We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Signal Mountain - clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Signal Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Signal Mountain Lodge
Save
You added Signal Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Inner Teton Park Road, Moran, WY 83013   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
denver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Signal Mountain - clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

Really enjoyed our stay at Signal Mountain. We were in #157, a one bedroom lower level suite with a fabulous Teton view over the lake.

Our room was clean and sparse - no TV and no internet as advertised. My daughter and I enjoyed our time between hikes playing cards and reading. The lobby building has both TV, Internet, laundry and comfortable space for hanging out. A restaurant, convenience/ gas station were within walking distance as was the ampitheater with nightly national park ranger talks.

We had a small microwave, toaster, 2 burner stove, refrigerator, 4 plates and tableware in the kitchen. This was completely sufficient for our breakfast of bagels and juice purchased at the conv. store.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    205
    35
    23
    8
See reviews for
185
218
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone staying in Grand Teton National Park. We stayed in the 1 room log cabin, with a bath. There is no television in the room, but who needs one when there is so much to do in the park! The room was clean and the bed extremely soft and comfortable. Our only complaint was that when you walked in the room, the windows shook slightly. The cabin floor was raised from the ground on blocks. It definitely has a rustic feel to it, but in a nice way. The lodge is very conscientious when it comes to recycling, and uses "green" lights and soaps/detergents ; the restaurant has an all organic menu. In the main lobby there is a television, games as well as internet for guest use.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Sure the Grand Tetons are beautiful but imagine charging $253 + tax for a room with a view when this room has stains on the carpet, "sag in the middle" beds, mismatched furniture that is masquerading as "authentic" country, laminate counters that are stained and scratched, and an incredibly small bathroom -- not to diss cheap motels but these rooms/cabins wouldn't make the grade in 1 star locales. Don't get trapped, save your money !!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

We try and visit Jackson Hole (specifically the Tetons) every year. We've always stayed at the Jackson Lake Lodge (very nice). Our last trip, June, 2007, we spent part of the 9-day trip at Signal Mountain Lodge, at the base of Signal Mountain. We're going again in three weeks and plan to stay there the entire time. As an added bonus, wildlife abounds on Signal Mountain! If you're into nature photography (as I am), Signal Mountain is a treasure trove! The Lodge boasts a fabulous gift shop.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia,Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

We stayed in a retreat building suite which is the only building on the water and with a clear view of the water and mountains.. The view was "the best" in the Tetons. The room was vanilla. Housekeeping showed up each day after 3, just when we were napping. The two restarants were above average. This Lodge is pricey but compared to the others around, it was low. We paid about $275 per night for a one bedroom suite. No television and a steep climb down to the pristine and lovely Jackson Lake below our room. Older people may have a problem with this. Dogs are allowed on the first level. We were on the second level which was premium. We arrive a week after they opened (mid May)so snow covered the mountains and part of the lake was frozen still, no tours and few tourist and 29 at night. Probably we went too early. The smaller cabins looked rustic and basic, with no view.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

Stayed August 2008, Our cabin was quite comfortable, love the views to the mountains,great fishing by the Jackson Lake dam,very laid back atmosphere, loved the food at the Grille, nachos dont order a large portion unless you are super hungry, Blackberry margaritas are yummy,great micro brew selectionsat the bar, try them all I did, very peaceful taking a canoe around JL.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delavan, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

We spent three nights here with our 20 year old daughter as part of an extended trip to a number of national parks. Though Grand Teton was sandwiched in between the Grand Canyon and Yellowstone, the stay here was perhaps the highlight of the trip.

We had a two-bedroom cabin along a circle of cabins about 100 yards from the lake. Even though there were some buildings between us and the lake, we still had an excellent view. There was no shared communal space within the cabin, but the spacious front porch provided all that we needed in the warm summer.

The furniture was appropriately designed for the cabin, neither luxurous nor spartan. Beds were comfortable and clean, as was the bath/shower. The restaurant at the lodge was a little pricey, but everything in this part of the country was a little pricey.

The best part of staying here was the location. Not only was the view from our cabin porch excellent, but if you are willing to walk a few steps down to the beach I believe Signal Mountain to have the best views of any of the lodging in the park -- including the big fancy window in the Mural Room at Jackson Lake Lodge.

Signal Mountain was a convenient place from which to explore the rest of the park as well. We took a guided raft trip down the river with the pick up in our own parking lot. Within less than a 10 minute drive we could be at numerous overlooks, hiking trails, or other points of interest.. For our family this was the perfect spot, and the only place I will consider when we return to Gran Tetons.

P.S. For those who are considering staying at the Gran Tetons and trying to day trip into Yellowstone, don't do it. It's a beautiful and easy drive, but much longer than you might think. You won't really get to see either park by commuting between the two. If you have to make a choice, for scenery pick the Tetons and for wildlife pick Yellowstone.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Signal Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Signal Mountain Lodge

Address: Inner Teton Park Road, Moran, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Moran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Signal Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging, restaurants, bar, gift shops, marina, general store and campground in the heart of Grand Teton National park on the shores of Jackson Lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Signal Mountain Hotel Moran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Signal Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.