We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gun Barrel Steak & Game House

Gun Barrel Steak & Game House
862 W Broadway, Jackson, WY 83002
307-733-3287
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 124 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Gun Barrel Steak & Game House is a locally owned and operated restaurant which opened in 1993. Enjoy Jackson Hole's finest steaks & game dishes, all cooked over an open river-rock mesquite grill in a rustic hunting lodge atmosphere. The Gun Barrel is located just one mile from the world famous Jackson Town Square and a short drive from Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks. Come visit us today!
mississippi
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal at this restaurant. I ordered my first try at elk (the elk medallions). The sauce was outstanding. Husband had the bison. They were both excellent. Except he liked mine better and I liked his better. Even the kids, ate some of ours. Their favorite was the bison. The wait staff was wonderful. She helped us decided on an appetizer which was great, but I honestly don't remember what it was...seems like it might have been bison too.
Worth the price. Great ambience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    308
    126
    45
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bison Steak and Local Beers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The wild game here was the best we had anywhere in Jackson. I had the Bison steak rare (recommended by the waiter and a very good choice given how tender and lean the meat was) an my wife had the venison brat. Both were absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection. The game is a little pricey, but much less so than in most of the other restaurants we ate at in Jackson so get it here if you're going to. Rest of the food was much cheaper. Also had a nice selection of local beers from Jackson and the surrounding areas. The taxidermy ambiance was a bit heavy, but wasn't distracting and some of the "staged scenes" were pretty neat (they have a rattlesnake fighting a boar in the front window). All in all I definitely recommend the Gun Barrel!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Interesting place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I enjoyed eating elk at this interesting restaurant in Jackson, Wyoming. Just the name of the place as well as the many displays will make you want to walk in. The prices are high as most average restaurants in Jackson are. If you don't spending the money, then this place is worth trying.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENTUCKY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Steak & Game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The atmosphere is great and the food good. A Good family steak house. My daughter had the Buffalo ribs and loved them. The elk was ok and everyone else enjoyed their food. A bit pricey but not that bad. We would eat here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wasn't done correctly :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place , pricey for sure would expect your food to be done right the first time , sent back a steak wasn't done right came back the same way raw mooooing . Didn't eat it after that . Bison steak was great , wouldn't eat there again I'm sure there's better places for a steak or elk or bison .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gun Barrel Steak & Game House also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Gun Barrel Steak & Game House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gun Barrel Steak & Game House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.