We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Creek Riding Stables

Spring Creek Riding Stables
1800 N Spirit Dance Road, Jackson, WY 83001
307-733-9209
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 65 things to do in Jackson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled near the top of the East Gros Ventre Butte, only three miles away from downtown Jackson, WY, the Spring Creek Riding Stables offers a guided horseback trail ride with breathtaking, wide-open views of the Tetons, Gros Ventre Range, Wyoming Range, and the Snake River Mountain Range. There is simply no better way to experience the Tetons than on horseback!.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing views and excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We took our family of 5 on a one hour ride on July 9, 2013. Our party included parents in their early 40's with limited riding experience and three children who had never ridden - ages 5, 9, and 11. They put my 5 year old on a sweet old horse that just followed along behind the leader and did not require any effort. The other horses we had were very calm and gentle as well. The ride was a full hour or more, after we spent a good 40 minutes getting everyone in our large group loaded on their horses. They pick your horse specifically for you and your size and your riding experience so that took some time. The ride was a slow walk which is perfect for beginners. Plus the views were so incredibly amazing that it was nice to go at a slow pace and not have to worry about steering your horse. They have a professional photographer who will take group and individual pictures of you during the ride while you are on top of the mountain. They sell them for about $30 per pictures (digital on a flash drive that they provide) or $100 for all that they took which is 3 different individual poses for each person in your party and the group photos. We went ahead and paid for the all. The photos were just beautiful and it was worth the money to not have to worry about taking pictures ourselves while riding the horse. I feel like the ranch takes good care of their horses.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    10
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belle Mead, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful horses and people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We did the ride through Paddle and Saddle at JH Whitewater. Spring Creek is a 15 minute drive from the center of Jackson but you feel 100 miles away up in the hills. Very caring people who care deeply about their horses and take care to find out guests' riding experience and then match the horse to rider. Molly rode next to the group and took care of all problems like hats blowing off and answering questions, etc. Everyone in our group bonded with our horse. Expect to spend more than an hour by the time you check in, are assigned a horse and follow the trail.

Again as part of Paddle and Saddle, we had a lovely lunch at the Granary restaurant at Spring Creek with delicious food and attentive staff and gorgeous view.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect 1 hour ride for beginners, very scenic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Everything about the ride, horses, trip was great. The horses in particular were very calm and excellent. We had two families of 4, so 8 in total with one guide. None of us were experienced riders but it went well. The ride up the bluff allowed us to look WAY down onto the Elk Refuge and Jackson, WY. It was well worth the ride, our kids loved it. Maybe the most memorable part of our whole vacation. Again everything about the ride was 5 stars.
So why a 4 star rating? I really dislike having a stated fee for the ride and then a smaller print mandatory 15% gratuity (for the guide). If it's a mandatory gratuity, then make it part of the fee. Instead of $43 dollar ride with a "gratutity" of $6.45, just charge me $50 and be done with it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, US
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One of the best rides ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

So many breathtaking views. Lots of diversity on the trail. We did the 4 hour trip I was worried about length but was well rewarded.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Real Horseback Riding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We took the 4 hour trail ride. the 4 hour ride is pretty demanding because the rides are up and down very steep buttes. If you ride on a regular basis the 4 hour ride may suit you or there are shorter rides (2 hour) available. The horses were well groomed and maintained and two guides were with us at all times.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spring Creek Riding Stables also viewed

 

Been to Spring Creek Riding Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Creek Riding Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.