We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprising disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Cavalryman Steakhouse

The Cavalryman Steakhouse
4425 South 3rd Street, At Old Fort Sanders, Laramie, WY 82070 (Formerly Cavalryman Supper Club)
307-745-5551
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 97 Restaurants in Laramie
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Cavalryman Steakhouse is located on the grounds of historic Fort Sanders, established in July of 1866. In its heyday, the Fort Sanders Military Reservation protected the Overland and Lodgepole Creek emigrant routes, the Denver-Salt Lake City stage route, and the construction crews for the Union Pacific Railroad. Ruins of the fort’s powder keg are visible just southwest of the restaurant’s main building. The Cavalryman building was constructed in 1925 to serve as the clubhouse for the local country club. Just to the east, remnants of the nine-hole golf course can still be found.
Lramie
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a surprising disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I'm a Laramie-ite, though have lived in Cheyenne for 13 years; upon returning to Laramie, I remembered the
Cavalryman as a pleasant-atmosphere place. That was true in this visit last evening with my 87-year-old mother.
It is decorated nicely, and the animal heads are Wyoming, which I love. The ambience is nice as well, lighting, etc.
But as the only couple in the place (first ones in at 4:20 PM) we had to wait forever for food; after my mother was
told regarding a side, that mushrooms would also be a side after the free "starter" mushrooms, they never arrived. There was no bread, the meat on my steak kebab was very rare, and the salads were done by someone who does
not understand salad even remotely. Both my mother's and my salad were DRENCHED, sopping wet (appearing like a plate of garbage) with Ranch dressing -- only my mother requested Ranch dressing. The lettuce wilted and
drowning in dressing, 4 paper-thin pieces of apple arranged on the side of the salad. NOT apple Parmesan salad at all. Upon requesting the meat be well-done, it was brought with apologies.......but with a menu that does not even list prices -- like all fine restaurants always seem to follow --- we deserved a lot more than what we got for over $70. In short, the ambience and decorations were nice, though the wooden dividers need to be MUCH more stable ---- and the wait staff was nice, but the food incredibly over-priced and much of it terrible.

On another occasion -- the last time I was at the Cavalryman -- I had a mixed drink from a glass that still had Clorox flavor on the rim, and became very ill, unable to eat my dinner at all after finally finding the restroom. Whoever had re-designed it had a nice brainstorm. Now the food and its presentation must match the menu, the ambience, and the surroundings. I will never got back there, unfortunately......back when I was in high school it was the only place to go, unless you went to the Little Bear Inn outside of Cheyenne (reminiscing about the 70's)-----it could be so very much better, with very little effort: good kitchen help and careful food preparation. --L.K. Smith

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cavalryman_II, Owner at The Cavalryman Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We're very sorry that you had a poor experience. You're correct in that we didn't have our food consistency at an acceptable level during your visit. While we've been able to correct the ambiance, the menu, the pricing, and the food ingredient quality, we're now getting the systems in place to insure that our food is good every time. We'd love to invite you back so you can see our better side!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    3
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rawlins, Wyoming
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went on Cavalryman for surprise anniversary dinner. Never been here before. Service was pretty good; it wasn't particularly busy when we went. Appetizers were great. French onion soup was decent as well. I must admit the steak was a bit average for a steakhouse; wasn't blown away. The dessert was also very good. Recommend getting the Officer dinner if you're really peckish, you won't go away hungry. I'd give it 5 stars, but the steak keeps me from doing. Overall I'd come back and eat here again no question.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cavalryman_II, Manager at The Cavalryman Steakhouse, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks for coming out and giving us a try! Glad you enjoyed the food, we think we have the kinks nearly worked out, with the food coming out excellent.

As part of our new menu, we run "blow back your hair" high quality local and regional steaks, as well as more affordable standard steaks. Not sure which you purchased, but we're guessing it was one of the latter. If you get a chance, come try the Gold Canyon or local grass fed cuts, or our slow roasted prime rib - it's to die for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quite disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had eaten here 2 years ago when it was topnotch. This time we arrived for our 6:30 reservation and waited at least 20 minutes before we could order some wine. The wine was the best part of the evening - very good at a reasonable price. We were first told that there were only 4 orders of the prime rib left. Then, another 20 minutes after we had placed our orders, we were told there were only a couple of trout left. Then we were told there was no more of the first listed ribeye but that they would give us the higher quality ribeye at the same price. This ribeye was tough and overcooked. At 8:30 we still had not been served our main course. This was a huge and expensive disappointment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cavalryman_II, Manager at The Cavalryman Steakhouse, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We're a bit confused by your post.

Two years ago the restaurant was struggling heavily. The service and food now are much better and quite consistent.

Also, as there were only two of you, we're not sure why having 4 prime rib or 2 trout (both of which are prepared on a limited availability basis each night) would matter. Of course, we were out of the smaller, cheaper ribeye, but that happens occasionally in a steakhouse that carries a large number of cuts like we do (12 and counting!).

Regardless, we've investigated your complaints and apologize for your apparently subpar experience. The server advises that she took your orders for wine immediately, and that you were happy to receive the (larger, more expensive) ribeye. It sounds like it may have been overcooked by our grill cook - if so, again we apologize and hope you give us another shot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner; recent improvements”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have eaten here a few times, over the past 20 years. I think they struggled with a temporary identity problem a few years ago, but our most recent visits have been very satisfactory, especially since a change in ownership.
They offer excellent beef & steak dinners, and also some more expensive premium "natural" choices. Our table chose the "regular" beef choices of prime rib, rib-eye steak, and sirloin steak....they were all excellent, and done exactly as requested.
You would feel comfortable coming in dressed casually, but would not feel overdressed if going out for a special evening.
Good, friendly service.
This is on a historic site, and there are antique pictures of the place on the wall, including a photo of Ulysses Grant visiting the locale in the late 1860's. The building itself was not built until the 1920's, I believe, but it was part of a military outpost.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cavalryman_II, Manager at The Cavalryman Steakhouse, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thanks for coming in again. We're pleased that we're meeting your expectations!

We do offer very affordable prime rib ($16 for 8 oz), ribeye ($18) and sirloin ($13) in addition to our traditional steak sandwich ($12). Glad that you found the quality acceptable.

Regarding the property's history, the building was built in 1925 as the clubhouse of the original Laramie Country Club. You can still see the pro shop (the low building to the southeast), which served golfers heading out to the 9-hole prairie course with sand "greens"! It served in that capacity until 1961, when the new country club was opened west of town. The restaurant opened in 1970 and has been going ever since.

Of course, the restaurant property is located on a portion of Fort Sanders, which operated from 1861 to 1882. The ruins of the fort's powder keg (armory) are at the southwest corner of our property. Just down the slide rise from there you can see two indentations on the side of the creek bed that were the fort's ice houses.

Look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The old Cavalryman is back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The service was absolutely terrific. The food was all great and there was so much that we even brought home a piece of steak for breakfast. Definitely recomend eating there. Once again Laramie has a good steakhouse!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cavalryman_II, Manager at The Cavalryman Steakhouse, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thanks for the kind review! We certainly feel that we're making progress, and are working to make the place better than it's ever been.

Look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cavalryman Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Cavalryman Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cavalryman Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.