We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst place ever- for lots of reasons!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hatchet Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hatchet Resort to your Saves list
Hatchet Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   19980 East Highway 287, Moran, WY 83013   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moran
Hampshire, England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“worst place ever- for lots of reasons!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This place should be renamed -'The Last Resort' because that is the only reason you would ever want to stay there! We had left it late to book accommodation and needed 2 rooms. The prices were extortionate for the quality and facilities.
Where to start:-
-One person in the reception/gas station/gift shop to deal with guests and other travellers, so you can imagine the wait.
-Accommodation was awful, dirt down the back of the bed, not sure the sheets had been changed from the previous occupant, plus they had holes in that you could read a paper through. Mouse trap in the bathroom, which luckily I did not spot until the next day. no sound proofing from neighbours.
No tea/coffee facilities in the the room, ice available up to 10pm but only by the receptionist getting it for you from a hidden supply (!)
-Old style TV with awful reception - I know I don't go on holiday to watch TV, but it's just another example of the over priced nature of this place.
-Wireless internet extra charge - we didn't bother but we did see the guy next door having to cough up the money before the girl gave him a bit of paper with the code on it.
Only plus point is - great location, but what a waste, needs someone to come in and make it the resort it could be.
Moral of the story - plan and book your accommodation ahead, especially in peak times!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    22
    29
    41
See reviews for
60
63
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is more like a Motel 6 than a resort. We stayed in a duplex cabin that has paper thin walls, don't let the log look fool you. The room was full of flies and when I talked with the person at the front desk about it, who by the way would not identify himself, said that's the way it is around here. All of the staff we saw smoked behind the restaurants, which of course was near our cabin, so everything smelled of cigarette smoke. This is not the place to go for fresh mountain air. We were switched to a second cabin because the cable connecting theTV fell apart and couldn't be fixed. The second cabin was no better and it was supposed to be the luxury cabin. The water pressure was barely a dribble, the floor in the bathroom was dirty, there was pee residue on the bathtub, and food crumbs on the carpet. Apparently the cleaning staff just pretend they're cleaning. We ate at the restaurant once, found it to be overpriced and many of the selections were not available. This trip was to photograph the wildlife in the Tetons and Yellowstone and I thought it would be a good idea to stay between the two parks, was I wrong! Be prepared for a real "hatchet" job.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We couldn't find any rooms available, so I settled on Hatchett. It's close to Ox Bow Bend, where I wanted to photograph. The room was over $160 and not worth it. The restaurant was over priced as well and the whole place looked like it was struggling to stay afloat. The ice machine was in the hotel kitchen, so I had to walk there every time I needed ice, very inconvenient. Internet was not free--really? For those prices it should have been. I could not recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

On the Plus side: very nicely decorated room. Hatchet Resort is a nice place to stop close to Grand Teton and has all you need: a gas station, a small store and a VERY nice grill (see separate review).

On the Minus side: we couldn't push the heater up beyond 65F and the entrance door had a draft. The whole thing was not very well insulated. Mold smell in the bathroom. The internet was supposed to work in our room but it didn't and we (and all the other guests) were using our laptops over dinner in the restaurant.

Room Tip: This is a log-cabin motel, so I guess most rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We adored the log cabin and the staff were very friendly and professional. A light bulb had died in our room but the house service was quick and efficient and sorted it out and also gave me an iron as requested, within the hour. Clean and comfy rooms!The atmosphere and surrounding area is truly amazing if you like being in the sticks (which I do.) The food was delish and the breakfast was plentiful and set us up for the day! I had the short stack pancakes with lots of blueberries and maple syrup..yummm! 5 minute drive to the Teton National park and follow that through to reach the South entrance of Yellowstone. This was the highlight stopover of my stay! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you have a larger family, or reunion you might want to stay in the 'osprey House' Detache...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This place is in the middle of nowhere. The room smelled like mold and we had a mouse runninbg around the room all night. The window was broke by one bed and would not even close tight. I would stay away from here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stumbled acrosss the Hatchet Resort by chance. The hotels in Grand Teton were full and they suggested we try them. The rooms were kind of cool, they are made of log and kind of felt like a little cabin. The room we were in was very small, but the front desk warned us before we booked. I would not recommend this room for a long stay, but for the night it was fine. I happened to look at the other room and it was much bigger and had two beds instead of the one. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and the restaurants were good as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hatchet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatchet Resort

Address: 19980 East Highway 287, Moran, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hatchet Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hatchet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatchet Resort Moran
Hatchet Hotel Moran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatchet Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.