We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First place we visit in Jackson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merry Piglets Mexican Grill

Merry Piglets Mexican Grill
160 N Cache, Jackson, WY 83001
307 733 2966
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 126 Restaurants in Jackson
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
arkansastraveler74
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“First place we visit in Jackson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Such a great place! We always eat at Merry Piglets a few times while we are in Jackson. Very convienent location in downtown. Everything is great here!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    231
    86
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Low Quality Tourist Trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

First off, this is a tourist trap with bad atmosphere. The food is equally poor. Starting with the chips and salsa: the chips are not fresh and the salsa tastes like tomato ketchup. Overall, the ingredients are low quality. The cheese is that kind of plasticky stuff one finds already shredded in a bag and everything is covered in sour cream. Any resemblance to authentic Mexican food (or even good Tex Mex) is coincidental.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerryPiglets, Owner at Merry Piglets Mexican Grill, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
All our food is fresh that day, chips are cooked on site all day, cheese is cut fresh along with all our other ingredients. Every sauce is house made, including our queso which won a award in Texas cook-off, Avocados peeled and mashed everyday for our guacamole. All our beans our soaked overnight and made fresh everyday. Nothing is out of a can. We win best salsa every year. Our atmosphere wins awards on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere, Decent Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was a little disappointing, but we were glad to find a place for Tex-Mex. They don't take reservations, but we got in quickly on a weekend around 6pm. It's a little loud and crazy, but we enjoyed our meals.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Born, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Skeptical at first...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was a bit skeptical of Merry Piglets, as it looks way too touristy, and normally that means the food is bad and the service annoying.

Well the many positive reviews were right, this is actually an ejoyable place for some fine 'Mexican' food. The service was good and the food tasty.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Long wait, good food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were told we'd have a 20min wait. That turned into over an hour. Each time we checked we were assured we were only a few seatings away. I don't mind a wait as long as it doesn't increase. Didn't help that we have just finished hiking the Tetons. However, once seated the food was quick, abundant and delicious!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merry Piglets Mexican Grill also viewed

Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Merry Piglets Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merry Piglets Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.