We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hong Kong Phooey!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kong Restaurant & Buffet

Hong Kong Restaurant & Buffet
826 W Broadway, Jackson, WY 83001
(307) 734-8988
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 126 restaurants in Jackson
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Oak Ridge, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hong Kong Phooey!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Made a mistake in thinking this was the Chinatown Restaurant (got the address incorrect) which was actually in the adjacent plaza. Our family of five walked in to what appeared to be a typical strip-mall type Chinese buffet. We should have known something was not right as we were the only patrons in the place during what should have been the dinner rush.

The buffet itself had labels for most of the “regular” items you would expect at a Chinese buffet…. I say labels because several of the warming bins were in fact empty. The food that was there was simply awful. The consensus amongst the five of us was that this was far and away the worst Chinese buffet we have ever been to and perhaps the worst meal we have ever had out.

To add insult to injury, we were billed about $80 for this “meal.” Do not believe the advertisement in the Jackson Hole Daily-it is not the best of anything. Its prices are not reasonable; it does not have great variety nor does it have the highest quality food. STAY AWAY.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

19% Recommend
    3
    4
    4
    4
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Worsdt Chinese Buffet Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

To begin with we got there at 4:30, they were supposed to start dinner serving at 5. We ordered our drinks and the buffet and were told to go get our plates- got to the buffet and there was just a few items. The entrees they had were ALL hot and spicy, which I cannot eat. The egg drop soup had what looked like jello pieces floating in it. They put out a few more things- after we said something- again- almost nothing other than hot spicy items. I figured it out later- the hot stuff is easy to serve up over and over because you can't tell it's stale. Beef ribs were rubbery, so were the green beans. I left still hungry because everything, even the supposedly mild stuff, tasted like it had black pepper all over it. Check came to over $40 and I told the cashier I felt it was terrible. She seemed shocked but never offered to make anything right. This place needs to be reported to the local health department- I think they put out food that is days old. Utterly horrible- BTW we were the only people in there- don't know how they stay in business.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“terrrrrible!!!! do not eat here!.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

terrrrrible!!!! im not kidding. twice screwed never again. help is uncaring, food stale, and the price OUTRAGEOUS

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Chinese Buffet with Good Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have eaten there many times, always enjoyed the food, and the prices are reasonable. If you want Chinese buffet you can't go wrong.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“total rubbish”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

only 1 other person in, food cold and not a lot of dishes out would never go back in. the only thing to say is that is was cheep but not cheerfull

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong Restaurant & Buffet also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Hong Kong Restaurant & Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kong Restaurant & Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.