We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need a clean, nice, reasonable priced place near Tetons, this is it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Refuge Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Elk Refuge Inn to your Saves list
Elk Refuge Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 N Hwy 89, Po Box 12769, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Denver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Need a clean, nice, reasonable priced place near Tetons, this is it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

After four days in a tent my family of four, with kids 10 and 8, really needed a bed. We had room 101 which had two king beds, a sleeper sofa, nice bathroom, fridge and microwave. There was no noticeable highway noise that we heard. Beds were very comfortable, great linens, soft comforter with a duvet cover. Room was spacious & clean, free wi fi. All we were looking for. For those on a budget, or as a one or two night launching spot for Tetons, this is a good place. No frills and right on the main drag, but close to park and Jackson main street. People at desk very nice. I would stay again.

Room Tip: I know 101 is great, two kings and a sleeper sofa so for a family, try to get this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    44
    20
    10
    10
See reviews for
35
43
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

After a wonderful trip to Bryce, Zion, Teton & Yellowstone NPs, we had an early morning flight out of JAC.
Elk Refuge Inn was about a 20 min drive, and very convenient to the JAC .
Got to walk around in the charming little town of Jackson - nice shopping and choice of restaurants in town.
Facilities were adequate and clean. Staff helpful.
No elevators to second floor.The outside (side door) supposed to be locked and be opened only with room key-was open all night-a bit of security concern (perhaps only a big city dweller's concern)!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

After YSNP we wanted to see Grand Teton NP and we need a place for the night. We checked in late, there was no staff, but the room key was packed and kept ready. We wanted to stay in a lodge rather than a hotel, sure it did not disappoint us. +You can park your car right in front of your door. The Kitchenette was very useful. Luckily we did not have any issues like the other traveler did with mice. We just stayed only a week apart, may be the mgmt did something to get rid of them. Overall, nice experience at the tip of Grand Teton!

Room Tip: Though the lower level has nothing to block the view, do ask for the upper level, we really liked it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

(Checked-in May 16th, 2014 and checked out May 17th, 2014)
My wife, myself and my mother-in-law stayed here (Elk Refuge Inn) while traveling to Mount Rushmore. While sleeping, a mouse got into our food bag and the next morning while packing, my wife and I notice crumbs and bits of shredded trash next to the bag. We were both puzzled and wondered what it was from. We had no idea where it came from. We left for Casper, WY and decided to stop along the way for a snack. As we opened the food bag you could see a small mouse had eaten a hole into the bag then got into our bag of almonds and also our bag of chocolate. We then figured out where the crumbs and shredded pieces of trash came from. (photos attached)

When we arrived in our room it was (no lie) around 90º and my mother-in-law's room was like ice cold. We finally got our roomed cooled down by opening all the windows and turning on the fan/AC. Both, my wife and I got hot SEVERAL (4) times during the night that we had to get up...turn the noisy (no wonder why we didn't hear the mouse in our bags) A/C back on......then got cold.....then hot...etc. TERRIBLE NIGHT OF SLEEP!

My mother-in-law had the same "no"-temperature control issue as we did.

Room Tip: If you stay here bring your own mouse trap! I would will NEVER stay here again nor recommend this pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Depending on the time of year that you go, you can pay $69.00 per night or $199 per night. The hotel is quaint and clean. The rooms are quite spacious.

The location of the hotel is across from the so called "ELK Refuge" which is in fact a Elk hunting zone so do not expect to see Elk across the street from the lodge. Also the lodge is a little outside of the main business district so you have to drive everywhere for Breakfast, lunch and dinner, unless you want to use the microwave in the room.
At $69 per night the room is good value, at $199 it is over priced but that is what the tourist going rate is during certain seasons, so be prepared for this.

As a stopping point for The Tetons, the Barns and other scenic points it is well located, but being on the main highway the traffic noise on the highway can get loud.

The staff are pleasant and helpful, and the morning coffee that they offer definitely is a plus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here one night as it was very reasonably priced. It is an older motel and if you expect a 5 star hotel this is not for you. The front desk clerk was a nice young man who let us into our room a little early so we could get out and enjoy the sites. The room was older but has been very well maintained. It was exquisitely clean!! The attention to detail was obvious with the way the room was appointed with neatly folded towels and the soaps, etc. If you expect a 5 star resort hotel for a 1 star price you are fooling yourself. But don't hesitate to stay here if you want a good value that is a well maintained older property.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We just stayed for one night... The beds/pillows were neatly maintained. The room looked artistic with some nice wall paintings. Amenities (TV, coffee, restroom) were good. The hotel is very close to Grand Teton National Park and the city of Jackson, WY. The hotel environment was peaceful. We did a late night check-in and we were given clear instructions about the process of collecting the room key.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elk Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Refuge Inn

Address: 1755 N Hwy 89, Po Box 12769, Jackson, WY 83001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk Refuge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elk Refuge Inn is a wonderful, economical choice for the traveler looking for a quiet, scenic and affordable stay in Jackson, Wyoming. Just 1 mile from downtown and overlooking the National Elk Refuge, the Elk Refuge Inn provides great views, great service, and convenience all at a reasonable cost. Perfect for those looking for all that Jackson has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Elk Refuge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Refuge Hotel Jackson
Elk Refuge Inn Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Refuge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.