We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FALL VISIT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch

Save Saved
You added Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   2 Miles South of South Entrance, Yellowstone National Park, P.O. Box 187, Moran, WY 83013   |  
Hotel amenities
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“FALL VISIT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our vacation plans were to focus on both the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone and we found that the location of Headwaters Lodge to be an ideal location to access both parks. Our four night stay started on September 21st and was easily accessible from the Cody airport. Our room was spacious and well maintained and clean. The front desk personnel was friendly; the wait staff in the restaurant and bar was attentive and friendly despite the fact that they were overwhelmed on two nights with two bus groups. I had one concern and management was more than responsive in addressing it. No television was welcomed by us; but for those who need it, there is a television in the bar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    76
    38
    13
    8
See reviews for
87
57
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed two nights, September 18 - 19, 2012. When we left on September 20th, we accidentally left an envelope on the dresser containing $160. We called them several times about this. The person said that they would "Check with housekeeping." Every time we called we got the same answer. The last time we talked, they said that perhaps the housekeeper thought it was a tip! We told them that it wasn't a tip and that we wanted our money. As you would expect, they "never found it."

Of course I realize that I am to blame for leaving the money, but I would expect that an honest establishment would return the money to us that they had to have found.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed based a Living Social deal which included breakst and a horse ride. Well worth the deal. So glad we didn't stay in Jackson the whole time. This was a great location for exploring Yellowstone as your are minutes from the entrance. Room was decent. Restaurant was Ok, they seemed to be out of a lot of items, I assume because they were soon to close.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spent one night here in an executive cabin. Found the cabin to be impeccably clean and comfortable. Fore warned there is no TV and no A/c. Thought the no a/c would be a problem but left the window open and the temp quickly dropped as the sun set. The next morning the cabin was just 55 degrees inside. We had a cabin at the very back of the complex that was overlooking an open field and we could Here the water flowing in a nearby stream. Did notice the walls of cabins are a little thin and at times could hear our neighbor snooring, but not a major problem. The food and service at the restaurant was very good and I am sorry I didn't try some of the more expensive items, was hesitant that they might not get it right. But now I am convinced that anything they prepare would be quite good. This is a great location to both parks so go and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I had to change reservations from 2 nights to 1 night a few days after I made it, but 10 days before the visit. They changed reservations and refunded the night without any problems.

We stayed in the upgraded cabins at $210 per night. Very nice. Reasonable price for the area. Ideal location! We had excellent dinner and breakfast at the Lodge restaurant. I would love to stay here next visit. I booked through Headwaters Lodge and cabins at Flagg Ranch website. I recommend booking through them as I started to book through another company on the phone until I realized they were adding a 10% fee. Pictures of cabins on website were an accurate representation. The cabins are pretty close together and that isn't shown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A great place to stay, very convenient to both Yellowstone and grand teton parks, accommodations comfortable and restaurant was reasonably priced with very good fare. Staff very friendly and helpful. Look forward to returning when we have more time to spend there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laie, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I spent two nights here in August, 2012. You pay a fair amount for a room here, though not any more than for other comparable rooms in either Yellowstone or Grand Teton National Park. The location between the two parks is the highest selling point of this place, though it has other good aspects depending on what you're hoping for. (Some recreational activities (such as fishing) are ready at hand here.)

I didn't stay in one of the newer, deluxe cabins, but rather in one of the older ones. Still, it was in very good condition, clean, reasonably well-lighted, and comfortable. The gravel parking lot for the cabins is not portioned and marked, so it can sometimes seem a bit disorderly, but still folks seem to make it work. Wifi is spotty at best, though I did get it to work. No cell-phone service, though if you absolutely must talk to someone, you can drive north to Grant Village area where the signal is strong. I didn't eat breakfast or lunch here, only one meal in the evening. The food was good, though not spectacular--about the same as most of the mid-priced restaurants in the two parks.

My primary reason for being in the parks was wildlife and scenery viewing. There are other lodges/cabins that give you more direct access to key locations, but Headwaters Lodge and Cabins puts you in the unique position of being able to venture into either park easily, in addition to giving you access to areas in both parks that are somewhat less well-known and less explored. Beautiful setting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch

Address: 2 Miles South of South Entrance, Yellowstone National Park, P.O. Box 187, Moran, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Specialty lodging in Moran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
92 newly renovated guest cabin rooms, a campground that includes 50 amp RV sites, tent sites, and camper cabins, and a newly renovated restaurant, bar, and coffee bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagg Ranch Hotel Moran
Flagg Ranch Resort Moran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.