We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Tetons, neat but bare bones room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hatchet Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hatchet Resort to your Saves list
Hatchet Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   19980 East Highway 287, Moran, WY 83013   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moran
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Close to Tetons, neat but bare bones room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Overall, the room we got is clean and neat. There are mouse traps behind the night stand and toilet... but didn't see any mouse or creepy crawlers. They have an old TV with no remote control but that's ok. We didn't go there to watch TV. However, the room does NOT have any coffee maker, kettle, microwave or refrigerator.

The Grand Teton National Park is about 10-15miles away from the Moran junction.

The one thing that I loved about this place is the Whetstone restaurant beside the hotel. The Whetstone restaurant served the best trout I've ever had and is very reasonably priced!

The price was ok for ~$110 per night net of the taxes and other fees, but I would have chosen to stay closer to Jackson Hole to get to the Grand Tetons.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    57
    22
    28
    44
See reviews for
64
70
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We just spent 4 days and nights at the Hatchet. After spending the first afternoon in Jackson we wanted to get away from the people. The Hatchet is perfectly located outside both national parks, which allowed us to get a bunch of hiking in and was a much shorter drive than if we'd of stayed in Jackson. The staff was awesome, we felt like family. The food and bar was killer, if you stay you've got to order the ribs at least one of the nights. We stayed in one of the suites, it was a great cabin style setting. It was larger than I expected and was very comfortable. We'll be going back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Cozy log cabin feel rooms , with nice atmosphere. 2 restaurants on the grounds with good eats. Not to mention the location is just outside of Yellowstone. We enjoyed our stay! If your looking for a quiet comfortable and peaceful place, you will not be disappointed .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This place should be renamed -'The Last Resort' because that is the only reason you would ever want to stay there! We had left it late to book accommodation and needed 2 rooms. The prices were extortionate for the quality and facilities.
Where to start:-
-One person in the reception/gas station/gift shop to deal with guests and other travellers, so you can imagine the wait.
-Accommodation was awful, dirt down the back of the bed, not sure the sheets had been changed from the previous occupant, plus they had holes in that you could read a paper through. Mouse trap in the bathroom, which luckily I did not spot until the next day. no sound proofing from neighbours.
No tea/coffee facilities in the the room, ice available up to 10pm but only by the receptionist getting it for you from a hidden supply (!)
-Old style TV with awful reception - I know I don't go on holiday to watch TV, but it's just another example of the over priced nature of this place.
-Wireless internet extra charge - we didn't bother but we did see the guy next door having to cough up the money before the girl gave him a bit of paper with the code on it.
Only plus point is - great location, but what a waste, needs someone to come in and make it the resort it could be.
Moral of the story - plan and book your accommodation ahead, especially in peak times!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is more like a Motel 6 than a resort. We stayed in a duplex cabin that has paper thin walls, don't let the log look fool you. The room was full of flies and when I talked with the person at the front desk about it, who by the way would not identify himself, said that's the way it is around here. All of the staff we saw smoked behind the restaurants, which of course was near our cabin, so everything smelled of cigarette smoke. This is not the place to go for fresh mountain air. We were switched to a second cabin because the cable connecting theTV fell apart and couldn't be fixed. The second cabin was no better and it was supposed to be the luxury cabin. The water pressure was barely a dribble, the floor in the bathroom was dirty, there was pee residue on the bathtub, and food crumbs on the carpet. Apparently the cleaning staff just pretend they're cleaning. We ate at the restaurant once, found it to be overpriced and many of the selections were not available. This trip was to photograph the wildlife in the Tetons and Yellowstone and I thought it would be a good idea to stay between the two parks, was I wrong! Be prepared for a real "hatchet" job.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We couldn't find any rooms available, so I settled on Hatchett. It's close to Ox Bow Bend, where I wanted to photograph. The room was over $160 and not worth it. The restaurant was over priced as well and the whole place looked like it was struggling to stay afloat. The ice machine was in the hotel kitchen, so I had to walk there every time I needed ice, very inconvenient. Internet was not free--really? For those prices it should have been. I could not recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

On the Plus side: very nicely decorated room. Hatchet Resort is a nice place to stop close to Grand Teton and has all you need: a gas station, a small store and a VERY nice grill (see separate review).

On the Minus side: we couldn't push the heater up beyond 65F and the entrance door had a draft. The whole thing was not very well insulated. Mold smell in the bathroom. The internet was supposed to work in our room but it didn't and we (and all the other guests) were using our laptops over dinner in the restaurant.

Room Tip: This is a log-cabin motel, so I guess most rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hatchet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatchet Resort

Address: 19980 East Highway 287, Moran, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hatchet Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hatchet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatchet Resort Moran
Hatchet Hotel Moran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatchet Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.