We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Spur Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Spur Motel to your Saves list
Silver Spur Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1240 W. Main Street, Lander, WY 82520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lander
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in the motel in a double bed room unit with my Mother-in-law. We were passing through to Yellowstone. The room was clean, comfortable and functional. No complaints. I'll stay here on our next trip through Lander.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    5
    0
    10
See reviews for
8
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed at the Silver Spur Motel over the 4th of July holiday 2012. I was traveling East after a trip though Jackson Hole and had heard good things about Lander's 4th of July festivities. The staff was very helpful in guiding me to fun things to do around town. The building and room were well kept and very clean and the balcony out front was a great place to relax. My room was air condioned ( I hate having to stay in a hot room) and the bed and bedding smelled fresh and clean. Finally, my kids LOVED the pool and swam for hours. The pool was clean and in great condition. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovell, Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I recieve an extra chatge on my credit card in addition to room fees.
This fees were to convert my american money convert to their choice of currency at my expense.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Spur Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to notify us of your issue while staying at our property. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfactory. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible..

I do apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occured during your stay. Please understand at NO time do we EVER charge a currency exchange rate fee. This is unheard of since we do business in the American dollar. I do however, invite you to please give me a call so we can resolve this issue at hand and find a solution for anything that was misinterpreted.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for any misunderstanding during your stay and we hope to accomodate you in the future.

Sincerely
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The Silver Spur in Lander, WY is an older property that is well-maintained and clean. Nice, non-chain motel where you can park in front of your room. One of my main determinants of a good place is the quality (size, thickness, softness, etc) of the bath towels. This place wins that criteria in spades -- a most pleasant surprise! The room had a fridge and micro in addition to a coffee maker. It has everything you need and does it at a very reasonable price. This place is a terrific value. Plus Tootie at registration was very personable and helpful. (And she's not a cronie!! <lol>)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

When traveling, my husband and I like to stay at Mom and Pop motels, we prefer a "warm welcoming" than the cheap smiles you get at a national chain. It is always risk doing this, but Silver Spur did not disappoint. We were greeted by a man at the front desk who was very helpful by providing us a map to navigate thru town and all the local restaurants that he liked. When we got to our room, it was a bit cold but once we turned on the heater it warmed in a few minutes. The only thing I needed was a few extra towels, because I like to dry my hair. I rang the front desk and within a few minutes the clerk gave me my towels, and asked if there was anything else I may needed. I didn't but this type of service made my day after the long drive we had.The motel wast very clean and quiet, it was quite fitting and I will come again!!

Room Tip: *I think every room has one, but make sure you ask for a room with a fridge and a microwave!! Very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Most incredibly unprofessional display of service I have ever seen. Returned after dinner to a broken lock on our door and informed management who attempted to open the door and realized the lock was broken. After a few minutes of trying to open the door he left and told me to continue trying to open the door. He then returned with a butter knife a few minutes later and continued trying to break in. After this not working for ten minutes he then contracted the help of two of his cronies who ended up drilling out the door as me and my girlfriend stood in freezing cold weather for at least twenty minutes. No mention throughout this whole process of any kind of refund or putting us in a room that didn't have a drilled out lock. Do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverspur_11, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Spur Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
I would like to apologize for the experience you had with our hotel. It is the policy of the hotel to ensure every guest is comfortable and satisfied. The cleanliness & security of the hotel is our top priority and is always being improved. I do want to strenously apologize for the misfortune of your stay and the problems that occured during it. I invite you back to the Silver Spur Motel in hopes to rectify our mistakes. Please accept 25% off your next stay with in hopes to accomodate you in the future.

Thank you
Jhan Zeb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We like independents and places where we can park outside the door. The staff was friendly and attentive, our room was clean and comfortable. Small spray area on the shower head but the water pressure was very good. The TV remote was missing the back (batteries held in with tape) so you had to hold it just right to make it work. Yes, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Spur Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Spur Motel

Address: 1240 W. Main Street, Lander, WY 82520
Location: United States > Wyoming > Lander
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Spur Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small hotel, with 25 rooms, is located in Lander, Wyoming.Telephone: 307-332-5189 Rooms: 25 Floors: 2 Check Out Time: 11:00 am In Rooms: Free WIFI, Free In-Room Coffee, Air-Conditioned. Balconies/Patio. Cable TV. Outdoor Pool Other Info: Exterior Room Entrance. Pets Allowed. Non-Smoking Rooms. Smoking Rooms. Self Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Silver Spur Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Spur Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.