We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded western ranch cabins” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flat Creek Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flat Creek Ranch
Save
You added Flat Creek Ranch to your Saves list
Upper Flat Creek Rd, Jackson, WY 83002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 off room rate
GreenLeadersGold level
sacramento
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Secluded western ranch cabins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Refurbished log cabins are delightful. Great scenery and fly fishing. Friendly and professional staff. Very interesting family history to this special place. Enjoyed the horse ride and thought the food and wine were very good. Easy reach from Jackson and feels far removed from touristy Jackson.

Room Tip: All cabins appear excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
50
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Flat Creek Ranch was the last stop on what was already a great trip. I wish we had stayed here longer. In fact, we're already talking about coming back as soon as possible. The staff at Flat Creek really sets this place apart from the rest. Friendly and welcoming, they make you feel right at home. The views, activities, and utter serenity of the ranch are second to none. Eric was our chef, and his meals can only be described as amazing. My wife has never liked fish or red meat, but Eric had her actually asking for more! Joe and Marcia, Trey and Shelby, Todd, Randy, Brady, and Alex... you all helped make our stay the most memorable and enjoyable of any I can remember. Thanks!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

There are a few places in the world where you can stand in absolute silence and appreciate all that Mother Nature has to offer. FCR is one of those places. No city lights, no traffic noise (heck, the nearest traffic is 14 miles away!), and no light pollution. Noisy is when you walk along the stream and hear the water running!

I actually found the ranch on Trip Advisor and was so impressed with the reviews that I booked our vacation with no other reference.

The staff is EXCELLENT: friendly, attentive and professional. Whether it was morning coffee or tea delivered to your cabin with a smile, gourmet meals by Seth, fly fishing introduction by Trey, bear spray lessons from Shelby or hiking with any of several knowledgeable guides, every member of the staff was great. We found all the things you might expect after reading a few of these reviews and a dozen more little things that added up to a perfect trip: vases of wildflowers on the tables, trundle bed turndown for our daughter, using the long distance spotter to watch Papa Bald Eagle across the lake, and enjoying smores by the campfire.

We were picked up at the airport in an SUV with plenty of room. A quick trip to town to buy a fishing license and flies (buy some small ones folks!) and then off to the ranch. I admit, I started to wonder if I'd done something foolish on the drive in. The road is ... rustic ... yeah, that's a good word. But as you near the ranch, you see mountain streams where the fish are smiling and saying 'Come get me!' ... clouds of butterflies playing in the road (not kidding, it was a CLOUD of butterflies) ... mountains for hiking ... and you might even see a staff member or two going for a multi-mile run up the mountain.

Arrived at the ranch where the cabins are clustered along a stream. Cissy Cabin sits a little to one side and has it's own interesting history. The front porch was perfect for morning coffee and a book ... or evening wine and a book. Or just sitting and enjoying the view over the lake.

Do yourself a favor and wear a 'wash and go' hairstyle. The ranch is solar powered with a backup generator ... neither lend themselves to hair dryers. There is a low watt dryer in the cabin but not worth the wait - the humidity will style your hair before the dryer can.

There's a full bath in the cabin and a bathhouse a stone's throw away. Both are well equipped with hand made soaps as well as more commercial offerings. The towels are fluffy and there are robes available to wear during your visit (a good choice for sauna time).

Not being a fisherperson before this trip, I appreciated the opportunity to book an afternoon of Trey's time for our family. We spent several hours in the streams and enjoyed every minute .. and learned the good spots to fish by ourselves later in the week.

The horseback riding was the highlight of the trip for my daughter. Shelby went out on the first ride and was a wealth of information. Todd did an exceptional job leading the trail rides up the hills (and mountains) and his easy going manner was just as relaxing as the scenery.

And yes, I saved the meals for last. Very good ... a nice variety and Seth catered to a few dietary requests without a hitch. Appetizers on the lodge porch overlooking the lake (with water, soft drinks, great wines and some interesting local beers) were a great way for everyone to gather and compare fish stories. Family style meals at the two large tables in the lodge gave you a chance to get to know the other visitors and to plan the next day's events.

I would recommend this for anyone who can 'get away' and leave their technology at home. Cell phones don't have service, there is no internet access and TVs do not exist. It's a great place to get away from it all.

Many thanks to Joe and Marcia, Trey and Shelby and the entire staff for one of the most relaxing vacation I've ever enjoyed!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is the best vacation we've ever had! We have 3 teenagers, aged 13-19, and we needed to unplug. Well, unplug we did,-there is no cell service or internet - we road horses, hiked challenging trails and learned to flyfish. The staff is attentive, friendly, unobtrusive, and extremely helpful. The family style meals were beautifully prepared and bountiful. The location is stunning and the cabins simple, yet very clean and comfortable. I can't think of a single thing that this vacation lacked, and I plan on returning again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have travelled from Australia to what is a stunningly beautiful part of the world. Flat Creek Ranch has magnificent natural scenery, well set up cabins with everything that one could want.
Activities include fly fishing, hiking, horseback riding or just sitting by the lake or the running stream reading a book. Imaging having canape and drinks overlooking the lake with a small group of really lovely and interesting people. The owners, managers and staff went out of there way to make our stay really memorable. The chef is fabulous so all meals are really, really delicious. This was the best back to nature holiday I have ever had especially as it provided all the luxury one could want. This should be a must stay on your bucket list.

Room Tip: All great cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Ridge, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have done a lot of travelling over the years & this had to be the best vacations I’ve taken in a long time. My sister, 2 nieces and myself went up to Flat Creek Ranch for 4 days, and what a treat! We knew right away that this was going to be good when Randi picked us up in town & we were warmly welcomed - she had such a great energy! The hospitality continued with Shelby once we arrived at the ranch. Then, the food was absolutely delicious (oh my gosh, Seth - the best food ever!). The activities were great (from hiking with Brielle to horseback riding with Todd :) So much fun!!! Trey even taught 4 girls how to fly fish in 30 minutes & we caught one! The cabins were comfortable (exactly what we needed – no more, no less), the air was fresh, and Joe & Marcia were simply a delight. How kind of them to open their home to the world! And - we got to meet other guests from all across the country, which was actually much more fun than I expected :} It was truly a perfect vacation & I am still talking about it. Thanks everyone! I couldn’t have asked for anything more :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The ultimate vacation experience in the Gros Ventre wilderness. Excellent staff, food, accommodations. All top notch. Definitely not your "run of the mill" ranch. I like the intimate, low-key atmosphere. The scenery is stunning. A beautiful lake, the best horses ever, and the best riding trails ever. The staff are beyond accommodating as are the owners Joe and Marcia. Shelby and Trey are friendly, knowledgeable, and always available.
The food is the best ever. Flat Creek is not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flat Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flat Creek Ranch

Address: Upper Flat Creek Rd, Jackson, WY 83002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flat Creek Ranch - Your own private wilderness retreat ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flat Creek Ranch Hotel Jackson
Flat Creek Hotel
Flat Creek Ranch Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flat Creek Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.