We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sinks Canyon State Park

Sinks Canyon State Park
3079 Sinks Canyon Road, Lander, WY 82520
307-332-3077
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Lander
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Sinks Canyon was a great little surprise. Only a 10 minute drive from where we stayed with pretty walks and scenery. It's well worth a visit. We took the loop road over the mountain and followed the unpaved routes. Some pretty fishing and boating lakes and picnic spots there. Ideal for all sorts of travellers really.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    23
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lander, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One side of the canyon burned”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Sinks Canyon State Park just suffered from a fire that burned much of the south facing slopes of the canyon. The north facing slopes were not involved. Initially this may cause some to avoid visiting the area, but that would be a mistake. All the visitor facilities (visitor center, the sinks, the rise, campgrounds, etc.), are all intact and will re-open. The trails along the river were not impacted by the fire. Visiting the canyon now is a great opportunity to see the impact of wildland fires, marvel at the efforts to control them and watch natural forces at work. It will be fascinating to watch the burned areas regenerate over the next couple of years.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
111 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Small but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

After all the grandeur of Yellowstone and the scenic overlooks on the drive into Lander, it was nice to have a small park to readjust your geologic scale to human again. The river disappears into the rocks at the bottom of a short trail and then reappears about a half mile later....up hill. There is a pond at this inflow and maybe two hundred trout make this there home. No fishing so you can see trout the size of Buicks below you. For a quarter you can feed them. Nothing grand and glorious but a nice quiet relaxing place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubois, Wyoming
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“camping overnight for little league”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We recently camped in sinks Canyon state park or a baseball game we attended or two days. The park was well maintained and the staff were attentive and helpful. its beauty says a mouthful you deinatly don't want to miss this opportunity I you in the area. I have a 11 year old son and a 10 year old son who just loved the park their favorite was feeding the large trout from the ledge. the hikes we went on were on very well kept trails and just spectacular the amount o rushing waters in sinks canyon is awe inspiring -- a definite must see!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sinks Canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Beautiful area, we also did the loop drive that takes you around the Mountian and stopped at South Pass City to see the old mining town and had a picnic along the way. The loop does take couple hours to drive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sinks Canyon State Park also viewed

 

Been to Sinks Canyon State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sinks Canyon State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.