We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My very favorite place on Earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budges' Slide Lake Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Budges' Slide Lake Cabins
Save
You added Budges' Slide Lake Cabins to your Saves list
Near Grand Teton Park, P.O. Box 4, Kelly, WY 83011   |  
Hotel amenities
Jackson,WY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My very favorite place on Earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

My family and I have been staying at Budge's cabins for 14 years and never want to leave at the end of our stay! The location is absolutely breathtaking and the cabins are as perfect as a lake cabin can get!
We have been in all four cabins and the Taylor Cottage and all are equally amazing! The property has so much to offer and we love that Danny and Jane keep the landscaping "untouched"...that is what the Gros Ventre is all about...simple beauty!! Staying at Budge's Slide Lake Cabins is the best choice you could ever make when visiting GTNP/Jackson Hole! I highly recommend this little piece of heaven to everyone!
Enjoy your stay! :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Becker, MN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

After spending the first four nights of our family vacation in Red Lodge, MT while we toured Yellowstone, we were excited to see what our cottage on the lake in WY would be like. When I booked our stay, I debated over the newer looking cabins vs. the remodeled cottage. We spend most of our summers camping, so I figured the more isolated, rustic cottage with a view of the Tetons would fit us just fine.

We had a long day on the road and after picking up some groceries in Jackson, we didn't arrive at our cottage until dusk. The view of the Tetons from the cottage is beautiful, but the cabin and the yard -- not so much. We arrived to a yard full of knee-high dandelions. Even the walkway from the deck to the fire pit was covered with dandelions. I'm all for rustic, but at this price I would expect the lawn to be somewhat taken care of. At the very least, they could leave a weed whip in the garage so guests can take care of the lawn themselves. It was kind of a turnoff to have to place your lawn chair in a pile of dandelions next to the fire pit with such a beautiful view.

The cottage is nicely remodeled, but could use a few additional updates. Most of the windows in the cottage do not lock, and quite a few are missing window treatments. As isolated as you feel in the cottage, locking windows and window treatments might be comforting to most. The sheer curtain directly above the bed in the master bedroom just doesn't do it. The moonlight shining through the bedroom window was not condusive to a good nights sleep.

Each time we drove past the cabins, I wish I would have chosen one of them instead. The last three nights of our vacation were very disappointing. We were happy to get on the road and head for home.

Likes: View, Serenity
Dislikes: Knee-high dandelions, lack of window locks and window treatments

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We booked Taylor Cottage over 8 months ago and we just got back from our amazing vacation! What a great spot! Off the beaten path but we had a wonderful view of the Tetons from the living room of this charming cottage. Plenty of room for a large family... only 3 of us so we only used two of the three bedrooms. Fully furnished with comfortable sofas, chairs and beds... oh and an awesome remodeled kitchen. Very secluded with a view of the Lower Slide lake from everywhere in the cabin. I highly recommended this cottage. The only two draw backs...it's a little far from Jackson (above 40 minutes) and the last stretch of the road to the cabin is rough. But those are small in comparison with what you get staying here. If you are looking for peace... it's here.. if you are looking for a view.. it's here. We stayed five days and are already trying to decide when to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox River Grove, IL
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

We spent three nights at Budge's cabin #4. The cabin is beautiful inside, fully furnished as described on their web site. The Budges were very helpful as well. The cabins are definitely secluded, which is a pro or con, depending on your perspective. I was a bit creeped-out the first night with how alone it seemed. There is a landline phone which is reassuring (my cell had no signal). My only disappointment is that, though it is on the lake, it is difficult to see the lake because of plants/trees along the shore. I had anticipated sitting on the porch and looking out at the water, but at least from cabin #4, you see the water sort of through the trees. We stayed at the cabin for 3 quiet days in the middle of our vacation to sleep, read & relax & it was perfect. The cabin would also make a fine base for visitng Grand Teton Natl. Park. It would be pretty far for Yellowstone, though. There is also easy access to Jackson for groceries, restaurants & activities.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed 5 nights in cabin 2, returned home today and my husband is ready to plan another trip there. The cabins are in a beautiful private setting. Our cabin had a large stone patio and stone steps down to the lake. The loft was a huge bonus space, we used it to watch movies and play card games with the teenagers every night. The loft ceiling is pretty low and if you have small kids , the steps up were pretty steep. The kitchen was equipped with everything you could need, washer and dryer, there was even a gas grill on the patio. There was a table full of maps and brochures for us which was nice.

It was about a 20 minute drive into Jackson, but like the rest of the reviewers mentioned...loads of wildlife along the road and it is a very easy drive - no steep mountain roads. There is a a short gravel road to the cabins, we were in a minivan and it was fine. Most of it was along the antelope flats. We hiked in the Jenny Lake area several times and I think it was actually quicker for us to get there using back roads than what it would have been if we stayed in Jackson.

We were originally booked to stay in the cottage across the lake, but after seeing the cabins decided we would rather stay in a cabin. Jane Budge was very nice about letting us switch. The cottage was fine and maybe even bigger than the cabin with a huge usable front yard. Our tastes just run towards cabins with lofts and stone, while other people will appreciate the claw foot tub, etc. of the cottage.

We made our reservation just a few weeks before our trip. I honestly believe that if the Budges had more information on the internet (prices, availability calendar, etc.) that it would have been much more difficult getting a reservation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

It's a bit of a drive to Slide Lake, part of which is on a gravel road, but if you want peace and quiet, Budges' Slide Lake cabins are just what the doctor ordered! The cabins themselves have everything you could possibly need and the most comfortable beds of our 16-day trip this summer. Complete with washer and dryer, full kitchen and plenty of extra towels and blankets, it is a spacious, comfortable place to stay while in the Tetons.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We stayed in cabin # 1 and what a perfect spot. Everything we needed was there and so clean. We had a lake view and saw lots of animals.

This is a wonderful place Thanks to Jane and her husband for a great stay,

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budges' Slide Lake Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budges' Slide Lake Cabins

Address: Near Grand Teton Park, P.O. Box 4, Kelly, WY 83011
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Kelly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kelly
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Budges` Slide Lake Cabins Hotel Kelly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budges' Slide Lake Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.