We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner at the Blue Lion!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lion

Blue Lion
160 N Millward, Jackson, WY 83001
307-733-3912
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 124 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 1.5 blocks from Broadway and Millward
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great dinner at the Blue Lion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I returned to Jackson Hole after a few years, and we remembered how good the
Blue Lion was the last time we were here. She started off with the cream of garlic soup and I had the Caprese Salad. Both were fantastic! The dressing on the Caprese Salad was so flavorful with the fresh basil, and her soup had just the right amount of garlic. She had the elk medallions, which were flavorful with a port wine and mushroom sauce. I had the chicken marsala which was very tender. The service was excellent and our waitress took care of our every need. The only unfortunate part was that we did not have room for dessert.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    111
    58
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“In my top 10 of best meals I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The Blue Lion has a great patio outside and understandably gets very busy so make sure you book ahead. I had the elk and my other half the lamb rack (their signature dish). Both were absolutely delicious and I savoured every mouthful! Quite pricey but don't miss it if you're anywhere near Jackson Hole.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If you dine once in Jackson Hole, eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I saw this place on tripadvisor and decided to try it for the reviews, and it went beyond expectations. We walked in to a relaxed, classy atmosphere of locals. Service was perfect. Hubby has the elk filet and I had the grilled halibut with mango salsa based on our server's rec. both were delicious, but the elk was to die for. We came here our first night, and it set the tone for an amazing vacation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved this Tucked Away Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

What a lovely restaurant with delicious food, unusual dishes and flavors and the greatest service I've had in a while. Often, with a group of women, service can be so-so (not sure why some staff still think women don't tip...we DO and Well!) -- but our waiter was wonderful! Can't remember his name, but he was fun, right on...and at one point we swore he had telepathy with the bartender as we ordered one special wine and it was there before he left our table! We had a fantastic time...would highly recommend this as a must stop in Jackson!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“As good as they say!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is the one restaurant that was recommended over and over again. We finally had a chance to go and it was wonderful. I had the Thai Shrimp and it was delicious!! I'm gluten free and they were very accommodating. Most things are gf or can be made gf. The waitress was well informed and knew what I could eat. The service was great to. Make a reservation because it is a busy place. We tried getting in a few days later without a reservation but couldn't get in. It wa our last night in town so we missed our chance to have dinner there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lion also viewed

Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Blue Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.