We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wyoming Territorial Prison” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyoming Territorial Prison State Historic Site

Wyoming Territorial Prison State Historic Site
975 Snowy Range Rd, Laramie, WY
+1 307-745-3733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 30 things to do in Laramie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wyoming Territorial Prison State Historic Site has an incredibly rich history. Run as a federal (territorial) and state prison from 1872 to 1903, it then became the Agricultural Experiment Station for the University of Wyoming after the State Prison relocated to Rawlins. The site is now operated as a Historic Site by the State of Wyoming.
Georgetown, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wyoming Territorial Prison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a fairly small, but well restored prison. We enjoyed being given ID cards for some of the former prisoners, and looking for their photos and write-ups in the cell areas. My husband was assigned Butch Cassidy! Since we only had 1 1/2 hours until closing time, a visit to this small museum was an ideal choice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    51
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
“Interesting Interpretive History about 1800's Prison Life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This well-maintained 1872 Wyoming Territorial Prison is well worth the $5 and time it takes to tour it. We took the self-guided tour following the information provided on their map. Also spread throughout the main prison building were many former inmates bio's, photos and history of incarceration. I particularly enjoyed reading about Butch Cassidy's stay. Besides the men and women inmate's cellblock areas there's also the warden's quarters, prison kitchen, diningroom, laundry, bathrooms and even the courtroom where the prisoner being tried was held in a small round cell hanging out over a deep stairwell till he was called into court to testify.

There are several other buildings on the grounds used as work areas where inmates made shoes, candles and very nice wooden furniture. The most interesting was the prison broom factory. There was an elder gentleman dressed in an authentic striped 1800's prison uniform demonstrating the machines used to make old fashioned 'corn' brooms (which are sold as souvenirs). He gave a very informative as well as funny interpretive dissertation of his life as an inmate.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were driving through Wyoming on our way back from Illinois to the West Coast. Came upon a road sign with this attraction and decided to give it a visit. My teenage daughter and I LOVE IT. The history lessons and reading about the different inmates and Butch Cassidy was once a prisoner there was interesting. Great staff and we took our time going around on a self-guided tour. Highly recommend that you check it out especially if you have children as the historical values of a place like far outweighs what a text book can provide.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Lake, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice road side stop, wish we would have stopped sooner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We've driven by this place a lot, we stopped on a slow, drizzly day, but there was a show going on in the horse theater which was excellent!! If you get a chance to see any show here do it!! The staff was very helpful, especially the gentleman in the broom factory! We ended up buying a broom which was made the same way that they used to be by the prisoners. Take the time to read all the plaques! Will be back again!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lots of history in one place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I totally enjoyed the experience of touring the Wyoming Territorial Prison and Old West Park. At this time, the ranch area of the exhibit is not open, but the prison itself, including the warden's home and the "work" area where the prisoners made brooms, candles, shoes and other items is available to walk through. The buildings have been beautifully maintained on their exteriors, and the interiors have been re-done. The prison itself has been amazingly documented throughout, and there are many photos and stories of former inmates --- including the infamous Robert Leroy Parker, AKA Butch Cassidy. There is a very nice information center and gift shop as well. Our group spent about 2 1/2 hours and could have stayed longer. The cost is only $5 --- and whatever you find in that really nice gift shop!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wyoming Territorial Prison State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Wyoming Territorial Prison State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyoming Territorial Prison State Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.