We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shades Cafe - CLOSED

Shades Cafe
82 S King St, Jackson, WY 83001
307-733-2015
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Erlangen, Germany
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Everything was perfect. We love this "cabin" athmosphere and the fresh and tasty breakfast. The portions could be a little bit bigger...this is the only thing...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I love local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I love this place. It is so local. In a big city, Starbucks is fine. In a small town???? NO! This place is locally own, and has local character! The breakfasts here are great! And your pup can sit on the deck with you while you eat. Nothing fancy here...just good breakfast. Eggs Benedict here is excellent. The quiche is full of "other than eggs." The muesli is delicious and a healthy option. And the breakfast bowl is fabulous!! It is black beans, rice, fresh spinach, guacamole, salsa and poached eggs. Fabulous. Our daughter always gets the breakfast burrito or the egg scramble. Don't know why the tourists don't find this place....it is reasonably priced and is good and so local.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect brunch stop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The storefront is on the small side but their outside siting is very nice with umbrellas and not on a nosy street. The menu included many choices for our party of 7. The quiche was tasty but the slice was on the small side and I don't understand why they served plain potato chips as a side. Try a smoothie, Yummy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REPUBLIC
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Promising menu, disappointing breakfast.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I came in search of a filling breakfast, but found an anemic piece of quiche, 4 orange wedges and a handful of commercial tortilla chips instead. Nice ladies working the counter, pleasant interior and great little outside patio, but for $10, I expected a more substantial, fresh slice of quiche. I think the microwave reheat zapped all the flavor from the sautéed eggplant, peppers, onion, mushroom and provolone cheese, leaving behind a rubbery, bland snack. Limited menu geared to adult palates. Recommend you take the kids somewhere else for breakfast, but this could be an okay destination for morning coffee.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Hearty Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

YUMMY spinach eggs benedict! Really tasty potatoes, too. Latte was not the strongest ever, but the regular coffee was good. This place has a nice feel to it. The atmosphere is welcoming and the staff are friendly. There is an outdoor area to sit in, but we stayed inside and it was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shades Cafe also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shades Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.