We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice, convenient place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kudar Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kudar Motel
Save
You added Kudar Motel to your Saves list
260 N Cache Dr, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Salt Lake City, UT
Top Contributor
388 reviews 388 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
375 helpful votes 375 helpful votes
“A nice, convenient place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

We stayed in one of their cabins and found it to be everything we needed. We were pleased to find both a fridge and a microwave in the room. The motel isn't new but is well kept up. Our only complaint is something beyond the control of the motel. They are located next door to a public parking lot. The city cleans that lot each morning at about 7 AM with a very loud machine. If you plan on sleeping later than that, ask for a cabin that is away from that lot.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    37
    27
    11
    6
See reviews for
31
38
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

I love Kudars! not fancy, but guess what...we only sleep there. We go to Jackson for the beauty of the area and town. Spend little time in the room. This time we stayed in the attached rooms to the office. worked great for us, king size bed, fridge and microwave. Clean bedding and towels each day. $85/night, can't beat it in Jackson. $169.00 across the street! I can buy a lot of shampoo and breakfasts with that! We enjoyed our stay. Parking lot was full each night with really nice vehicles. and the no vacancy sign was on 3 of 5 nights we were there. With the savings in hotel bills, I bought a couple of really nice jewelry pieces in town. Thanks Kudars

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

I also recently stayed in cabin #16. After reading previous reviews, I was surprised to read "So much potential's" review. That person wrote just about verbatim what I was
going to write. So many things were wrong with the room that I made a list before I left. In addition to what "So much potential" wrote, the paneled walls that also probably date back to the 50's or 60's were void of even ONE picture! Of all the beautiful scenery in the area, I would have thought that at least one Teton-related picture would have had a place on a wall. Also, with the obvious electrical outlet danger and also the fact that there was no chain lock on the door, I did not feel safe in the room. I woke up shortly after falling asleep to a noise that sounded like someone trying to enter my cabin. I did not sleep well that night. At $100/night I expected to at least have a room with a phone in it. Curiously enough, there was a phone book!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We also stayed in #16, and were a little put off by several things at the Kudar. The cabin we received was actually not a single but a double, connected to another room. I would recommend requesting a single when booking, as we were awoken two mornings out of three by the residents next door, who were not being particularly loud. We could hear EVERY WORD of their conversations, as well as the programs playing on their TV. There was also a peculiar smell in the cabin, as if they sprayed air freshener to mask another, more suspect, smell. Yes, it was definitely dusty, very rustic, and had dangerous looking outlets.
On the bright side, it was in a GREAT location (try "The Merry Piglets" a Mexican cantina just a block away!), we had a lovely picnic on the lawn, and the rate was reasonable. I might stay again, if I could choose the cabin.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpinionatedTourist
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

The only thing the Kudar Motel has is potential. It is in an outstanding location just 2 blocks from the town square and the grounds are a shady quiet sanctuary tucked away from the street. The good things end there. We stayed in cabin #16. Upon entry, I noticed no light fixture on a single light bulb over a sink that is circa 1950. The bathroom was small, dirty and there was no shampoo. The room didn't look like it had been dusted in weeks and there was a hole in one of the bedspreads. We actually got a laugh out of a sign that was on the door saying "Wake-up calls available upon request," because there was no phone in the room. Not sure how that would work. Finally, the air conditioner, and the sconces over the beds were plugged into a 3-way splitter into an antiquated electrical outlet. Not a very safe arrangement in an outlet that is likely barely meeting code.

The other good thing was that we only paid $100 in a very expensive town. In any other place that cabin wouldn't have gotten $50. My advice to the Kudar's is to spend some money renovating their cabins, and charge 20 or 30 bucks more. They would still be on the low end of price in Jackson and would have a gem in a top-notch location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

My family has been coming to Jackson, Wy since 1965 and I have always wanted to stay "in town" to get the town feel; we always stay out in the Park-Grand Teton Nat Park...my sister stayed with Kudar years ago during an emergency and they treated her well. We managed to get a friday and saturday night with only a week or two notice and had a wonderful time staying in an old log cabin, complete with shower, microwave and refrigerator. What more could you want? The setting is park-like, with large trees to shade you, and picnic tables, and very laid back. Yes the interior is a bit old, but it's not the Hilton, it's a cabin in jackson, so enjoy it! I will definitely come back and stay, many times, and we are already making plans for the next trip to GTNP and kudars!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

In short, they should paint the rooms, change the colors, change the carpets and this would be a prime location.

Bed is confortable, car is right in front ur room.
It's basic, doesn't smell very nice, front desk is friendly, the summary is that it costs 85$, it's maybe worth 50$ but the location is brilliant, everything is within minutes and its small.

They would benefit from a refurbishment although we could stay there again

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kudar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kudar Motel

Address: 260 N Cache Dr, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Kudar Motel Jackson Hole, WY
Kudar Hotel Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kudar Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.