We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is over priced for what it is.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hatchet Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hatchet Resort to your Saves list
Hatchet Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   19980 East Highway 287, Moran, WY 83013   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moran
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This place is over priced for what it is.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We couldn't find any rooms available, so I settled on Hatchett. It's close to Ox Bow Bend, where I wanted to photograph. The room was over $160 and not worth it. The restaurant was over priced as well and the whole place looked like it was struggling to stay afloat. The ice machine was in the hotel kitchen, so I had to walk there every time I needed ice, very inconvenient. Internet was not free--really? For those prices it should have been. I could not recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    51
    22
    29
    42
See reviews for
61
67
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

On the Plus side: very nicely decorated room. Hatchet Resort is a nice place to stop close to Grand Teton and has all you need: a gas station, a small store and a VERY nice grill (see separate review).

On the Minus side: we couldn't push the heater up beyond 65F and the entrance door had a draft. The whole thing was not very well insulated. Mold smell in the bathroom. The internet was supposed to work in our room but it didn't and we (and all the other guests) were using our laptops over dinner in the restaurant.

Room Tip: This is a log-cabin motel, so I guess most rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We adored the log cabin and the staff were very friendly and professional. A light bulb had died in our room but the house service was quick and efficient and sorted it out and also gave me an iron as requested, within the hour. Clean and comfy rooms!The atmosphere and surrounding area is truly amazing if you like being in the sticks (which I do.) The food was delish and the breakfast was plentiful and set us up for the day! I had the short stack pancakes with lots of blueberries and maple syrup..yummm! 5 minute drive to the Teton National park and follow that through to reach the South entrance of Yellowstone. This was the highlight stopover of my stay! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you have a larger family, or reunion you might want to stay in the 'osprey House' Detache...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This place is in the middle of nowhere. The room smelled like mold and we had a mouse runninbg around the room all night. The window was broke by one bed and would not even close tight. I would stay away from here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stumbled acrosss the Hatchet Resort by chance. The hotels in Grand Teton were full and they suggested we try them. The rooms were kind of cool, they are made of log and kind of felt like a little cabin. The room we were in was very small, but the front desk warned us before we booked. I would not recommend this room for a long stay, but for the night it was fine. I happened to look at the other room and it was much bigger and had two beds instead of the one. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and the restaurants were good as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

loved staying at the Hatchet. it was very quaint and well kept, very clean. Savannah was awesome on the phone making the reservation and in person at the front desk, she could not have been nicer-she made my experience great. thanks so much for all your help and I really hope think you'd like staying at this resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, In
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

When we arrived at the motel, I walked in and the clerk was in another room, on the phone, with her back to the doorway. I made enough noise coming thru the door that she should have heard me, but she continued talking without any acknowledgement. I went back to the door and told my wife she was on the phone. She came on inside and we purposely slammed the door, thinking the clerk would at least turn around. Then my wife said, "Is anybody here?" Still no response. So we had to stand there until the girl was done talking on the phone.

What do you do? We were tired, we had traveled a long way on our Harley, we were in the boondocks, and mostly we had reserved the room and would have been charged even if we didn't stay there.

So, we shook it off and spent the night in a somewhat antiquated, fairly small room.
And, I don't know if its protocol for the motel, but every light on the property went off after dark; first time in any motel we've ever stayed at. It was a once in a lifetime experience for us.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hatchet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatchet Resort

Address: 19980 East Highway 287, Moran, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hatchet Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hatchet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatchet Resort Moran
Hatchet Hotel Moran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatchet Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.