We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved Lodge at Jackson Hole is still a good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Jackson Hole

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Jackson Hole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Jackson Hole
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   80 Scott Lane, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Improved Lodge at Jackson Hole is still a good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Lodge at Jackson Hole (the former Best Western) describes itself as a 'mini-suite hotel'. That means that each room is larger than normal and has space for a sofa which can be turned into an extra bed. In addition to a larger than average room the bathroom was larger than normal. The shower, with both a rotating shower head and a 'rainforest' style shower head, can easily be used by two or even three at a time.

The hotel is modern but was built in a 'rustic' timber frame design. It is located on a quiet side street about two miles from downtown Jackson. There is free bus service from in front of the hotel to downtown Jackson every 30 min. (this is the public bus). There are also three computers in a hall near the lobby which can be used to access the internet (no charge). Free Wi-Fi is also available

The rooms were clean and well maintained. Since my last visit to this hotel the entire interior of the hotel, including all of the rooms, has been remodeled. The rooms are now decorated in 'Western' style with 'heavy' wood trim in dark colors and with lots of Indian (American Indian) artwork. All of the beds have been replaced with 'pillow top' style beds. The beds are rather high off the floor and I found them to be a bit soft.

A buffet breakfast is included in the price of the room. The breakfast had the same menu every day. In addition to cold cereal, bagels, toast, fruit and juice there were several hot dishes including eggs. There is no lunch service at the hotel and very limited food service for dinner so plan to go out to eat. There are four or five good places to eat within a block or two of the hotel including one next door which offers many dishes made from deer, elk, etc.

During the winter there is free bus service to/from the Jackson Hole ski slope twice in the morning and twice in the evening. The trip takes about 20 min. each way. Otherwise you can take the public bus from in front of the hotel to the ski slope for $3 per person each way. Lockers for ski/board storage are provided at no cost.

In addition, the hotel now offers free transfers to/from the Jackson Hole airport. The trip takes about 20 min. each way. One needs to call a day or two before arrival with flight information to arrange for a pickup at the airport. Someone from the hotel will have a sign with your name on it for identification. You also need to sign up the day before you leave for the airport (or give them your flight information for both arrival and departing flights when you arrange for your airport pickup).

For Jackson this hotel is a good value (Jackson is a very expensive town to visit or to live in). The only downside of the hotel, since my last visit, is the recent addition if a ‘resort fee’ to cover the upgrade of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaniLodge, General Manager at The Lodge at Jackson Hole, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
What a great review! Thank you so much for sharing information about all of our new amenities and upgrades. What great pictures as well. We can't wait to have you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    94
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
132
157
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

First, the bad: one feature that caused me to choose the hotel was the fireplace in the room. You flip the switch and it's just a tiny blue flame. However, that little blue flame will *really* warm the room up!

Also, the bed was super hard. I guess that's OK if you like a firm bed...but of you don't then be forewarned! I ended up sleeping on the couch the second night. That was fine by me because I was in front of the tiny blue flame that put out a lot of heat.

Everything else about this place was really nice. The room had a super nice atmosphere complete with the largest flat screen TV I've ever seen in any hotel room. The shower was oversized and nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

This was the best hotel of our trip. Check in was smooth and the room was gorgeous. Plenty of room and nothing but top notch features. We went to the pool which the kids loved. Very nice and empty except for another family who we ended up talking to for quite awhile. He was working in town doing construction so he and my husband talked for an hour (my husband works commercial construction).

The hotel is very nice and we will Definetly be back the next time we are in the area. Breakfast was good but crowded with lots of rude French. I have no issues with foreigners except when they are rude.

Overall, excellent stay! A little pricey but this must be expected here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaniLodge, General Manager at The Lodge at Jackson Hole, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks so much for telling everyone how much you enjoyed your stay. We love our pool/hot tub area and find it's great for families and skiers alike! Hope that you can come back to Jackson and Lodge sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

a really good hotel with excellent staff on the front desk they could not do enough for us after our baggage was lost by the airline. Our room was very clean and well appionted the beds and pillows were very good, we got a good nights sleep every night.
The buffet breakfast was ok and plenty of it could have been a bit hotter in the warming containers.
The only thing that I can think of to make the stay better for skiers is the rooms need a coat rail to hang all the ski gear up as there is not enough space in the wardrobe

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaniLodge, General Manager at The Lodge at Jackson Hole, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we could help with your lost luggage! And thank you for the suggestion about needing a place for gear. We are thinking about how that might be possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The Lodge is the ideal ski resort hotel: relaxing, confortable and close to everything in Jackson thanks to free public transportation !
The Lodge is located right in front of a bus stop. The bus will lead you in the heart of Jackson in 3 minutes. For free! For 3$ you can ride the city bus to Teton Village where Jackson Hole awaits you.
You can also wlk to the drug store (2 mins) or to a great mexican restaurant Pica's (5 minutes).
Great full breakfast, clean big rooms, free wifi, gaz fireplace in the room.
The hotel is freshly renovated and it shows.
Can't go wrong here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaniLodge, General Manager at The Lodge at Jackson Hole, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks so much for the sharing your thoughts about your recent stay! We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Jackson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have been traveling to JH, WY for many years. This year our trip was later than planned and we could not afford to stay in Teton Village. I was very pleasantly surprised when I found The Lodge. After reading the comments before I booked the trip, I had high hopes and wasn't let down. The king bed/fireplace room is perfect. The breakfast and refrig/micro in the room saved money during our 7 day trip. The biggest perk is the airport transportation and IF available, the hotel van that will take you around town. Much appreciated at night after dinner. You just have to be patient if they are out with other guests. We look forward to returning and hope they continue the quality of service and housekeeping.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is our 2 nd time back.. Wow! The remodel was beautiful.. Our room was beautiful and cozy. We had to get the fireplace.. Its gas now.I liked it better when they had the logs.. It was more expensive this year.. I may find another place to stay next year.. Honestly we were not in the room enough.I would have liked to of had the xtra money I paid for the room to ski and snow mobile more.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaniLodge, General Manager at The Lodge at Jackson Hole, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We are so glad that you choose to return to our property and enjoyed your stay again. We miss the logs for the fireplaces as well but unfortunately there were considered a fire hazard so all of the remaining fireplaces are now gas. Our renovated rooms are magnificent and we have upgraded our hotel and room amenities as well. All in all, we realize our rates have increased somewhat but most find that the overall value is substantial! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Jackson Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Jackson Hole

Address: 80 Scott Lane, Jackson, WY 83001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Jackson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Jackson
#3 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Jackson Hole 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Jackson Hole unveiled a complete renovation in the Fall of 2012. Come experience the area's newest and most luxurious accommodations offering generous amenities, stylish rustic decor and unsurpassed comfort. Each mini suite beckons guests to unwind with presidential double pillow top mattresses dressed with plush linens and accents and a spacious sitting area outfitted with a queen sleeper sofa. The spacious bathroom features granite countertops, double vanity and Molton Brown bath products. After a day of outdoor adventure in Jackson Hole, we invite you to relax and experience the best in technology with a 52" LCD LED 3D television and Blu-ray player, iHome alarm clock and a large desk with a built-in electronic hub, ideal for recreational and business travelers alike. Hotel amenities include a new lounge & patio serving innovative cocktails and family friendly cuisine, a newly designed indoor/outdoor pool, hot tub and sauna, and a state-of-the art fitness center. The Lodge offers a complimentary gourmet buffet breakfast to guests each morning. Make use of the courtesy car (upon availability 7am-11pm)or the free local town shuttle that makes regular stops out front for quick trips into town. Dining and shopping galore are located nearby. The Lodge at Jackson Hole is centrally located near Grand Teton & Yellowstone National Parks, Jackson Hole Mountain Resort and the great Snake River. Nearby recreational activities include fishing, whitewater rafting, hunting, sightseeing, hiking, biking, skiing, snowmobiling and horseback riding. Relax in luxurious accommodations after an exciting day of exploring beautiful Jackson at the Lodge at Jackson Hole! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Lodge at Jackson Hole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Lodge At Jackson Hole Hotel Jackson
Jackson Best Western
Jackson Hole Wy
Jackson Hole Best Western
The Lodge At Jackson Hole WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Jackson Hole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.