We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality food, friendly and intimate setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luciano's

Luciano's
3626 E. Grand Avenue, Laramie, WY 82070
307-742-9790
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 97 Restaurants in Laramie
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Excellent new restaurant in Laramie, which has traditionally been a difficult town for those looking for good, simple, delicious food.
Restaurant details
Description: Excellent new restaurant in Laramie, which has traditionally been a difficult town for those looking for good, simple, delicious food.
Laramie, Wyoming, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“quality food, friendly and intimate setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

A classy little restaurant with an interesting view of the railroad yard in downtown Laramie and patio dining during the summer. I usually attend Sunday brunch regularly. It's an all you can eat buffet with omelettes and crepes custom prepared. In addition to the usual breakfast fare, they'll also offer spaghetti and lasagna (my personal favorite). There is nothing pre-packaged like little boxes of cereal or yogurt containers-- it's all made fresh onsite. You can even go with healthy foods, such as a wide variety of cut up fruit and standard salad. Best of all, the service is first rate and friendly. The restaurant is family-owned and the family is very generous with regular customers. As someone who eats alone on Sunday mornings, it's nice not to get the standoffish corporate "professional" treatment, where they treat you like a generic stranger. They treat you more like a wealthy, honored guest, much like a 5 star hotel would. It's slightly more expensive than what you'd pay for hotel brunch food, but for about fifteen dollars it's a tremendous value and you'll have a great time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    6
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dinner was delicious, atmosphere was like a bar.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The two of us decided to have a nice dinner since the kids all had other things going on. I've been wanting to try Luciano's since moving to town.
Good:
- The food was delicious, we ordered Gnocchi and the Seafood Ravioli.
- The warm bread before the meal was wonderful, I wanted to take some home with me.
- I suggest the Red Pepper Vinaigrette salad dressing, YUM!
- Our server was prompt, polite, and attentive but not looming.
- Pricing was not bad at all, and they have smaller servings on the back of the menu.

Bad:
- Wine selection was disappointing
- The place is small, and they have piled in as many tables as possible. If you don't mind feeling like you are eating dinner with the strangers at the next table over, you won't mind. I prefer to not have someones butt slide across my table when they get up and down from their seat at the table beside me
- The bright track lighting made me feel like I was under interrogation during my entire meal. Something to difuse the light or some decorative lighting could be installed and create a warmer more intimate feel
- The room had a "bar" feel to it. Customers and other servers talked at top volume, many tables (looked like a group who had all been together) finished their meals and then stood gathered around several other tables talking loudly for a very long time after they were done eating. It created a very uncomfortable setting through out most of our meal.

Will I go back? Without a doubt! The food and service are worth it. But I will go early, or on a very slow night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Good food, service and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Classic Italian dishes, some with just a bit of difference (eggplant parmesan presented with a crunch on the side of the plate, not buried and soaked in marinara sauce). The gnocchi carbonara was especially tasty; we ordered a half order for as an appetizer for the table and wished for more. One of our guests had a food allergy and the chef was kind enough to omit onions form two classic dishes just for him and his wfe.

Wonderful place in September; I imagine it is a blessing in the long months of a Wyoming winter.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch is Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Sunday brunch was very good even though I generally don't like breakfast buffets very much. The selection was excellent lots of different breakfast choices, pasta and meat choices, as well as an omelet and crepe station. And the price was very reasonable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Loved the seafood ravioli...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband ordered the chicken parm and did not like the chicken or the sauce...at all. Excellent service. Awesome balsamic vinegar (and oil) served with the bread. Dinner salad was good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luciano's also viewed

 

Been to Luciano's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luciano's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.