We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fall Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dave Hansen Whitewater and Scenic River Trips

Dave Hansen Whitewater and Scenic River Trips
225 W Broadway, Jackson, WY 83001
307-733-6295
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$70*
and up
Ranked #14 of 98 Activities in Jackson
Type: Water sports, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For over forty years Dave Hansen Whitewater has guided happy customers down the beautiful scenic and thrilling whitewater sections of the Snake River. Decades ago, Dave named the two biggest rapids, Lunchcounter and Big Kahuna, and we have been owned and operated by river guides ever since. The home of the 8-man raft and continuous scenic/whitewater combo trips, we offer the most friendly, personalized trips on the river. We’ll get you paddling, get you laughing, and get you wet!
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Fall Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

After Labor Day White-Water Rafting trip....would recommend this time of year for trip on the Snake River. It is beautiful, yet exciting when you hit the rapids. The folks at Dave Hansen are all very friendly and knowledgeable. We did the 8-man raft and had a great time with our guide Jeff, who navigated us down the river while pointing out some of the sights. We also enjoyed our bus ride with Don, who pointed out some interesting things as we traveled to the river. Be sure and bring a towel and a dry change of clothes. Even if you ride in a wet suit (which is available for a small rental charge and which I heartily recommend), you will get wet and need to change after the ride. I also would bring a hairbrush! There are many rafting choices when you are in Jackson, but I would definitely choose Dave Hansen. They made it fun and safe...all at the same time!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    17
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“WHAT A GREAT RIDE DOWN THE SNAKE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

When you're in JACKSON, take everybody for a great ride down the SNAKE RIVER .. ..

We took both the SCENIC & WHITEWATER and saw almost as much on the WHITEWATER .. .. And be prepared to get wet .. ..

GET YOUR WETSUIT .. .. It doesn't matter how warm it is, once you get wet and the wind starts howling down the valley, you'll be so thankful for the wetsuit and booties .. ..

A great chance to get wet in WYO and fun for everyone > Even my 88YO mum loved it!!

And, don't pass up the chance at the ultimate bragging rights - The BLUE BAND! Ask your guide how to earn yours .. ..

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

They picked us up from our hotel for no additional cost! Our guide Jeff was informative and great at spotting bald eagles and osprey. Although the rafting portion was disappointing, because the lower than normal amount of snow in the winter resulted in very few rapids, our 12 year old son really enjoyed "riding the bull". He sat on the very front of the raft while we went through a set of rapids. A fun time he won't forget.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south surrey, bc
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

excellent river guides, boatmen/women Lily and Ian took our family of 5 on a 21 mile tour - excellent knowledge of the area, outstanding fun on the river, opportunities for all to learn to row as well as paddle, to swim - more than just white water; safe and top notch equipment that is clean and obviously well-cared for. Highly recommend this trip for any family group. The scenic tour is perfect for any and all - maybe a bit low -impact for active teens (we had 2 with us!), and the white water - would have run it twice if we'd had the time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruit Heights, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Finding some whitewater.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We went on the 8 man raft wih Hunter as our guide. He figured out early that we weren't looking for a leisurely float down the river and did his best to take us right into the best rapids. Our son loved it! Even with the low river flow for the time of year, we still managed to get wet and have a great time. We always felt safe but a little on the edge. Other rafts with the same company seemed to stay a bit drier, but I don't think they had as much fun as we did.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dave Hansen Whitewater and Scenic River Trips also viewed

 
 

Been to Dave Hansen Whitewater and Scenic River Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dave Hansen Whitewater and Scenic River Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.