We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Laramie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Laramie to your Saves list
Ramada Laramie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2313 Soldier Springs Road, Laramie, WY 82070   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Laramie
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a dump!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Do not stay here. Sleep in your car. Can't believe the place is even in business and if I had not already booked (and paid for) this place on http://Hotels.com I would have kept driving when I pulled into the parking lot. Potholes? Do they have earthquakes in Wyoming? The sidewalk and parking lot looked like they had been hit with a 7.8 on the Richter scale. Broken windows and doors. The first room they gave me was full of dog hair and (perhaps) human hair as well. When I asked for a room that a dog had not been in I was told that the entire hotel was "dog friendly" and "dog week" had just occurred.

My second room had no dog hair, but reeked of dog. The comforters were stained, there was mold on the shower ceiling and the curtains were filthy. I slept on top of my bed in all my clothes and a hoodie over my head and left first thing in the morning. No way was I sticking around for the "free breakfast" (can you imagine!?). No, I drove 90 miles at 90 mph to Rawlins and had an Egg McMuffin!

Ramada should be ashamed to have their name associated with this property. As Bette Davis said, "What a dump."

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    29
    42
    70
    91
See reviews for
109
42
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Check-in was quick and friendly. The check-in person helped us find a nice, local restaurant called The Chuckwagon. It was close to the inn, and the food was very tasty.

The inn reminded me of an old-fashioned motor inn, the type you pull your car up to the door for. It was a cheap stay, so I can't complain about the inn itself. I let the desk clerk know when I was checking out in the morning that the hot water faucet in the shower came off when I tried to twist it. Wallpaper was coming off on one side of the room. The carpeting was decent, and the bed was okay. There was an indoor pool, which we did not get around to using. I found it kind of amazing that they served us a complete breakfast at the price they charged us. We used a highway motel coupon booklet and paid $44 for the room. Using a highway motel coupon is the best way to get a room if you are in an area that is not busy and will allow you that walk-in rate.

While in Laramie, please be sure to drive up on the Medicine Bow highway to the top of the mountain. The scenery is spectacular, and there are some hiking trails.

Room Tip: Always use a motel coupon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

This facility is old, run down and to describe the shower would cause most people nightmares! Ants in bed (yes sorry to say), and the door had at some point been kicked in. PLEASE save yourself the misery we endured (from necessity) and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

First the negatives: it's right next to train tracks and the trains go by frequently during the night. Even the kids woke up 3 times from the trains! When I got in the shower I got just under two minutes of warm water! Its older and rundown. Kind of shabby.

On a positive note, their breakfast was a warm breakfast and alright. The kids were happy with it! Its convenient to I-80 so easy on and off on our cross country trek.
The staff were friendly too. It was cheap...you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

First off, I can see why other travelers were turned off by this Ramada. The indoor areas are nice, but the outdoor areas are actually kind of disgusting-looking, with cracked sidewalks, spiderwebs in the corners, etc. The vending area near my corridor had only a sad looking guest washing machine and a not-so-inviting-looking ice machine. It looks as though all of the rooms open onto outdoor corridors, which is not so great. The parking lot is in bad shape (lots of bumps and potholes) in the areas away from the front of the hotel, and getting into rooms on those sides of the hotel is rather inconvenient.

That being said, the inside of the room, the pool area, and the breakfast area (as well as the breakfast) were quite nice. I just didn't like walking across the courtyard to get to the pool, especially since some of the guests who have pets didn't appear to have cleaned up very well after them (there were little smashed piles of poop near the edges of the walkway). The pool area was really quite pretty, although the hot tub was out-of-order.

You'll read descriptions of breakfast that will either say "continental" or "hot" - it's a hot, but meatless, breakfast. There was a self-serve waffle iron, as well as chafing dishes full of scrambled eggs, hash browns (pre-formed triangles of fried potatoes, really, almost like you'd get at McDonald's), biscuits, and gravy, plus the standard things you'd find at a regular continental breakfast bar. The hot food was quite tasty, but the chafing dishes didn't really keep them "hot," more like just a bit warmer than lukewarm.

The night desk clerk, Cole, is a scream - very nice, very funny, and very engaging.

Some of the staff (who shall remain nameless so they don't get in trouble) said that they themselves did not understand why the owners didn't put some money into upgrading the property so it didn't look so disgusting on the outside, because, according to these staff members, "the owners HAVE the money." But until they put a little effort into cleaning up the exteriors and repairing sidewalks and making the vending areas more inviting, this property will continue to get lousy reviews.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

This is the worst hotel I have stayed at in the last 30 years. The room was pretty clean but the maintenance has been delayed for many years. The chairs had holes in the upholstery and there was mold where the ceiling touches the walls. The wallpaper was falling off the walls in the restroom and the ceiling was bubbled all over. The hot water faucet in the shower was close to falling off. Outside of the building was even worse. Crumbling sidewalks has not even had the crumble picked up. The "lawn" was a 6 inch tall patch of nicely blooming dandeloions richly fertilized by dog potties that had apparently not been cleaned up for months.. We were afraid to accept their free breakfast. Beware!

Room Tip: dont' stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

The front loby is very dirty along with the rooms. The rooms smell like mold & mildew. The pool and hot tub is always broken. Black widows in the rooms. That is no joke my husband got bit by one. We did not stay once this all happened within 15 min in the room. We got in late and the bar tender was working the front desk and the bar. He was ver rude. I can't believe they are still open. There are alot better hotels to stay in Laramie. The Hilto was very nice. We told them about our experience and they said everyone that comes here from there always says something bad about the ramada. It's not newly remodeled.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Laramie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Laramie

Address: 2313 Soldier Springs Road, Laramie, WY 82070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Laramie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Laramie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Laramie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Laramie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laramie Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Laramie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.