one!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Overall, the room we got is clean and neat. There are mouse traps behind the night stand and toilet... but didn't see any mouse or creepy crawlers. They have an old TV with no remote control but that's ok. We didn't go there to watch TV. However, the room does NOT have any coffee maker, kettle, microwave or refrigerator.

The Grand Teton National Park is about 10-15miles away from the Moran junction.

The one thing that I loved about this place is the Whetstone restaurant beside the hotel. The Whetstone restaurant served the best trout I've ever had and is very reasonably priced!

The price was ok for ~$110 per night net of the taxes and other fees, but I would have chosen to stay closer to Jackson Hole to get to the Grand Tetons.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We just spent 4 days and nights at the Hatchet. After spending the first afternoon in Jackson we wanted to get away from the people. The Hatchet is perfectly located outside both national parks, which allowed us to get a bunch of hiking in and was a much shorter drive than if we'd of stayed in Jackson. The staff was awesome, we felt like family. The food and bar was killer, if you stay you've got to order the ribs at least one of the nights. We stayed in one of the suites, it was a great cabin style setting. It was larger than I expected and was very comfortable. We'll be going back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Cozy log cabin feel rooms , with nice atmosphere. 2 restaurants on the grounds with good eats. Not to mention the location is just outside of Yellowstone. We enjoyed our stay! If your looking for a quiet comfortable and peaceful place, you will not be disappointed .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This place should be renamed -'The Last Resort' because that is the only reason you would ever want to stay there! We had left it late to book accommodation and needed 2 rooms. The prices were extortionate for the quality and facilities.
Where to start:-
-One person in the reception/gas station/gift shop to deal with guests and other travellers, so you can imagine the wait.
-Accommodation was awful, dirt down the back of the bed, not sure the sheets had been changed from the previous occupant, plus they had holes in that you could read a paper through. Mouse trap in the bathroom, which luckily I did not spot until the next day. no sound proofing from neighbours.
No tea/coffee facilities in the the room, ice available up to 10pm but only by the receptionist getting it for you from a hidden supply (!)
-Old style TV with awful reception - I know I don't go on holiday to watch TV, but it's just another example of the over priced nature of this place.
-Wireless internet extra charge - we didn't bother but we did see the guy next door having to cough up the money before the girl gave him a bit of paper with the code on it.
Only plus point is - great location, but what a waste, needs someone to come in and make it the resort it could be.
Moral of the story - plan and book your accommodation ahead, especially in peak times!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is more like a Motel 6 than a resort. We stayed in a duplex cabin that has paper thin walls, don't let the log look fool you. The room was full of flies and when I talked with the person at the front desk about it, who by the way would not identify himself, said that's the way it is around here. All of the staff we saw smoked behind the restaurants, which of course was near our cabin, so everything smelled of cigarette smoke. This is not the place to go for fresh mountain air. We were switched to a second cabin because the cable connecting theTV fell apart and couldn't be fixed. The second cabin was no better and it was supposed to be the luxury cabin. The water pressure was barely a dribble, the floor in the bathroom was dirty, there was pee residue on the bathtub, and food crumbs on the carpet. Apparently the cleaning staff just pretend they're cleaning. We ate at the restaurant once, found it to be overpriced and many of the selections were not available. This trip was to photograph the wildlife in the Tetons and Yellowstone and I thought it would be a good idea to stay between the two parks, was I wrong! Be prepared for a real "hatchet" job.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hatchet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatchet Resort

Address: 19980 East Highway 287, Moran, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Moran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hatchet Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hatchet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatchet Resort Moran
Hatchet Hotel Moran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatchet Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.