We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gun Barrel Steak & Game House

Gun Barrel Steak & Game House
862 W Broadway, Jackson, WY 83002
307-733-3287
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 126 Restaurants in Jackson
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Gun Barrel Steak & Game House is a locally owned and operated restaurant which opened in 1993. Enjoy Jackson Hole's finest steaks & game dishes, all cooked over an open river-rock mesquite grill in a rustic hunting lodge atmosphere. The Gun Barrel is located just one mile from the world famous Jackson Town Square and a short drive from Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks. Come visit us today!
massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Definitely need a reservation here, but totally worth it!!! The food & service was excellent!!!!! Steaks cooked to perfection and the dessert was amazing!! Would definitely go back again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    289
    119
    43
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“dump it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

awful. a glorified sizzler. the apple pie was the worst i've ever had. the ambiance was rustic and i liked the taxidermied buffalo in the entrance but that's about it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The wild game was awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Rolled in there because the we wanted some Elk and Bison, and we weren't disappointed on that part. The Bison prime rib was absolutely awesome as was the Elk tenderloin and deer brats. ( My wife ordered all that on a platter). Just wish I'd have done the same. I ordered a beef steak and it was so dry and tough I wanted to run it over with a car to soften it up. Other than that the place was very amazing. Just expected a better steak for the price. But it was still worth the experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smackover, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“ONLY place we ate TWICE on our vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this place. Our waiter, Dan was phenomenal. The food - oh my!!! My husband and mother in law had the grilled chicken and loved it. The second time (our last night) we all had steak... so flavorful and cooked to perfection. The apple pie dessert was heavenly!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Benito
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Fish and crab.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Had stuffed trout with crab pan fried it was so good.For an appetizer I tried the bison carpaccio don't think I spelled it correctly don't think it was a good choice for the dinner

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gun Barrel Steak & Game House also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Gun Barrel Steak & Game House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gun Barrel Steak & Game House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.