We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven On Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flat Creek Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flat Creek Ranch
Save Saved
You added Flat Creek Ranch to your Saves list
Upper Flat Creek Rd, Jackson, WY 83002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Bryant, Alabama
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Heaven On Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have been on some great vacations in my day, but Flat Creek Ranch makes them all seem like background noise. My girlfriend and I were guests this past September, the last week of the season, and we could not have been more pleased. The willingness of the staff to meet your every desire was unparalleled. Trey and Shelby are wonderful people and hosts, and I truly hope that I get to see them again, maybe in Argentina. Joe and Marcia tell the story of the ranch with such detail and enthusiasm that you actually feel like you are a part of the ranch's history. The chef's Eric and Seth are masters of their craft. The gourmet meals and the family atmosphere that surrounded the dining room table made each meal a warm and memorable experience. The beauty of landscape is unequaled, the fishing was great, the hiking was invigorating, and the nights were filled with quiet moments and stargazing. This is a must do experience for anyone that is a lover of the outdoors. Recalling the experience of Flat Creek in such detail is making me long for that gentle rapping at my chamber door that came with the sunrise. What a wonderful place!!

Room Tip: The Cal Cabin was not the biggest, but the balcony was more secluded and closer to the creek than an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Joe and Marcia have created or more appropriately preserved an amazing place for anyone to love and hate to leave...As comfortable as an old shoe, but feels as luxurious as ever. Blue ribbon treatment of every guest makes anyone feel like family. People on the staff like Erik the chef, and Trea and Shelby are all talented and friendly, and one can discuss the world view, or the valley view. A true wilderness experience as this place is surrounded by protected and wild land.

Trea is a gifted teacher and angler and his patience will allow any level to excell with a fly rod. Shelby has that special touch with horses (and people). Erik loves to discuss his amazing recipes, and if you meet him walking along the lake join him for a warm conversation. Your humble proprietors Joe and Marcia will not tell you of their world travels and rich experiences unless you ask.

The sometimes slight morning fog over the lake, crystal waters with groups of large Cutthroat trout, crisp air and dense native vegatation all speak to a place that has been handled gently to retain its pristine character. Raise a pair of the resident Leica binoculars sitting on the shelf in the guest area to check the progress of the eagle nest across the lake.

Our stay was a unique outdoor experience with the comforts of home. My wife and I cannot say enough about the quality of Flat Creek Ranch. No surprises except how accurate all of the Trip Advisor glowing reviews are. I will add images of a couple of paintings done from our stay and my memory of Flat Creek Lake which will linger for some time. Thanks- Kim & Janice

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Staying at Flat Creek Ranch is a truly wonderful experience; we are certain because we have been there 3 times in the last 8 years! It is difficult to share one of your favorite places on earth, but the ranch, its owners, managers, staff and cooks deserve the accolades.

Marcia Kunst and Joe Albright are warm and welcoming proprietors. Former journalists and authors, they are intelligent, witty and can be counted upon for spirited conversation around the dinner table. As there are but 5 cabins, the atmosphere is intimate and warm; and laughter abounds. Preceded by wine and hors d’oeuvres, the evening hours are a great time to wind down your day of riding, hiking and fishing, and to prepare for yet another good day.

Shelby and Trey Scharp are managers of the ranch and delightful hosts. The efficiency, thoroughness and friendliness of the staff are a reflection of their personalities: smart, engaging and great senses of humor. As a former rodeo rider, Shelby also leads most of the horseback riding, and enlightens your experience with expert tips and her great knowledge of the backcountry. Trey is a five-star fishing guide. Much of what we know about fly-fishing we learned from Trey on the wonderful Flat Creek filled with native cutthroats and brookies – he’s simply a great teacher.

Coffee brought to your cabin before you roll out of bed is a great way to start the day, with three square meals to look forward to. Our chefs, Eric and Seth, created meals so good that we have returned home with some great new recipes. We promise that the extra few pounds you gain will dissolve in several weeks.
Nestled in the Gros Ventre Mountains across Jackson Hole from the Tetons, Flat Creek Ranch is, in our opinion, the top resort in the West. We recommend it highly. Enjoy!

John and Sandra

Room Tip: All cabins are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We returned to Flat Creek Ranch in August 2012 and once again had a great time. The pristine wilderness, rustic cabins and fantastic staff make this our preferred vacation destination. I cannot say enough about how great the staff are at Flat Creek Ranch. Everyone makes you feel welcome and this is the place to go to rediscover how great life is without all of the technology.

Room Tip: We have stayed in Cal Cabin both times and prefer this cabin for its seclusion. The other cabins ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for four nights in early September. The staff and owners were extremely helpful and friendly. They worked very hard and stayed behind the scenes to make sure our trip was completely enjoyable. Fishing was great; eight other guests were enjoyable mealtime companions; cabin was large, clean and comfortable; food was excellent! An incredible experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I spent four days at the ranch. The views were stunning, the host and staff were gracious and friendly, the food was amazing and the other guest were a pleasure to be around. A vacation that is truly worth experiencing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Refurbished log cabins are delightful. Great scenery and fly fishing. Friendly and professional staff. Very interesting family history to this special place. Enjoyed the horse ride and thought the food and wine were very good. Easy reach from Jackson and feels far removed from touristy Jackson.

Room Tip: All cabins appear excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flat Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flat Creek Ranch

Address: Upper Flat Creek Rd, Jackson, WY 83002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flat Creek Ranch - Your own private wilderness retreat ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flat Creek Ranch Hotel Jackson
Flat Creek Hotel
Flat Creek Ranch Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flat Creek Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.