We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one word needed - GREAT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spotted Horse Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spotted Horse Ranch
Save
You added Spotted Horse Ranch to your Saves list
12355 South Highway 191, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Katy, Texas
1 review
“Only one word needed - GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

I have had the pleasure of visiting the Spotted Horse Ranch with a corporate group for the last 4 years. While this is actually the 15th year the company has elected to take our best customers to, we hope to continue for many years to come. Kevin and staff went above and beyond to make our stay memorable and pleasant. Each and every one of our guests had an amazing time at the ranch and it was the great staff at the ranch along with wonderful Jackson Hole weather that made it possible. Food was fabulous. Rooms very cozy and very clean. Atmosphere was top notch. We have had some customers inquire on taking family trips there as well they were so impressed. Keep up the great work Kevin and Staff. We look forward to next year!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valley Center, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

This ranch has a fabulous location and some of the best trail horses I have ridden at a guest ranch but it really ends there. Having been to a guest ranch for the last 3 summers I though I knew what to expect but this was far, far below that.

The cabins are fine but lack any attention to detail. Missing screens on windows, which is huge with the mosquitoes, no drain plugs in the bathroom, making it a pain to shave, and stairs to the porches that are dangerous.

The food is mediocre at best and made worse by the fact that it is always served cold. We were all hoping for home-style food and ended up with grilled American cheese sandwiches, served more then once in a week, and spaghetti sauce thinned down and called tomato soup. Not good.

I really feel that this ranch could be so much better. Like I said the location and horses are great but the GM really needs to pay more attention to detail. Since this ranch is not owner operated it really feels like not much pride is taken in what they are doing, just doing the job.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

brilliant time had by all - nothing was too much trouble. The food was good, our cabin was lovely, the staff very friendly. An excellent holiday destination.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Brook, Alabama
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

This ranch is all inclusive. Sometimes that means that you compromise on accommodations, or food, or activities but not with this ranch. Everything is first class. The food was amazing! The beds and rooms were as nice as anything I have ever stayed at. The activities were well planned and just as described.
My sister and I stayed in cabin 5. 2 bedrooms and 1 bath.. The front bedroom had an amazing queen sized bed with great pillows. The 2 nd bedroom had 2 double beds.
The staff at the Spotted Horse was also great. My sister and I participated in the all day horseback ride on Tuesday. The staff chose horses based on our experience ( none) and took us on the best ride ever. When we reached the top of the ridge at lunch; we had a great lunch waiting for us. The ride down was relaxing and fun! The wranglers were always filling us in about the wild flowers and animals that we saw.
Wednesday we went on a morning horseback ride and spent the afternoon at Jenny Lake at Grand Teton Park.
Thursday we participated in the white water rafting trip the ranch does down the snake river. My sister and I had the best time. We ate breakfast burritoes at Jackson Hole whitewater and then headed on the trip down the Snake River.
We spent the rest of the afternoon at Jackson Square
Ok every review has to have one complaint and mine is...... No lighting in our bathroom shower..other than that! Everything was perfect!
We are already planning next years trip.

?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Set your expectations realistically, this is a ranch. The rooms vary greatly, the beds have seen better days & the decor is attractive. The setting on a river is ideal and beautiful. If you don't ride or fish don't go unless you like being bored. The main lodge has a satelitte TV and a pool table. Thats it! When we were there the toilets weren't all working, light bulbs needed to be replaced, dead flies were never swept or vaccumed, the food was mediocre and not well planned. Many activities change before and after the "season" so make sure before you go. The staff is teriffic and go out of their way to make you comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington,WI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

From riding horses, fly fishing, whitewater rafting, hot springs, relaxing, socializing, you name it, if don't have a positive experience with this vacation there is definatly something wrong. The staff was so welcoming I felt I knew them forever. The food was great and usually had a variety. If there wasn't something you liked they where accommodating to make sure you were satisfied. They have there own Saloon with entertainment on some evening. All you need to bring is your clothes, but don't over pack they also have a washer & dryer with soap that you are welcome to use at anytime. The cabins are so clean & nicely decorated. I can't wait to return. I am trying to get a business group together for a week next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Horeb, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

I cannot say enough about how great the Spotted Horse Ranch is. The wranglers and all of the staff are so friendly and willing to do anything to make your stay more comfortable and give you anything you need. The food is good and there is plenty of it. We have picky eaters, so even the pickiest are accomodated. The horses are sturdy, sane and the rides are as safe as horses can be. The wranglers always double check all of the tack and accomodate all levels of riders. I was a more experienced rider and was traveling with three other beginners. They were able to please all of us with faster rides for myself or slower, easier rides for the beginners. The smaller groups were wonderful and fun. They matched up the horses for your level of riding and you had the same horse all week, which was nice. The saloon and the main lodge are great, decorated wonderfully and very cozy. We were never bored. Whether it was rafting, fishing, riding or hiking, fun was had by all. You can really tell that everyone loves there job and the scenery is just breathtaking. The cabins are very nice and the beds were very comfortable. At the Spotted Horse, if you need anything... just ask, they will be MORE than happy to oblige! We were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spotted Horse Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spotted Horse Ranch

Address: 12355 South Highway 191, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Spotted Horse Ranch Hotel Jackson
Spotted Horse Ranch Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spotted Horse Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.