We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs Up in Lander” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cowfish

Cowfish
148 Main St., Lander, WY 82520
307-332-8227
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cowfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 24 restaurants in Lander
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st
Description: Located inside a historic and beautifully restored 100 year old brick building, Cowfish offers a fun and lively atmosphere paired with excellent food and knowledgeable service. Our menu features hand cut steaks, local grass fed burgers, fresh fish and our innovative pastas and salads. All our beers are brewed on site by the Lander Brewing Co. Its popular lineup of refreshing, made from scratch microbrews includes beers that have won awards at the Great American Beer festival, the World Beer Cup and other competitions. Enjoy a romantic dinner in our candlelit dining room or a more casual dining experience in our pub. In the summer, we offer the added attraction of dining on our outdoor patio under a trellis of wild Cascade hops.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Thumbs Up in Lander”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

In small town Lander, this is the spot. It's nice to see good restaurants and brew pubs springing up in smaller towns. The food is well prepared and the beer is just great. It's local and we just love that. We sit Outdoors whenever possible. The restaurant is located in an old restored building on the main drag. The interior reminds me of places in Bolder or other collage towns. This is not larger city great food, but it is good and the feel is better than those in larger cities, good job cowfish.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    67
    36
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The best place in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Cowfish is one of those pleasant surprises as you don't expect a restaurant of its quality in such a small town as Lander. The other surprise was their beer brewing operation in a bar attached to the restaurant: the Lander Brewing Co. Like many small brew pubs they list a dozen or so different beers but just serve about 5 or 6 at a time. I ordered a porter but the waiter came back and told me the brewmaster was unhappy with the latest batch and suggested I try something else, which I did and it was very good. Our party of 5 ordered fish, beef and pasta dishes, all of which were very good with the Buffalo Lasagna being in the excellent category. We would also recommend the Southwest Eggrolls as an appetizer. Be sure and read about how they got their name. Finally, wait staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, FL
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Ok, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We tried the Cowfish for two reasons--it's was recommended by friends, and it was nearly the only restaurant open the night we were in Lander. It was somewhat disappointing. The entres we had--salmon and something we can't even remember, and we're foodies--were adequate for a remote town with limited restaurant options, but they wouldn't have impressed in an urban area. The beer selection, though, was impressive, and both craft brews we had were excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a great dinner in Lander as we traveled cross country. Waiter was lovely (he was from Baltimore, I think) and food was fresh and delicious. Salads, ribs and flank steak Perhaps the best chocolate mousse I have ever had for dessert!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Nice restaurant with pleasant service, good, quality food, and nice surroundings. A nice surprise in Lander.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowfish also viewed

 

Been to Cowfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cowfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.