We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dog friendly stand alone cabin with NO pet fee!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Country Inn

Save Saved
You added Elk Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Elk Country Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 W Pearl, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 40 hotels in Jackson
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great dog friendly stand alone cabin with NO pet fee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Awesome location, great service, within walking distance to everything downtown. Did I mention no pet fee? My wife and I stayed in a king bed stand alone cabin with our two dogs. The bed was comfortable and all amenities inside were rustic and flowed well. Only bummer was the spa was down due to cleaning services.

Would recommend to a friend traveling to Jackson in summer or winter.

For you Thai food lovers be sure to walk to "Thai me up" and get their craft beer tasting flight, its awesome!

Room Tip: I would recommend spending the extra $25 for a stand alone cabin. The cabins are large and the priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Our staff want to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Elk Country Inn right downtown Jackson. All of us are happy to hear that the four of you had a comfortable stay in one of our cabins we offer at the property. I want to apologize for the inconvenience of the spa being down due to cleaning, it's back and up running stronger than ever! We are excited that your wife and you took the opportunity to check out a local favorite restaurant "Thai Me Up". We appreciate you taking the time to share your stay with us and other travelers. Please come back and see us again soon! Take care and travel safely back home.:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    151
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
142
121
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Excellent place, the service was great, and the location close to down town and the restaurants, you can use the pubic bus service to go everywhere, and the people on reception desk are great (don't loose the opportunity to try the cookies) one of my best winter vacations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We can not thank you enough for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us at the Elk Country Inn right downtown Jackson. Being in close proximity to all the town's restaurants, shopping, galleries, and nightlife is a huge perk when choosing a place to stay. We are happy you found our location to be the perfect fit for you. All of the staff are thrilled that this was "one of the best winter vacations" and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etowah, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spent four nights in one of Elk Country's cabins. Great place to stay with a pet and only four blocks from the Square. The cabins were clean and service good. Would recommend this to anyone, especially with pets. It's nice to be able to eat in if you wish.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are very happy to have accommodated you for four nights in one of our cabins we offer at the property. All of our staff are excited you and your pet enjoyed yourselves while visiting the Jackson Hole area! All of our cabins are well appointed and come with an kitchenette if you do wish to eat in and relax. Thank you for your compliments and come back to see us again. Travel safely back to beautiful North Carolina!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for over 3 weeks at the Elk Country Inn. The rooms were a good size, bathrooms well appointed and housekeeping efficient.
The bus to Jackson Hole stops right out the front of the hotel, it is the first pick up and the first drop off making it a super service. Fresh coffee and fruit in the hotel reception each morning while waiting for the bus was excellent too.
Although there is no breakfast provided, each room has a microwave and a fridge to store your goodies. There is a dollar shop across the way where you can buy plates and cutlery very cheaply.
The only down side was noise, the hotel is home to seasonal workers that work in Jackson. These people have no consideration that they are living in a hotel where people are on holidays. Thankfully the staff at Elk Country Inn tried hard to keep on top of noise control and were often seen in the hallways asking for music etc to be turned down.
The location to the old part of town is excellent and we were very happy with our choice and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms are well soundproofed between rooms, but noise does travel from the floor above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Howdy, and thank you for taking the time to review the Elk Country Inn right downtown Jackson. Everyone is thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us for over 3 weeks! We love to hear when our guest enjoy all of the amenities we offer at the property including the complimentary shuttle to and from Jackson Hole Mountain Resort. We appreciate you sharing your comments regarding the monthly rentals to seasonal workers in the area. We are making some changes as we speak for next year. We value each and every guest and want to ensure that every guest has a memorable stay with us at the property. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others and we hope to see you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Elk has motel rooms and individual log cabins. We stayed in the latter- real logs - no stuck on fakery! Large twin bedded bedrooms, separate bathroom and living room/kitchen. The pluses were: good value if you book carefully, comfortable, reasonably central location, free ski bus to the slopes (11 miles away) 8am + 9am and 3pm + 4.30pm. The minuses: mainly the kitchenette which is too small for any sensible cooking - one induction plate, no grill or oven, only 2 pans! The cabins also need a fair amount of heating and you might not be able to get 2 baths one after the other.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers. We all are thrilled that your friends and you enjoyed the well appointed cabins as well as Jackson Hole Mountain Resort, a great place to ski/ride! We want thank you for your kind words and your comments regarding your stay. We do provide grills on our grounds and we would have more than happy to supply them for the group if notified. We are thrilled that everyone enjoyed the complimentary shuttle we provide to and from Jackson Hole Mountain Resort. All of the staff are already looking forward to hopefully seeing you again next year! Please take care and travel safely.:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We checked into the individual cabins mid-september. They are very nice. Cute front porch with table and chairs. Inside, there is a little living area with kitchenette and sofa. Bathroom clean, remodeled. We had a bedroom with 2 doubles. Comfy, cozy. I would give these cabins 5 stars, except for the INTENSE fragrance plug-ins. I unplugged them because they were so strong, what are they covering up? Didn't notice any other odd smell after unplugging them though. We were able to park our small trailer behind our unit because there were no bus tours at this time. It is just a few blocks from the center of town, pretty easily walkable. Well-maintained. These cabin units all face a central grass area, only odd thing, you hear all the chit chat the housekeeping staff does while they are working. The housekeeping room is located in the middle of these cabins. It wasn't distracting, but a little odd when you are sitting on your porch. This was a good value for the money and I would return. I am a westin-lover and particulary picky with accommodations and I was happy with this choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Everyone here at the property loves to hear when families have such a great time at the Elk Country Inn. We are glad that our cozy cabins was the perfect fit for the family! I hope you had memorable stay in Jackson and we truly appreciate you taking your time to review our property! Thank you very much and we hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellisville, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Wow! What a great place,Close to everything.Had a great time snowmobeling, booked through hotel.Bus to teton Villiage stops right across the street.Staff at hotel were so helpful,wonderful infact,good people skills dealing with public.Cabin we had was just perfect.Can't hardly wait to get back late one summer.Every where we went in Jackson & Teton people were so polite & nice.Made us feel very special.Thanks again Jackson Hole,and Elks Country Inn.

Room Tip: We had a Cabin 4th from street,queen double,Kitchenett,Frig,Microwave,coffee pot,two tv's,all yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
First let me say how much we appreciate you staying in one of our cabins we offer at the Elk Country Inn. Our staff want to thank you for all you kind compliments! We strive to excel in customer service to ensure everyone is happy and had wonderful stay. Please come and see us again soon on down the road! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elk Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Country Inn

Also Known As:
Elk Country Hotel Jackson
Elk Country Hotel
Country Inn Jackson
Hotel Elk Country
Jackson Country Inn
Elk Country Inn Jackson Hole, WY
Address: 480 W Pearl, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Jackson
#11 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elk Country Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Elk Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.