We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hatchet Resort- Cabins” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hatchet Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hatchet Resort to your Saves list
Hatchet Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   19980 East Highway 287, Moran, WY 83013   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moran
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hatchet Resort- Cabins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in the cabin (we had two queen beds) and thought it was nice. The cabins have the typical "log cabin" feel and were quite spacious. The bathroom was updated with a beautiful grey stone shower and was very clean. My husband felt that the bed was lower at the sides and higher in the middle. He said he felt like he was rolling toward the edge of the bed each night. I would go back to the Hatchet Resort again and recommend it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    64
    26
    32
    47
See reviews for
73
79
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

A friend of my wife and I had their wedding at the Hatchet Resort in July. The hotel took great care of everyone that stayed with them. The Whetstone facility was amazing and a great spot to have the reception. They had rented a tent and placed it on the West side of the property so we had views of the mountains. Ron and the restaurant staff did a great job to ensure everyone was taken care of. On the other end Pat and Savannah at the front desk took care of all of our needs.
The rooms looked a bit dated but they were clean and comfortable. It looks like they updated the bathrooms recently. We had an opportunity to see one of the suites that my sister stayed in and they were much newer and again well maintained.
I would recommend tis property to anyone I know going to the area. Comfortable, friendly, and rustic everything I would look for in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Needed a place to stay on a trip to the Grand Teton National Park.
Place was full, but he had a single room left upstairs. The room was not "ready" but we were shown a couple of pictures. We got the key and went for a trip.
Some hours later we returned and got the first look at our room. And saw what the pics did NOT show: The only clothes hook dangling from a single screw - of course you could use one of the multitude of screws sticking out of the walls. The blankets substituting curtains -fixed in place with pins! The so called closet under the roof, with bare insulation sticking out, ready to make you itch. And the empty beer bottle and -glass lying on a spare pillow in the "closet".
The beds are -well OK. Except that they squeak so much that you wake every time you turn in your sleep. Seriously!!
To round it off, the bath tub is angled so much that you are afraid of falling as you shower -slippery as it gets.
We do not know about the cabins. They look good on paper.....
But if you want to try your luck, be sure to take a good look -especially at the so called "Hostel-rooms" upstairs.
We'd rather stay in Jackson!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at the Hatchet Resort. I had read previous ratings on Tripadvisor recommending that we NOT stay there, but we had already booked and were satisfied with our stay. It was very peaceful, and the walls there were no thinner than at any other motel/hotel. The breakfasts were good, the selection at the bar was very satisfactory, and the employees were helpful and friendly. Our only concern was the very small size of our room which would have fit two hobbits better than two adults. However, it was clean.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting a room with two beds to make sure it's big enough for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We weren't looking for a 5-star hotel, just a comfortable, clean place for the night. We got just what we wanted with a good restaurant to boot! The "cabin" is really just a room, old motel style, but it's comfy and has a really nice shower. The staff was very friendly and accommodating (we had no trouble getting ice at all, contrary to another reviewer). We enjoyed sitting out in the gazebo in the late afternoon before going to dinner in their restaurant which served very good food at a very reasonable price. The next morning we had breakfast with them which was also very good. Got a recommend from us!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights as a home base for our stay in the Grand Tetans. The room was a little too dark and small and gloomy. We did see a mousetrap inside the room, but knowing that one was probably necessary in that region, we never did see a mouse. The only thing I would suggest is to "hide" the mouse trap a little better.

The value was pricey for what we got. We were expecting cabins but the rooms are really like a motel room and not a cabin room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

While taking an eleven day vacation with twelve of my friends on seven motorcycles, one of our many hotels that we stayed at was the Hatchet Resort in Moran, WY. During this trip we had stayed at several hotels and in the eight years of me and my friends traveling around the country in the same manner we found that the Hatchet Resort was by far the worst bang for our buck ever. At $ 185.00 a night there are no in room amenities such as,hair dryers,kleenex,coffee maker,paddle fan or AC. When you need ice, you have to wait until 6:00 pm and get a bucket full at the back door of the kitchen and if you need to do laundry you have to travel a half mile to the RV resort. I recommend that anybody traveling in this area to see the great Teton Mountains or visiting the town of Jackson, stay in town for less money with all standard amenities and no mice traps.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moran
11.5 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#3 of 5 in Grand Teton National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,380 reviews
8.0 mi away
Togwotee Mountain Lodge
15.0 mi away
Colter Bay Village
Colter Bay Village
#5 of 5 in Grand Teton National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
3.4 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
18.5 mi away
Jenny Lake Lodge
Jenny Lake Lodge
#1 of 5 in Grand Teton National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatchet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatchet Resort

Address: 19980 East Highway 287, Moran, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hatchet Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hatchet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatchet Resort Moran
Hatchet Hotel Moran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatchet Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.